Advisory Committee Members

Athletics

Basketball

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachJamie Parish, Sioux Falls Washingtonjamie.parish@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Class A CoachLarry Aaker, Winnerlarry.aaker@k12.sd.us2023 (2nd)
Class B CoachStewart Bohle, Ipswichstewart.bohle@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Athletic Director Steph Ornelas, Spearfishsornelas@spearfish.k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Superintendent/PrincipalDonavan DeBoer, Parkerdonavan.deboer@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Official Jeremy Mikkelsen, Pierre jj_mikkelsen@hotmail.com2023 (1st)
Native AmericanChristian McGhee, Red Cloudchristianmcghee@redcloudschool.org2024 (1st)

Competitive/Sideline Cheer

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachDiedra Nissen, Sioux Falls Jeffersondiedra.nissen@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class A CoachVal Ewing, Winnervalerie.ewing@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorJordan Bauer, Rapid City Centraljordan.bauer@k12.sd.us2023 (*)
Superintendent/PrincipalBelinda Miller, Beresfordbelinda.miller@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
OfficialKrista Inman, Rapid Citykrista.inman@icloud.com2025 (1st)
Native AmericanMisty Mousseaux, Lakota Techmisty.mousseaux@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)

Competitive Dance

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachAngela Nieman, Sioux Falls Washingtonangelasnieman@gmail.com2025 (2nd)
Class A CoachMarla Tegethoff, Platte-Geddes marla.tegethoff@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Athletic DirectorJim Altenburg, Harrisburgjim.altenburg@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Superintendent/PrincipalJason Uttermark, Aberdeen Centraljason.uttermark@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
OfficialChristina Bennett, Pierrechristina.bennett@state.sd.us2023 (1st)
Native AmericanMisty Mousseaux, Lakota Techmisty.mousseaux@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)

Cross Country/Track & Field

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachPaul Hendry, RC Stevenspaul.hendry@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Class A CoachJason Bohl, Garretsonjason.bohl@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Class B CoachTodd Thorson, Ipswichtodd.thorson@k12.sd.us2025 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorCasey Meile, Sioux Fallscasey.meile@k12.sd.us2023 (2nd)
Superintendent/PrincipalPaul Nepodal, Lead-Deadwoodpaul.nepodal@k12.sd.us2025 (2nd)
OfficialTim Casper, Lake Prestontim.casper19@gmail.com2024 (1st)
Native AmericanLema Leader Charge, Todd County2023 (1st)

Football

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
11AAA/11AA CoachKim Nelson, Sioux Falls Rooseveltkim.a.nelson@k12.sd.us2023 (2nd)
11A/11B CoachMatthew Luze, Lennoxmatthew.luze@k12.sd.us2025 (2nd)
9-Man CoachByron Pudwill, Bon Hommebyron.pudwill@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorAdam Nowowiejski, Belle Fourceadam.nowowiejski@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Superintendent/PrincipalDerek Barrios, Watertownderek.barrios@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
OfficialAndy Deinert, Mitchellandy.deinert@vantagepnt.com2023 (2nd)
Native AmericanLance Witte, Lower Brulelance.witte@k12.sd.us2024 (*)

Golf

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA Coach Scott Amundson, Sioux Falls Lincolnscott.amundson@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class A Coach Jacob Sittig, West Centraljacob.sittig@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Class B CoachKarren Rogers, Millerkarren.rogers@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Athletic DirectorJeff Heisinger, Montrosejeffrey.heisinger@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Superintendent/PrincipalTom Cameron, Lower Brulethomas.cameron@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Native AmericanRich Crow Eagle, St. Francis Indianrichce@sfisk12.org2025 (1st)

Gymnastics

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachVicky Fisher, Watertownvickster2004@gmail.com2023 (2nd)
Class A CoachAngela Grupe, Britton-Heclaangelagrupe@yahoo.com2024 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorBrian Moser, Pierre T.F. Riggsbrian.moser@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Superintendent/PrincipalMike Duffek, Wagnermike.duffek@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Official Kelli Hanson, Grotonkelli.hanson65@icloud.com2025 (2nd)

Soccer

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachRyan Beier, O’Gormanrbeier@ogknights.org2023 (1st)
Class A CoachKendal Velgersdyk, Sioux Falls Christiankndllvlg@yahoo.com2023 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorJoey Struwe, Sioux Falls Lincolnjoey.struwe@k12.sd.us2023 (2nd)
Superintendent/PrincipalSteve Willard, Belle Fourchesteve.willard@k12.sd.us2025 (2nd)
OfficialChad Landis, Rapid City rapidcitysoccerrefs@gmail.com2023 (2nd)

Softball

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachCassidy Schaar, Aberdeen Centralcassidy.schaar@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Class A CoachTC Weinandt, Dakota Valleytcw606@gmail.com2025 (1st)
Class B CoachTBDTBD
Athletic Director Bill Freking, Brandon Valleybill.freking@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Superintendent/PrincipalTBDTBD
Official TBDTBD
Native AmericanTBDTBD

Tennis

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA Boys CoachTrent Kurtz, Aberdeen Centraltrent.kurtz@k12.sd.us2025 (2nd)
Class AA Girls CoachMatt Termansen, Harrisburgmatthew.termansen@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Class A CoachKevin Plank, Lennoxkevin.plank@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Athletic DirectorCory Aadland, Mitchellcory.aadland@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Superintendent/PrincipalTBDTBD

Volleyball

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachKevin Vanderwal, SF Rooseveltkevin.vanderwal@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class A CoachDarcy Deinert, Mount Vernondarcy.deinert@k12.sd.us2025 (2nd)
Class B CoachJean O'Hara, Chester Areajean.benson@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Athletic Director Mandie Menzel, Phillipmandie.menzel@k12.sd.us2025 (2nd)
Superintendent/PrincipalChristena Schultz, Bridgewater-Emerychristena.schultz@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Official Kelley Ann Devine, Sioux Fallskelley@luxuryautomallofsiouxfalls.com2024 (2nd)
Native AmericanDale Pine, Jr., Pine Ridgedapine22@hotmail.com2024 (1st)

Wrestling

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class A CoachJohn Donovan, Chamberlainjohn.donovan@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class B CoachChris Sayler, Freemanchris.sayler@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorMichael Ricke, Madisonmichael.ricke@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Superintendent/PrincipalMike Radke, Huronmike.radke@k12.sd.us2025 (2nd)
OfficialBud Postma, Madisonbud.postma@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Native AmericanClay Leonard, Red Cloudcleonard@redcloudschool.org2025 (2nd)

In/Out-of-Season

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA Athletic DiretorCraig Boyens, Watertowncraig.boyens@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class AA Athletic DiretorTBDTBD
Class AA Athletic DiretorJared Vasquez, Rapid Cityjared.vasquez@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Class A Athletic DirectorBill Kurtz, Chamberlainbill.kurtz@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class A Athletic DirectorFrancis Big Crow, Lakota Techfrancis.bigcrow@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Class A Athletic DirectorMatt Dykstra, Kimball/White Lakematt.dykstra@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Class B Athletic DirectorJosh Anderson, Lemmonjosh.anderson@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class B Athletic DirectorDoug Edberg, Centervilledoug.edberg@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Class B Athletic DirectorTracy Collins, Bisontracy.collins@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)

Native American

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Administrator/Board of DirectorsBarry Mann, Wakpalabarry.mann@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
CoachTBDTBD
CoachTravis Albers, Takinitravis.albers@takiniskyhawks.com2024 (1st)
CoachSilas Blaine, Crazy Horsesilas.blaine@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Athletic DirectorYamni Jack, Lakota Techyamni.jack@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
OfficialTBDTBD
School LiaisonTBDTBD
Community LiaisonTBDTBD
Legislative LiaisonSen. Red Dawn Foster, Pine Ridge N/A
Ad-HocBrian Brewer, Pine RidgeN/A

Sports Medicine

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Health ProfessionalTryg Odney, Sanford Health/SDATAN/A
Health ProfessionalVerle Valentine, Sanford HealthN/A
Health ProfessionalPaul Richter, Black Hills Orthopedic & SpineN/A
Health ProfessionalAngela Brown, Avera Health/SDATAN/A
Health ProfessionalThayne Munce, Sanford Health Sports ResearchN/A
Coach/Athletic DirectorTBDTBD
Coach/Athletic DirectorPaul Nepodal, Lead-Deadwoodpaul.nepodal@k12.sd.us2025 (1st
AdministratorDerek Barrios, Elk Point-Jeffersonderek.barrios@k12.sd.us2023 (2nd)
AdministratorTBDTBD

Sports Officials

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
BasketballJeremy Mikkelsen, Pierrejj_mikkelsen@hotmail.com2023 (1st)
Cheer/DanceChristina Bennett, Pierrechristina.bennett@state.sd.us2023 (1st)
Cross Country/Track & FieldSteve Charron, Huronscharron123@hur.midco.net2023 (2nd)
FootballScott Jacobson, Rapid Citymrsmith36@pie.midco.net2025 (1st)
GymnasticsShavonne Mitchell, Pierreshavonnem@sdchamber.biz2023 (2nd)
SoccerGuy McNeely, Yankton guymcneely0336@gmail.com2025 (2nd)
SoftballTBDTBD
VolleyballKelley Ann Devine, Sioux Fallskelley@luxuryautomallofsiouxfalls.com2024 (2nd)
WrestlingBud Postma, Madisonbud.postma@k12.sd.us2023 (*)
Athletic DirectorMike King, Irene-Wakondamike.king@k12.sd.us2025 (1st)
Native AmericanJohn Long, Pine Ridgejohn.long@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Officials CoordinatorJustin Ingallscoordinator@sdhsaa.comN/A
SecretaryBo Beck, Eurekabo.beck@k12.sd.usN/A
TreasurerTerry Duffy, Brookingsterry.duffy@bankeasy.comN/A

Fine Arts

Debate & Individual Events

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires
Class AAKerry Konda, Aberdeen Centralkerry.konda@k12.sd.us2024
Class AATravis Dahle, Sioux Falls Jeffersontravis.dahle@k12.sd.us2025
Class ARobert Speirs, Spearfishrspeirs@spearfish.k12.sd.us2024
Class AMichael Larson, Lennoxmichael.larson@k12.sd.us2025
AdministratorLaura Raeder, Sioux Falls Lincolnlaura.raeder@k12.sd.us2025

Journalism

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires
Class AAJennifer Dame, RC Stevensjennifer.dame@k12.sd.us2024
Class ABrooke Palleschi, Tea Areabrooke.palleschi@k12.sd.us2024
Class BMegan Bickel, Timber Lakemegan.bickel@k12.sd.us2023
Native AmericanRochelle Schultz, Tiospa Zinarschultz@tzts.us2024
AdministratorKendra Becker, Redfieldkendra.becker@k12.sd.us2023

Music

PositionRepresentingNameEmailTerm Expires
OrchestraStatewideJessica Perkins, O'Gormanjperkins@ogknights.orgN/A
Class AA BandWestGeorge Dragoogeorge.dragoo@k12.sd.us2024
Class A/B BandWestTBD2027
Class AA VocalEastRodd Bauck, Pierre T.F. Riggsrodd.bauck@k12.sd.us2024
Class A/B VocalWestColby Shuck, Kadoka Areacolby.shuck@k12.sd.us2023
AdministratorWestTBD2027

Speech

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires
Class AA Oral InterpMichelle McIntyre, Sioux Falls Washingtonmichelle.mcintyre@k12.sd.us2024
Class A Oral InterpMolly English, Mobridge-Pollockmolly.english@k12.sd.us2025
Class B Oral InterpEric Martens, Great Plains Lutheranemartens@gplhs.org2023
Class AA One-Act PlayJoey Lore, Rapid City Centraljoey.lore@k12.sd.us2024
Class A One-Act PlayKristi Fischer, Flandreaukristi.fischer@k12.sd.us2026
Class B One-Act PlayAdam Rudebusch, Castlewoodadam.rudebusch@k12.sd.us2023

Student Council

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires
Big SiouxKelsey Lovseth, Brookingskelsey.lovseth@k12.sd.usN/A
CapitolShirley Swanson, Stanley Countyshirley.swanson@k12.sd.usN/A
James RiverTracy Chase, McCook Centraltracy.chase@k12.sd.usN/A
Northern LakesGarrett Priest, Watertowngarrett.priest@k12.sd.usN/A
RushmoreTBDN/A
Spirit PointPaige Chapman, Vermillionpaige.chapman@k12.sd.usN/A
Upper MissouriDeanna Fischbach, Faithdeanna.fischbach@k12.sd.us
N/A

Visual Arts

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires
Class AAChad Nelson, Brandon Valleychad.nelson@k12.sd.us2025
Class AMandy DeWitt, Tri-Valleymandy.dewitt@k12.sd.us2025
Class BDana Schuldt, Mount Vernondana.schuldt@k12.sd.us2025
Native AmericanTBDTBD
AdministratorJeremy VanNieuwenhuyzen, Sioux Falls Christianjvann@sfchristian.org2023

Media

PositionName
Daily NewspaperMarcus Traxler, Mitchell Daily Republic
Weekly NewspaperJeremy Waltner, Freeman Courier
TelevisionTBD
Large Market RadioJeff Duffy, KOKK Radio
Small Market RadioClint Greenway, KORN Radio
SDPB TelevisionLarry Rohrer, SDPB
SDPB WebBrad VanOsdel, SDPB
SDHSAA StaffBrooks Bowman, Pierre

The South Dakota High School Activities Association will serve member schools by providing leadership in the development, supervision, and conduct of interscholastic activities which enrich the educational experiences of high school students. The SDHSAA is committed to the ideals that will provide equitable participation opportunities and positive recognition to students, while working cooperatively with all schools to enhance the achievement of desired educational goals.

804 N Euclid Ave, Suite 102 · PO Box 1217 · Pierre, SD 57501

Phone: 605-224-9261 | Fax: 605-224-9262

X