Advisory Committee Members

Athletics

Basketball

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachJamie Parish, Sioux Falls Washingtonjamie.parish@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Class A CoachLarry Aaker, Winnerlarry.aaker@k12.sd.us2023 (2nd)
Class B CoachStewart Bohle, Warnerstewart.bohle@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Athletic Director Steph Ornelas, Spearfishsornelas@spearfish.k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
SuperintendentDonavan DeBoer, Parkerdonavan.deboer@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Official Jeremy Mikkelsen, Pierre jj_mikkelsen@hotmail.com2023 (1st)
Native AmericanTBD2024 (1st)

Competitive/Sideline Cheer

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachDiedra Nissen, Sioux Falls Jeffersondiedra.nissen@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class A CoachVal Ewing, Winnervalerie.ewing@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorJordan Bauer, Rapid City Centraljordan.bauer@k12.sd.us2023 (*)
AdministratorBelinda Miller, Sioux Valleybelinda.miller@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
OfficialCarrie Wieman, Madisoncarriefinley@yahoo.com2022 (2nd)
Native AmericanTricia Tyon-Brewer, Pine Ridgetrish.tyon@bie.edu2024 (2nd)

Competitive Dance

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachAngela Nieman, Sioux Falls Washingtonangelasnieman@gmail.com2022 (1st)
Class A CoachMarla Tegethoff, Platte-Geddes marla.tegethoff@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Athletic DirectorJim Altenburg, Harrisburgjim.altenburg@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
AdministratorJason Uttermark, Aberdeen Centraljason.uttermark@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
OfficialChristina Bennett, Pierrechristina.bennett@state.sd.us2023 (1st)
Native AmericanN/A

Cross Country/Track & Field

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachPaul Hendry, RC Stevenspaul.hendry@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Class A CoachMatt Coy, Beresfordmatthew.coy@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class B CoachTodd Thorson, Ipswichtodd.thorson@k12.sd.us2022 (1st)
Athletic DirectorCasey Meile, Sioux Fallscasey.meile@k12.sd.us2023 (2nd)
AdministratorPaul Nepodal, Lead-Deadwoodpaul.nepodal@k12.sd.us2022 (1st)
OfficialTim Casper, Lake Prestontim.casper19@gmail.com2024 (1st)
Native AmericanLema Leader Charge, Todd County2023 (1st)

Football

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
11AAA/11AA CoachKim Nelson, Sioux Falls Rooseveltkim.a.nelson@k12.sd.us2023 (2nd)
11A/11B CoachMatthew Luze, Lennoxmatthew.luze@k12.sd.us2022 (1st)
9-Man CoachByron Pudwill, Bon Hommebyron.pudwill@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorBrent DeBoer, Tea Areabrent.deboer@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
AdministratorDerek Barrios, Elk Point-Jeffersonderek.barrios@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
OfficialAndy Deinert, Mitchellandy.deinert@vantagepnt.com2023 (2nd)
Native AmericanLance Witte, Lower Brulelance.witte@k12.sd.us2024 (*)

Golf

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA Coach Scott Amundson, Sioux Falls Lincolnscott.amundson@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class A Coach Jacob Sittig, West Centraljacob.sittig@k12.sd.us2022 (*)
Class B CoachTBD2024 (1st)
Athletic DirectorTerry Rotert, Huronterry.rotert@k12.sd.us2022 (2nd)
AdministratorTom Cameron, White Riverthomas.cameron@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Native AmericanRob Mendoza, Little Woundrobmendoza@littlewound.us2022 (1st)

Gymnastics

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachVicky Fisher, Watertownvickster2004@gmail.com2023 (2nd)
Class A CoachAngela Grupe, Britton-Heclaangelagrupe@yahoo.com2024 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorBrian Moser, Pierre T.F. Riggsbrian.moser@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
AdministratorNeil Goter, Wagnerneil.goter@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Official Kelli Hanson, Grotonkelli.hanson65@icloud.com2022 (1st)

Soccer

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachRyan Beier, O’Gormanrbeier@ogknights.org2023 (1st)
Class A CoachKendal Velgersdyk, Sioux Falls Christiankndllvlg@yahoo.com2023 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorJoey Struwe, Sioux Falls Lincolnjoey.struwe@k12.sd.us2023 (2nd)
AdministratorSteve Willard, Belle Fourchesteve.willard@k12.sd.us2022 (1st)
OfficialChad Landis, Rapid City rapidcitysoccerrefs@gmail.com2023 (2nd)

Tennis

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA Boys CoachTrent Kurtz, Aberdeen Centraltrent.kurtz@k12.sd.us2022 (1st)
Class AA Girls CoachMatt Termansen, Harrisburgmatthew.termansen@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Class A CoachPat Moller, Mitchellpatrick.moller@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Athletic DirectorCory Aadland, Mitchellcory.aadland@k12.sd.us2022 (1st)
AdmnistratorTBD2024 (1st)

Volleyball

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA CoachKevin Vanderwal, SF Rooseveltkevin.vanderwal@k12.sd.us2021 (1st)
Class A CoachDarcy Deinert, Mount Vernondarcy.deinert@k12.sd.us2022 (1st)
Class B CoachJean Benson, Chester Areajean.benson@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Athletic Director Mandie Menzel, Phillipmandie.menzel@k12.sd.us2022 (1st)
AdministratorChristena Schultz, Bridgewater-Emerychristena.schultz@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Official Kelley Ann Devine, Sioux Fallskelley@luxuryautomallofsiouxfalls.com2024 (2nd)
Native AmericanTBD2024 (1st)

Wrestling

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class A CoachJohn Donovan, Chamberlainjohn.donovan@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class B CoachChris Sayler, Freemanchris.sayler@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorMichael Ricke, Madisonmichael.ricke@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
AdministratorMike Radke, Huronmike.radke@k12.sd.us2022 (1st)
OfficialBud Postma, Madisonbud.postma@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Native AmericanClay Leonard, Red Cloudcleonard@redcloudschool.org2022 (1st)

In/Out-of-Season

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Class AA Athletic DiretorCraig, Boyens, Watertowncraig.boyens@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class AA Athletic DiretorNaomi Hatfield, Douglasnaomi.hatfield@k12.sd.us2022 (*)
Class AA Athletic DiretorJared Vasquez, Rapid Cityjared.vasquez@k12.sd.us2024 (2nd)
Class A Athletic DirectorBill Kurtz, Chamberlainbill.kurtz@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class A Athletic DirectorJames Knutson, Lakota Techjames.knutson@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Class A Athletic DirectorBill Clements, Dakota Valleybill.clements@k12.sd.us2022 (2nd)
Class B Athletic DirectorJosh Anderson, Lemmonjosh.anderson@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Class B Athletic DirectorDoug Edberg, Centervilledoug.edberg@k12.sd.us2024 (1st)
Class B Athletic DirectorKelly Messmer, Harding Countykelly.messmer@k12.sd.us2022 (2nd)

Native American

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Administrator/Board of DirectorsBarry Mann, Wakpalabarry.mann@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
CoachMatt Rama, Red Cloudrama.matthew@gmail.com2022 (2nd)
CoachTravis Albers, Takinitravis.albers@takiniskyhawks.com2024 (1st)
CoachSilas Blaine, Crazy Horsesilas.blaine@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
Athletic DirectorYamni Jack, Lakota Techyamni.jack@k12.sd.us2023 (1st)
OfficialLouis Young, Fort Pierresweetlou67@hotmail.com2022 (2nd)
School LiaisonTotes Waln, St. Francis Indian2022 (2nd)
Legislative LiaisonSen. Red Dawn Foster, Pine Ridge N/A
Ad-HocBrian Brewer, Pine RidgeN/A
Community LiaisonPeri Strain, White Riverperi.strain@k12.sd.us2022 (2nd)

Sports Medicine

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
Health ProfessionalTryg Odney, Sanford Health/SDATAN/A
Health ProfessionalVerle Valentine, Sanford HealthN/A
Health ProfessionalPaul Richter, Black Hills Orthopedic & SpineN/A
Health ProfessionalAngela Brown, Avera Health/SDATAN/A
Health ProfessionalThayne Munce, Sanford Health Sports ResearchN/A
Coach/Athletic DirectorTBD2023 (*)
Coach/Athletic DirectorMerretta Anderson, Timber Lakemerretta.anderson@k12.sd.us2022 (2nd)
AdministratorDerek Barrios, Elk Point-Jeffersonderek.barrios@k12.sd.us2023 (2nd)
AdministratorEric Bass, Deueleric.bass@k12.sd.us2022 (2nd)

Sports Officials

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires (Term)
BasketballJeremy Mikkelsen, Pierrejj_mikkelsen@hotmail.com2023 (1st)
Cheer/DanceCarrie Wieman, Madisoncarriefinley@yahoo.com2023 (1st)
Cross Country/Track & FieldSteve Charron, Huronscharron123@hur.midco.net2023 (2nd)
FootballMark Smith, Pierremrsmith36@pie.midco.net2022 (2nd)
GymnasticsShavonne Mitchell, Pierreshavonnem@sdchamber.biz2023 (2nd)
SoccerTBD2022 (1st)
VolleyballKelley Ann Devine, Sioux Fallskelley@luxuryautomallofsiouxfalls.com2024 (2nd)
WrestlingEddie Heisinger, Rapid Cityeheising@amfam.com2023 (2nd)
Athletic DirectorPaul Nepodal, Lead-Deadwoodpaul.nepodal@k12.sd.us2022 (2nd)
Native AmericanTBD2024 (1st)
Officials CoordinatorJustin Ingallscoordinator@sdhsaa.comN/A
SecretaryBo Beck, Eurekabo.beck@k12.sd.usN/A
TreasurerTerry Duffy, Brookingsterry.duffy@bankeasy.comN/A

Fine Arts

Debate & Individual Events

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires
Class AAKerry Konda, Aberdeen Centralkerry.konda@k12.sd.us2024
Class AATravis Dahle, Sioux Falls Washingtontravis.dahle@k12.sd.us2025
Class ARobert Speirs, Spearfishrspeirs@spearfish.k12.sd.us2024
Class AMichael Larson, Lennoxmichael.larson@k12.sd.us2025
AdministratorLaura Raeder, Sioux Falls Lincolnlaura.raeder@k12.sd.us2025

Journalism

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires
Class AATBD2024
Class ATBD2024
Class BTBD2023
Native AmericanTBD2024
AdministratorKendra Becker, Redfieldkendra.becker@k12.sd.us2023

Music

PositionRepresentingNameEmailTerm Expires
OrchestraStatewideJessica Perkins, O'Gormanjperkins@ogknights.orgN/A
Class AA BandWestGeorge Dragoogeorge.dragoo@k12.sd.us2024
Class A/B BandEastPhil Carlson, Chamberlainphil.carlson@k12.sd.us2022
Class AA VocalEastRodd Bauck, Pierre T.F. Riggsrodd.bauck@k12.sd.us2024
Class A/B VocalWestColby Shuck, Kadoka Areacolby.shuck@k12.sd.us2023
AdministratorStatewideKent Knudson, Cantonkent.knudson@k12.sd.us2022

Speech

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires
Class AA Oral InterpMichelle McIntyre, Sioux Falls Washingtonmichelle.mcintyre@k12.sd.us2024
Class A Oral InterpMolly English, Mobridge-Pollockmolly.english@k12.sd.us2025
Class B Oral InterpEric Martens, Great Plains Lutheranemartens@gplhs.org2023
Class AA One-Act PlayJoey Lore, Rapid City Centraljoey.lore@k12.sd.us2024
Class A One-Act PlayKristi Fischer, Flandreaukristi.fischer@k12.sd.us2026
Class B One-Act PlayAdam Rudebusch, Castlewoodadam.rudebusch@k12.sd.us2023

Student Council

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires
Big SiouxKelsey Lovseth, Brookingskelsey.lovseth@k12.sd.usN/A
CapitolShirley Swanson, Stanley Countyshirley.swanson@k12.sd.usN/A
James RiverTracy Chase, McCook Centraltracy.chase@k12.sd.usN/A
Northern LakesGarrett Priest, Watertowngarrett.priest@k12.sd.usN/A
RushmorePam DeJongpamela.dejong@k12.sd.usN/A
Spirit PointPaige Chapman, Vermillionpaige.chapman@k12.sd.usN/A
Upper MissouriTami Kaaz, Bowdletami.kaaz@k12.sd.usN/A

Visual Arts

PositionNameEmailTerm Expires
Class AALynne Steinley, Rapid City Centrallynne.steinley@k12.sd.us2024
Class ATBD2023
Class BTBD2023
Native AmericanGwenith Hofeldt, Todd Countygwenith.hofeldt@k12.sd.us2024
AdministratorJeremy VanNieuwenhuyzen, Sioux Falls Christianjvann@sfchristian.org2023

The South Dakota High School Activities Association will serve member schools by providing leadership in the development, supervision, and conduct of interscholastic activities which enrich the educational experiences of high school students. The SDHSAA is committed to the ideals that will provide equitable participation opportunities and positive recognition to students, while working cooperatively with all schools to enhance the achievement of desired educational goals.

804 N Euclid Ave, Suite 102, PO Box 1217,  Pierre, SD 57501

Phone: 605-224-9261 | Fax: 605-224-9262

X