In-Season Video Clips
Coming soon…
- October 20
- October 13
- October 6
- September 29
- September 22
- September 15
- September 8
- September 1
- August 25
Preseason Videos & Plays
Mechanics Plays
Dead-Ball
0:29
0:33
0:38
0:27
0:22
Goal Line
0:33
0:36
0:23
0:31
0:40
0:28
0:38
0:40
0:33
Short Yardage
0:31
0:45
0:53
0:28
0:35
Positional
0:23
0:36
0:38
0:25
0:36
0:29
0:29
0:40
0:22
0:32
0:40
0:33
0:25
0:29
On a play that goes OOB on L’s sideline, L turns to watch the players OOB.
When a play goes out of bounds, the covering wing official must turn all the way around to face the out of bounds area to view player action. Do not have players out of bounds that are not being watched. The covering official’s primary responsibility is the safety of the players who have gone out of bounds, and then the out of bounds spot. Keep your head up, and keep your eyes on the players. The covering official does not need to look down to focus on the forward progress spot.
When players go into the bench area, the covering official’s responsibility is to go in after them, separate them, and walk them back on to the field, if necessary. Bring players out of their opponents’ team area (visually, if not physically). Continue to officiate until players separate, and the potential for problems no longer exists.
Don’t be in a hurry to get the ball. Chasing down the football detracts from dead-ball coverage and should only be done after the players separate and the potential for problems no longer exists. Ball mechanics are a secondary responsibility.
L needs to turn all the way around to watch the 5 players OOB. Good help by B & R. On plays that end five or more yards beyond the line of scrimmage, the back judge should always come in to help the covering wing official with players who end up out of bounds. At the end of the play out of bounds, the back judge should be moving up towards the end of the play. The back judge should be involved with helping with coverage of players out of bounds whenever possible.
On a long TD pass, B has already moved to GL when receiver crosses the GL. B turns and watches the runner in the EZ as he signals the score.
Dealing with players in the EZ after a score is just another form of dead-ball officiating. On a play where a player scores a touchdown, the covering official needs to turn to watch the action in the end zone by and against the ball carrier. Don’t get focused in on watching action along the goal line. Keep your eyes on the players and keep your head up to observe action around the ball carrier. Act like you are taking a video of the scoring player, and the camera is in your belt buckle. Continue to officiate until players separate and the potential for problems no longer exists. Do not tolerate taunting, baiting and other unsporting acts.
L moves in strong after calling FST. On pre-snap dead-ball fouls, such as FST, the calling official needs to throw the flag, blow his whistle, stop the clock, and move in strong. Everyone else needs to stop the clock and move in strong
Strong move by L signaling TO near the end of the play clock.
When the ball is snapped between the five-yard line and the goal line, the wing officials should move to the goal line immediately on the snap. If the play results in a touchdown, the wings will be stationary, and in a good position to make that call. If the play ends short of the goal line, the wings can move from the goal line, squaring off to mark the forward progress spot.
Here, good hustle by H. He moves to the GL and back from pylon at snap, then moves back to mark forward progress when the QB tackled for a loss.
On plays going away from the end zone, when the snap is at the 5-yard line and in, the wing officials need to move back to the goal line immediately after a snap at or inside the five-yard line. Once the ball has cleared the end zone, the wing officials can move up to the end of the play. The wing officials have the responsibility to determine whether the ball has come out of the end zone. This is often called reverse goal line mechanics.
Here, the snap is from the 3-yard line going out. H moves back to the GL and then to the end of the play.
If the wing officials are responsible for the goal line, they should never give up the goal line – hold your position. The wing officials may need to back off from the pylon for safety or perspective, but never give up the goal line if there is a possibility that it will come into play.
Here, in a video clip from the 2019 season, L moves to the GL at the snap at the 5-yard line, moves back from the pylon as the play moves towards him, and then turns toward the scorer as he signals the score.
As a play ends, the officials should be moving in on the play (“pinching in”), being mindful to not be officiating air. The wing officials need to be moving under control, while observing all action – at the point of attack or action behind the ball, depending on the play. On close goal line plays in the middle of the field, the wing officials need to move in under control towards the pile. If the play does not result in a touchdown, the wing officials, especially the covering official, need to move in a deliberate, but controlled manner, to the ball in order to not only get the spot, but also to “sell” the forward progress spot. Additionally, if the play does not result in a score, the movement should be in the field of play. If the wing officials come in on the goal line or in the end zone, everyone will think that the ball has crossed the goal line.
Here, L moves in strong on a play that ends just short of the GL.
When a close goal line play results in a touchdown, the wing officials still need to be moving in to players, and the covering official can signal the score. When a short run near the goal line clearly results in a touchdown, there is not as much need for the covering wing official to hustle in all the way to players, but the wing officials should still be pinching in following the end of the play. Normally, when a play ends between the hashmarks, the wing officials should be moving in to somewhere near the numbers to mark forward progress. This same movement to the numbers by the wing officials can be used when a short run near the goal line clearly results in a score.
Here, the snap is at the 2-yard line. H moves to the GL at the snap and back from the pylon, then hustles in strong after the score.
When the ball is snapped between Team B’s 10 and 5-yard lines, the wing officials should release slowly downfield at the snap, staying ahead of the runner all the way to the goal line, moving to the GL once the runner has reached the 5-yard line.
Here, on a play snapped at the 6-yard line, H moves toward the GL after reading pass, then moves to the GL after the passer moves inside the 5-yard line.
After reading pass, H moves towards the GL when the ball is snapped at the 9-yard line. He stops at the GL, watches the catch, and is patient in making TD call. He then turns towards the scoring player when signaling the TD.
On this play snapped from the 5-yard line, H moves to GL, stops and turns to watch the catch. He takes a quick glance to the B to confirm what he saw – a completed catch for a TD – and has good patience when signaling TD. Although the QB is not threatened or under duress, we can also see the R maintain his focus on the QB after the pass.
The snap is at the 16-yard line. B’s initial position is in the middle of the EZ. According to the 2024-2025 NFHS Football Game Officials Manual, at page 145, “[t]he back judge is responsible for Team B’s goal line until the ball is snapped at or inside Team B’s 10-yard line; in that case, the back judge’s starting position is on the end line.”
On 3rd down and less than 3 yards, or 4th down and less than 4 yards, at the snap, the wing officials need to release to the LTG. This is an important spot. By moving at the snap to this position, the wing official will not only be at the most important line, but will also be stationary if the play moves near that line.
Here, we see H moving to the LTG at the snap when it is 3rd & 3. When he sees that there is an apparent 1st down, he stops the clock.
On all plays, as a play ends, the officials should be moving in on the play (“pinching in”), being mindful to not be officiating air. On plays ending near the LTG, the wing officials need to move in under control towards the players and the ball. It is very important for the covering official to do a good job of squaring off at the forward progress spot on these plays – by squaring off and moving in to the ball in a deliberate but controlled manner, the covering official will not only get a good forward progress spot, but will also “sell” that forward progress spot.
On this 3rd & 2 play, L moves to the LTG at the snap, and then hustles in to the ball when the play ends close to the LTG.
There will be times when the ball is snapped at or inside the 5-yard line, AND there is a LTG before the goal line. Under normal circumstances, when the snap is at or inside the 5-yard line, the wing officials will release to the goal line at the snap. When there is LTG inside the 5-yard line, the wing officials should move to the LTG at the snap, hesitate, and stay at the LTG if it going to be threatened. Ultimately, the wing officials need to be at the goal line – the most important line – especially when the goal line is threatened.
On this play, it is 4th & 2 at the 4-yard line. H moves to the LTG at the snap and stops there because the LTG (and not the goal line) is threatened. H moves back to the end of the play, stops the clock (the clock always stops after a 4th down play), and moves in to the ball.
On 4th down short yardage plays, once the ball is dead, the covering official needs to stop the clock – the clock always stops after a 4th down play, regard less of the outcome. The covering official, in addition to stopping the clock needs to move in with a purpose to mark the forward progress spot.
On this 4th & 3 play, H moves to the LTG at the snap, moves back to the end of the play, moves in to the ball and stops the clock.
If the ball has become dead close to the line-to-gain, the covering official should stop the clock for an apparent 1st down, then pinch in all the way to the ball. The official who retrieved the ball will hand the ball to the covering official. The covering official will then place the ball at the dead-ball spot. The ball should never be thrown to the covering wing official. Directly handing the ball will ensure that the ball is not mishandled, which could cause uncertainty about the covering official’s forward progress spot.
This play is from the 2023 championships. It is a 3rd & 5 play that ends near the LTG. Notice that, because of the down and distance, L does not move to the LTG at the snap. However, at the end of the play, L moves to the forward progress spot, squares off, stops the clock for the apparent 1st down, moves in to the ball, which is handed to him by U, places the ball at the forward progress spot, and then signals 1st down to R.
B should move up (“pinch in” or accordion) at the end of the play, but should not get closer than 7-10 yards from where the play ended.
Here, B moves up at the end of the play to about 10 yards short of the LOS.
B keeps a good cushion, both vertically and laterally, from the play so he can see all the action on and around the receiver. He stays pretty much inside the hash marks, even though it would be easy because of the situation to close in on the receiver.
At the snap, B should retreat a step or two as he reads his key(s). Once B has made his read, he needs to react, especially if he determines that there is going to be a long pass. The retreat gets B going in the right direction if there is a deep route by an eligible receiver. B only wants one viewpoint – the play coming toward him. B needs to work to keep the play in front of him. The goal is for B to have a 10-15 yard buffer in front of the play.
On this long TD pass, B gets to the GL well ahead of the receiver. B turns and watches runner in the EZ as he signals TD.
According to the Game Officials Manual (at page 145), “[t]he back judge is responsible for Team B’s goal line until the ball is snapped at or inside the 10-yard line; in that case, the back judge’s starting position is on the end line.”
On this game clip from the 2024 season, the snap is at the 12-yard line. B’s initial position is on the end line, and he stays on EL throughout the entire play. H moves down and covers the GL as the runner scores.
On each play, the back judge and wing officials need to recognize the strength of the formation so that they can determine their receiver keys. Usually, the back judge is responsible for signaling the strength of the formation to the wing officials.
This game clip from the 2024 season shows how busy the B is between plays. B is at the bottom of the picture. He first gives the signal that Team B has 11 players (arm straight out in front of his body with a closed fist). He then signals the strength of the formation to H’s side of the field (there are two eligible Team A receivers outside the tackle on H’s side of the formation, and only one on L’s side of the formation). He then signals that 10 seconds remain on the play clock. Finally, he starts marking off the last 5 seconds before the end of the play clock.
On this play from the 2023 championships, L does a good job of dead-ball officiating by turning and watching the 4 players OOB in front of her. When a play results in at least a 5-yard gain, and the runner goes OOB, B should hustle to the OOB spot to help L in protecting the players OOB. B does a good job on this play moving up to the players OOB.
On this play DOG is called. When there is a visible play clock, B needs to remember the mechanics for this – after the play clock gets to “0,” look for the ball. If the ball has not been snapped, then throw the flag. In order to prevent unnecessary contact between opponents, make sure to throw the flag, blow your whistle and move up towards the LOS. In a situation like this, where the play is in the middle of the 2nd quarter, make sure the foul is obvious.
This looks like the pass may have been tipped by one of the defensive linemen. If that is the case, the official who sees that the ball is tipped, should give a tipped ball signal to let everyone else know. If the pass was touched by a Team B player, any Team A player is then eligible to catch or touch the pass. Theoretically, a Team A lineman who is an ineligible receiver at the snap, after the tip by Team B, could have ended up legally catching the pass. Additionally, with a pass being tipped by Team B, pass interference restrictions end for all players. However, contact could fall under the defensive holding rules.
On plays, after reading pass, U needs to move up towards the LOS to make sure the passer does not go over the line of scrimmage when passing. When U moves up to the LOS after reading pass, he is also in the great place to help determine whether any ineligible receivers are illegally downfield.
Umpires often have the best look on catches and traps, particularly those in the middle of the field. The umpire needs to pivot after the pass has been thrown to help rule on catch/no catch.
On this play clip from the 2024 season, good help by U on catch/no catch on this interception on a quick pass in the middle of the field.
After the snap, U will observe the blocks by the center and guards to determine whether the play is a pass or a run. When U reads run, he needs to determine the point-of-attack, and observe the blocking there on the action ahead of the runner. Once the runner has moved downfield, U needs to transition to watching action behind the play.
After this play moves downfield in the side zone, U does good job watching action behind the play.
R is responsible for noting and dealing with action on the quarterback. If the quarterback scrambles away from the referee, R needs to keep pace. When the quarterback scrambles towards R, he needs to open up and then follow the quarterback as he moves toward the sideline. R has the primary responsibility for the spot if the quarterback (as a runner) goes out of bounds behind the line of scrimmage on either side line.
R does good job following the QB as he runs toward sideline and is tackled for a loss.
On the typical running play, R needs to stay back from the line of scrimmage. The umpire and the wing officials can handle forward progress and getting the ball spotted for the next play. R’s between-play responsibilities can all be done from 7-10 yards behind the line of scrimmage. Additionally, from this position, R needs to only take a few steps back to be ready for the next play, without turning his back to the players while walking back to his pre-snap position.
If the head coach of the team that is ahead informs the officials that they are “going to take a knee,” as the opponent is unable to stop the clock, the officials need to pinch in, but not too close. R and U need to inform Team A and Team B that Team A will take a knee, so there should be no rough play. The quarterback has protection once his team indicates he will take a knee. The referee must also inform the quarterback that he MUST take a knee ASAP; NO fakes. A fake will
result in a UNS. Even so, the referee needs to tell both teams to “defend themselves and play football.”
These are not the best positions for R or U. If there is a bad or mishandled snap, all officials need to be ready for the unexpected.
Kicking Plays
Scrimmage Kicks
0:54
0:40
0:32
0:24
0:29
0:47
0:41
0:26
0:35
Free Kicks
0:27
1:19
0:38
0:30
0:26
0:52
0:31
0:31
Scoring Kicks
0:27
0:18
0:36
0:34
0:17
0:43
The kicker is only 8 yards behind LOS, so Team K is NOT in scrimmage kick formation. Because of that, there is no special protection for the snapper and the numbering exception does not apply.
Proper scrimmage kick mechanics has the covering official, usually the back judge, marking the PSK spot by dropping a beanbag. The beanbag should be dropped on the yard line where the kick ends. Make sure the kick has ended before marking a spot.
On this play, it looks like B drops bean bag before the kick is caught.
When the snap on a punt is on or inside Team R’s 40-yard line, B should start the play on the GL. B still does a good job of moving back to the GL, and makes the correct call, which is a touchback, as Team K does not gain possession in field of play.
The first touching of a scrimmage kick by Team K is in the field of play, but the kick goes into the EZ for a touchback. As B moves back to the GL, it would be better to stop at the GL.
A punt that is muffed and goes into the EZ is a touchback. Suggestion to B – do not mark Team K’s 1st touching with bean bag.
Suggested scrimmage kick mechanics by wing officials (2024 game clip): H observes the initial line charge and remains at the LOS until after the kick has crossed the neutral zone; L need to momentarily delay release at the LOS before moving downfield. By delaying release, L can watch for a clean snap and be alert for handoff, quick pitch, reverse, bad snap or blocked kick. Once it is clear the ball will be kicked, L should move downfield to assist the back judge.
R needs to be alert for punter’s knee possibly being on the ground when he recovers a low snap. Good bean bag by B at the end of the kick.
Running into the kicker is called. The only two enforcement options are for Team K to decline the penalty making it 1st & 10 for Team R at the end of the play, or enforce the 5-yard penalty from the previous spot and replay the down.
On this play from the 2023 championships, there is a foul on Team K during a scrimmage kick down (ILF called for 5 in the backfield during a punt). The enforcement options for Team R: (1) As a foul during a loose-ball play, the penalty could be enforced from the previous spot and replay the down (Rule 10-4-2b); or (2) As a foul by Team K during a scrimmage kick down prior to the end of the kick when Team K will not be next to put the ball in play, the penalty could be enforced from the succeeding spot (Rule 10-4-2 EXCEPTION).
On a free kick that is kicked downfield, it is common for officials to give Team K some leeway on crossing the free kick line before the ball is kicked. One of the tenants of officiating philosophy tells us that the covering official will allow the foot or leg of a Team K player to be in the air beyond Team K’s free kick line before the ball is kicked when the ball is being kicked downfield.
In this clip, a couple of the Team K players are breaking the plane of the free kick line when the ball is kicked downfield. This is consistent with philosophy.
On an onside kick, as with any “trick” play, the play must be done exactly by the rules. On an onside kick, if any body part of a Team K player breaks the plane of Team K’s free kick line before the ball is kicked, it is encroachment. On an onside kick, where the position of the Team K players is very important to the success of the play, the covering official or officials should give no leeway. Team K’s free kick line should be considered a pane of glass – if a Team K player breaks that pane of glass before the kick, the call needs to be made. Allowing Team K players to encroach under these circumstances gives them an unfair advantage.
On this clip from the 2023 championships, there is suspect encroachment by K on an onside kick recovered by Team K. There are 3 Team K players breaking the plane of the free kick line. There should be a flag for encroachment. Encroachment is a dead-ball foul, so the play should be blown dead.
|
When a free kick goes out of bounds untouched by Team R, it is a foul by Team K. Team R has four penalty enforcement options to choose from: accept a 5 yard penalty from the previous spot and have Team K re-kick the ball; accept a 5 yard penalty from the succeeding spot, which is where the ball went out of bounds; put the ball in play at the inbounds spot 25 yards beyond the previous spot; or decline the penalty and put the ball in play at the inbounds spot . Team R may choose only one of these penalty enforcement options.
Here, FK OOB at Team R’s 47-yard line is correctly enforced 5 yards from where ball went OOB. Remember that, after enforcement, the ball is to be spotted on the hash mark on the side of the field where the kick went OOB. There is also a good announcement by R.
This picture shows the initial pre-kick positions of the officials for onside kicks under the new free kick mechanics. The wing officials will move up to Team K’s free kick line. These officials need to be especially concerned about Team K encroaching – crossing the plane of the free kick line before the kick. These officials also need to watch for illegal kicks – particularly illegal pop-up kicks. B will move back to Team R’s free kick line, opposite the U. The U will not move from his regular free kick pre-kick positioning. B and U are watching for first touching by Team K, and illegal early blocks by Team K. Each of the officials on the free kick lines should start the play with a beanbag in hand to mark possible first touching situations.
A suggestion for dealing with the blocks and touches in the box between the free kick lines on an onside kick: if the ball is kicked towards you, you watch for touches; if the ball is kicked away from you, you watch the blocks.
Any Team K player may recover a free kick if it has touched the ground and has gone beyond the plane of Team R’s free kick line. These two requirements may occur in any order. Further, any Team K player may recover a free kick before or after it goes beyond Team R’s free kick line, if it is first touched by a Team R player. Team K may not advance a recovered free kick.
If Team K first touches the ball under circumstances not allowed by the rules, it is first touching. First touching is not a foul, so do not throw a flag or blow the play dead. When there is a first touching, mark the spot with a beanbag. In most cases, Team R will be awarded the ball at the spot of first touching.
This onside kick is legally touched and recovered by Team K after the kick was first touched by Team R.
No Team K player can legally initiate a block on an opponent during the free kick until: (1) the legal kick has traveled 10 yards; or (2) the kicking team is eligible to recover the free kick (for example, if a player on team R has touched the ball); or (3) a team R player initiates a block in the neutral zone. (Rule 9-3-7)
On this game clip from a 2018 game, the Team K players on each side of the kicker block front-line Team R players when the kick has traveled only about 8 yards. The kicker recovers the kick just after it has crossed Team R’s free kick line. None of the requirements from the rule of been met – the kick has not traveled 10 yards; Team K is not eligible by rule to recover the free kick; and no Team R player had initiated blocks in the neutral zone. This is a foul for an illegal block by Team K, which is a live-ball foul. The penalty is 10 yards.
If Team K commits a live ball fall during a free kick, such as an illegal block, and Team K will not be next to snap the ball, Team R may choose to have the penalty enforced from the end of the down. In other words, Team R has the option to have the penalty enforced from the previous spot, as a foul during a loose-ball play, or as a tack-on enforcement from the succeeding spot. If Team R does not have possession of the ball at the end of the play, as is the case on this play, the only penalty option available to Team R is enforcement from the previous spot and re-kick the ball. (Rule 10-4-2 EXCEPTION)
On every free kick, once the kick is touched by Team R, wind the clock, even if the Team R player is just falling on the kick, and then stop the clock at the end of the play.
L starts and stops the clock on this short kick (onside kick).
When a free kick goes out of bounds between the goal lines after Team R touches it, it is next put in play at the inbounds spot by Team R (Rule 6-1-10). When an inbounds player for Team R touches a kick that then goes out of bounds untouched by another player, Team R has caused the kick to go out of bounds, so there is no foul for FK OOB.
Here, the KO is touched by Team R before going OOB, so there is no foul for FK OOB. Perhaps the covering official could give the tipped ball signal to cue everyone that ball was touched by Team R before it went OOB. R gives good explanation.
According to the Football Game Officials Manual, at page 141, proper pre-kick positioning by R is 2-3 yards to the rear and 3-5 yards to the side. There is more positioning information at pages 147-148 and 179-180. R will be facing the holder. R observes the actions of the kicker and holder. He is also responsible for ruling on contact on the kicker or holder.
U remains in his normal pre-snap position behind the defensive line. After the ball is spotted, he should be 5-10 yards deep, keeping the snap in view, counting Team K players and confirming that count with the referee, and checking for use of the numbering exception. After the snap, the umpire needs to check action on the snapper. He should be ready to assist the referee in covering short or blocked kicks, and assist in goal line coverage if a play develops to the referee’s side of the field.
Before the snap, the wing official looking at the front of the holder moves beyond the end zone and behind the upright on his side of the field to assist the back judge in determining whether or not the kick goes over the crossbar and inside the upright. The back judge will be behind the other upright. The wing official behind the upright will rule on his upright; the back judge will rule on the crossbar and his upright.
The wing official who is looking at the back of the holder will stay on the LOS. After the snap, if there is a run or pass instead of a kick, he needs to move with the play as on any other goal line play.
There is good crew positioning on FG attempt, except that R should probably be closer to the holder and kicker.
Roughing the kicker includes contact on a kicker on a scoring kick. On this play, the placekicker is contacted by one of the defenders after kicking the ball for a PAT kick. There is no flag thrown for a foul. The PAT was successful. Anytime there is contact the kicker, there are three possible options: a foul for roughing the kicker; a foul for running into the kicker; or no foul because the contact was incidental or excusable. On this play, the contact could not be excused – it was reasonably certain ball would be kicked, the kicked ball was not touched by a Team R player, the defender was not blocked into the kicker by a member of Team K, and the contact could have been avoided. The contact was not incidental – the kicker was knocked to the ground. A roughing the kicker foul is justified when the contact is significant and could have been avoided.
If a foul had been called, because the PAT kick was successful, when a foul by Team R occurs, Team K is given the choice of either accepting the penalty and replaying the down following enforcement, or accepting the result of the play and enforcing the penalty from the succeeding spot. If the foul had been called here, the scoring team could choose to keep the score and have the 15-yard penalty enforced on the succeeding spot (the ensuing kickoff).
Unlike other levels of football, under high school rules, a defensive player may line up over the snapper. That defensive player may not make direct contact with the snapper until the snapper is able to protect himself. The defensive player may jump through the gap, but cannot charge directly into the snapper. The NFHS Case Book makes it clear that the snapper’s protection does not prohibit a defender from having simultaneous contact with the snapper and an adjacent Team K player. Nor does it take away moving through the “snapper-guard gap” by Team R. The roughing prohibition is only for a direct charge into the snapper. (Case Play 9.4.6 SITUATION A)
In this clip, a PAT kick is blocked by defender moving through the guard-snapper gap.
Check out the defender jumping to block a scoring kick and the block that flips him over. The jumping is legal, as long as the jumper does not use another player, either a teammate or an opponent, as an aid. The low block by the snapper is legal – BBW applies only when the opponent has one or both feet on the ground. NFHS Case Book, Case Play 9.3.2 SITUATION I
If a scoring kick is blocked, if there is a fake, or if there is a bad snap, and a run or pass develops and is moving towards the position vacated by the wing official, that official should move from his position behind the upright, along the end line, towards the back pylon to rule on the sideline. That official’s next move is towards the goal line to assist.
When one of the wing officials moves from the LOS to under the goal post, it leaves a big gap when a fake goes to the empty side of the field. Because of the nature of the play in this clip, that was not a big problem on this play.
This clip is another example of what happens when one of the wing officials is moved to under the goal post on scoring kicks. There will always be a big gap if the fake goes to the empty side of the field. Who sees and rules on contact on receiver to H’s side of the field? H does a good job when he moves along the end line and towards the sideline when he recognizes that the pass on a fake PAT kick is going towards vacated pylon. He is in a good position to rule on whether there is a catch and on any contact by or on the receiver, but he is in a tough spot to rule on the initial contact on the receiver.
Various Other Plays
Forward Progress
0:44
0:43
0:36
0:23
0:25
0:28
0:31
Clock Management
0:29
0:35
0:29
0:21
0:29
0:29
0:18
0:33
0:52
0:48
Ineligible Receiver Downfield
0:35
0:35
0:42
0:45
Formations
0:30
0:40
0:38
0:28
1:03
0:32
Blocks - Legal, Illegal & Suspect
0:26
0:33
1:03
0:45
0:45
0:50
0:35
0:34
0:39
0:34
0:52
0:42
0:38
0:40
Offensive Holding
0:39
0:46
0:35
0:41
0:37
1:00
0:26
0:36
0:29
0:28
Passing Plays
0:33
0:22
0:30
0:39
0:45
0:32
0:57
0:24
0:30
0:31
0:31
0:21
0:23
1:04
0:51
0:17
UNR, DBPF & TGT
0:29
0:42
0:55
0:29
0:26
0:41
0:55
Penalty Enforcement
0:24
0:30
0:33
0:36
0:29
0:31
0:27
0:26
0:29
0:29
0:37
0:18
0:45
0:31
0:32
0:38
0:43
0:35
0:47
Consistent with the 2023 POE regarding helping the runner, on this play, once the pile starts to be pushed at 1 yard line, the play is blown dead.
The runner’s forward progress gets stopped at about the time he starts being pushed by his teammates, which is when the play is stopped.
Suspect helping the runner. The runner is pushed several yards forward by his teammates, but there is no flag and the play was not stopped.
Forward progress is defined in Rule 2-15-1 as “the end of advancement of the ball, toward the opponent’s goal, in a runner’s possession.” On this play the ruling on the field was that the ball came out after forward progress was stopped. Therefore, no fumble. It is a close call. After review, the call stands.
Good recognition of double action by wing officials marking forward progress. Forward progress is to be marked where the ball was when the runner’s knee hit the ground, not where he landed.
This would be a good place to use cross-field mechanics. By using cross-field mechanics, H could stay back from the action and, with help from his partner across the field (L), he could stay behind the play, and still get a good forward progress spot.
Wing officials can help mark forward progress on plays ending behind the LOS, such as runs for loss and sacks.
H rules that forward progress is stopped inbounds, keeping the clock running by giving the “clock wind” signal.
In this clip from a 2023 championship game, H signals “clock stop” on a pass play ending inbounds near the sideline beyond the LTG. H then signals to R that the clock will start on the RFP (silent wind). H uses one of the signals from the Crew and Supplementary Signal Chart found in the 2024/2025 NFHS Football Game Officials Manual (page 47).
A play towards L’s sideline ends in bounds, beyond of the LTG. L gives the “clock wind” signal, then the “clock stop” signal. This is very old school – this mechanic changed at least 10 years ago – only a “clock stop” signal should be given.
On this play where the runner is moving towards the sideline, when contact is at the sideline and the tackle pushes the runner forward and OOB, H stops the clock.
On this play where the runner is moving towards the sideline, when contact is at the sideline and the tackle pushes the runner forward and OOB, L keeps the clock running.
On this play where the runner is moving towards the sideline, when contact is at the sideline and the tackle pushes the runner forward and OOB, L keeps the clock running.
On a play where the receiver is ruled down in bounds, near the sideline, short of the LTG, L should be giving the “clock wind “signal. Giving signals at the sideline helps inform the others in the crew, the coaches and the clock operator as to what is happening.
On a free kick, the game clock starts when the kick is touched, other than first touching by Team K. The clock stops when it becomes dead by rule. The covering official is responsible for starting the clock. The covering official is also responsible for stopping the clock. On this short free kick, as the covering official, H does a good job of starting and immediately stopping the clock when a Team R player legally touches and then falls on the kick.
Under Rule 3-3-3, a period shall be extended by an untimed down if there is a foul by either team during the during in which time expires, and the foul is accepted. This does not apply if the accepted foul is for UNS, a nonplayer foul, fouls that specify loss of down or fouls that are enforced on the subsequent kickoff. This FMM foul on Team B was accepted, and the time in the 3rd quarter ran out during the play, so there will be an untimed down. If there is foul during an untimed down, for which the penalty is accepted, the procedure is repeated. If there is a dead-ball foul after a play during which time in a period expires, there is no untimed down, and the penalty will be enforced to start the next period.
Under Rule 3-4-7, any foul committed within the last two minutes of either half will result in the offended team having the option, if the game clock is by rule to start on the RFP, to start the game clock on the snap, whether the penalty is accepted or declined. Note that the converse is not true – a team never has the option to start the clock on the RFP if it is to start on the snap by rule. As you can hear from the good announcement by R, the penalty was declined, but the offended team elected to have the game clock start on the snap.
Rule 7-5-12 provides that ineligible Team A players may not advance beyond the expanded neutral zone on a legal forward pass play before a legal forward pass that crosses the neutral zone is in flight. Rule 2-28-2 provides that the neutral zone expands 2 yards behind the defensive line of scrimmage following the snap during any scrimmage down. Thus, the position of the ineligible Team A player at the moment of the legal pass is thrown is the primary factor in determining whether the player is illegally downfield.
On a botched inside screen pass, IDP called on #54 in white, who has one foot in the ENZ when the pass is thrown.
On a botched PAT-run attempt that ended up as a pass, IDP called on #71 in white, who is 1 yard beyond ENZ when the pass is thrown.
On a botched punt that ended up as a pass, IDP called on #57 in white, whose toes are on the far edge of the ENZ when the pass is thrown.
Suspect IDP. On a straight fake punt pass, the snapper (#27 in white) is 1-2 yards beyond the ENZ when the pass is thrown. The play results in a 30+ yard gain, which leads to a TD a few plays later at the very beginning of the game. The Team K coach was trying to get a TO called before the play was run, but H did not see or hear him.
A back must not have any part of his body breaking the plane through the waist of his nearest teammate who is on the line of scrimmage (Rule 2-32-3). A lineman must have his head or feet break the plane of a line through the waist of the snapper (Rule 2-32-9). The challenge for officials is what to do about minor formation issues, and to distinguish between a minor violation and an egregious one.
Here, because the left side of the line has v’d back, the TE (#19 in white) does not fall under the definition of a lineman. Technically, this puts 5 players in the backfield. This is probably the easiest positioning error to ignore. There was no foul called.
In all cases involving questionable positioning, the coach of the “offending” team should be advised of the discrepancies, so that he has an opportunity to make corrections.
On this play, the LT (#75 in white) looks like he is not positioned as a lineman. With his number, he won’t be mistakenly covered as a possible back. His positioning can cause a problem on this play because, by being a step back at the snap, he has an advantage on pass blocking, or, like here, he gets an advantage with a clear path as he pulls out to help block downfield on a screen pass.
The first time this happens, make sure you let the player and his coach know that he needs to be on the line at the snap, and that future problems will lead to a foul.
In this clip from a 9-man game, ILF is called for 5 players in the backfield. As you can see, the wide receiver to the right signals the H that he wants to be on the line. He does not look back to see that H is signaling that he is off the line. Should the player be reminded that he needs to look at the official to make sure the official has him positioned where wants to be? Absolutely. But this is the easiest situation to pass on a foul – the receiver gains no advantage even if he is pressed and has a step added to his route.
In this clip from the 2023 championships, the wingback on the left side of the formation is in a no-man’s land – he is not a back because his helmet is penetrating the vertical plane through the waistline of the nearest teammate who is on the line of scrimmage (Rule 2-32-3); he is also not a lineman because neither his head nor his feet break the imaginary plane drawn through the waist of the snapper (Rule 2-32-9). Except for the player legally in no-man’s land, all Team A players must be either a lineman or a back (Rule 7-2-3). Formations become illegal when backs are not clearly in the backfield. A receiver who wishes to line up as a back should have “daylight” between the rear end of the nearest lineman and his nearest body part.
This potential illegal formation foul does not really have an effect on a running play such as this one, but it could cause a big mess on a pass play, so don’t let it continue. The first time this happens, the officials need to tell the coach to get this formation issue cleaned up.
In another clip from the 2023 championships, on this play from a 9-man game, all of the receivers appear to be where they want to be – the split ends and slot back to the right all signaled their position to the wing officials. The problem is the tight end to the right, who is on the line and is covered by the split end to the right, which makes him an ineligible receiver by position. The tight end then goes out for a pass; he ends up touching the pass in an attempt to catch the ball. Because of that, there is suspect ineligible receiver downfield and suspect illegal touching.
The fact that there were nine Team A players on the field and there were only 3 players in the backfield should have raised the alarm of a possible formation issue with the wing officials.
In this play from the 2023 championships, ILF is called for 5 players in the backfield. In order for there to be 5 players in the backfield, the split end to the right (#14 in grey) needs to be considered as a back. Although that receiver might be slightly behind the line through the waist of the snapper, he is still in a position where he can be considered on the line. He is not trying to fool anyone. Further, because there is separation between the next-in receiver (#42 in grey) and the receiver on the line, he would be considered a back.
This is not a trick play. The first time this happens, make sure you let the involved players and their coach know about the issue, and that future problems will lead to a foul.
Rule 2-5-2 defines blocking in the back as a block against an opponent, who is not the runner or pretending to be a runner, when the initial contact is in the opponent’s back, inside the shoulders, below the helmet and above the waist.
Although not applicable to this play, remember that under Rule 2-17-3, offensive linemen may legally block defensive players in the back in the free blocking zone under the following conditions: (1) the offensive lineman is on the line of scrimmage and in the FBZ at the snap; (2) the opponent being blocked is in the FBZ at the snap; and (3) the contact is in the FBZ. The FBZ disintegrates, and the exception that allows offensive linemen to legally block in the back does not continue, after the ball has left the FBZ. Defensive players may not legally block an opponent in the back. Offensive players in the backfield can never legally block an opponent in the back.
Plays where you are more likely to see an IBB include: (1) situations where the blocker has been beaten and is chasing the defender from behind and makes contact with the defender in the back, which is often called being in “chase mode;” (2) formations where there are multiple receivers to one side of the formation and there are receivers blocking in the backfield for the receiver who caught a screen or bubble pass; (3) crack-back blocks by backs in motion (or backs moving in after the snap) who are blocking back towards the spot of the snap; (4) broken plays, which should put the covering officials on high alert for illegal blocks, such as illegal blocks in the back, blind-side blocks or illegal blocks below the waist; and (5) plays involving a change of possession, such as interception or a kick return, where the players may be spread out across the field, and are coming at each other with some speed from a distance.
Here, IBB is called on #41 in white as he blocks a defender from behind on a sweep towards L’s side of the field.
It is important to distinguish between contact from the side, which is legal, and contact in the back, which is a foul. A block from the side, even though it results in a player being put on the ground, is not a foul unless for some other reason there is also a personal foul. Blocks that start on the side and subsequently end up in the back are not fouls, as long as the initial legal contact is maintained throughout the block.
When a blocker is in chase mode when he makes contact with the defender, any contact in the back is a foul.
Blocks that start legally in the front or the side and then end up in the back are not fouls as long as contact is maintained throughout the block. It is imperative that the covering official observe these blocks in their entirety – from initial contact to development to the finish. Continuous contact by the blocker moving from the front or side of the defender to the defender’s back is legal.
On this play from the 2021 championships, IBB is called. It’s hard to tell from these camera angles whether the contact started legally on the side.
Rule 2-17-2 provides that blocking below the waist is permitted in the free blocking zone when certain conditions are met. Blocking below the waist is not allowed under any other circumstances. Conditions that must be met in order for a block below the waist to be legal are: (1) that all players involved in the block are on the line of scrimmage and in the free-blocking zone at the snap; (2) that the block occurred in the free-blocking zone; and (3) that the block must be immediate and the initial action following the snap. BBW can be called against either the offense or the defense.
During an interception return, BBW is called on #2 in white for his low block on a blocker. This contact does not meet any of the conditions that must be met for a block below the waist to be legal.
Look at the block by the defensive end on the pulling guard. There was no flag. Should it have been a BBW by the defender? The contact by the defender took out the blocker who was leading the play.
Rule 2-3-8 defines a chop block as a combination block by two or more teammates against an opponent other than the runner, with or without delay, where one of the blocks is low, below the waist, and one block is high, above the waist.
On this play, there is no flag. The snapper (#58 in white) has a low block the defensive tackle adjacent to his position, and the tight end (#33 in white) comes in and blocks high on the same defender.
On this play, there is no flag. The left tackle (#75 in white) has a low block the defensive tackle across from him, and the tight end (#86 in white) comes in and blocks high on the same defender.
There is no formal definition in the rulebook for a crack-back block. This term is used to describe a block by a wide receiver who blocks back toward the spot of the snap. A crack-back block can be either a legal or an illegal block.
If the crack-back block is to the front or the side, and above the waist, it is a legal block, unless it is a blind-side block. Crack-back blocks are usually initiated by players who start the play outside the free blocking zone, meaning the blocker can neither legally block below the waist nor legally block in the back. A crack-back block below the waist by a receiver who starts a play in the backfield and outside the free blocking zone is an illegal block below the waist. A crack-back block from behind by a receiver who starts the play in the backfield and outside the free blocking zone is either an illegal block in the back or a blind-side block. A crack-back block by a receiver who starts a play in the backfield and blocks above the waist from the front or side is generally always legal.
On running plays, wing officials and the back judge must pay close attention to wide receivers who are either in motion towards the original position of the snap, or who, following the snap, block towards the ball. This movement by the blocker back towards the original position of the snap should put the covering official on high alert for a possible illegal block. The back judge and the wing officials must stay with their initial keys until the threat of an illegal block – a block below the waist, illegal block in the back or a blind-side block – is over.
Here, #5 in white is in motion towards the ball. His block is in the front and above the waist. He is H’s key, so H needs to stay with the player until he knows contact is legal.
Left wing (#27 in white) goes in motion, blocks into middle of the line, and blocks the nose tackle in the back. Is this block legal? There is no flag. This blocker is B’s key, so B needs to stay with the player until he knows the contact is legal.
Rule 2-3-10 defines a blindside block as a block against an opponent other than the runner, who does not see the blocker approaching.
On this play, there is a suspect illegal crack-back block, in the form of a blindside block (BSB), by the man in motion (#20 in white). This blocker is B’s key, so B needs to stay with the player until he knows the contact is legal.
Rule 9-4-3h makes it an illegal personal contact foul for any player to execute a blindside block outside the free blocking zone with forceful contact, unless initiated with open hands.
Rule 2-32-16i specifically includes a player who receives a blindside block with forceful contact not initiated with open hands as an example of a defenseless player. A defenseless player is a player who, because of his physical position and focus of concentration, is especially vulnerable to injury. Remember that a player who initiates contact against a defenseless player is responsible for making legal contact.
There is a suspect BSB (no flag), during the runback on a partially blocked punt. The block is by #9 in purple at K’s 42-yard line. Who should see this?
Check out the block by #4 in white at 38-yard line. Does it meet the definition of BSB? Was the contact forcible? Was contact initiated with open hands?
There will be times when the blocker simply overpowers the defender, driving the defender to the ground. The blocker will engage the defender, have his hands inside, and then just drive until he puts the defender to the ground. Overpowering a defender is not holding. These plays look ugly – players going to the ground, falling on top of each other, etc. In many situations, if you didn’t see the whole play, you might be tempted to call a foul for OH. When the blocker simply overpowers the defender, if you call OH, you would be depriving the offense of the advantage they legally gained through tough, hard-nosed football.
On this play, the blocker (#9 in white) on the edge overpowers the defender.
On this play from the 2023 championships, the pulling guard (#57 in white) overpowers the defender downfield.
By philosophy, before an offensive holding foul is called, the calling official needs to determine: (1) that the hold materially restricts the defender’s ability to participate in the play — turning the defender, taking his feet out, or changing the direction of the defender’s path; (2) that the hold is at the point of attack; and (3) that the blocker’s action fits under one of the recognized categories of offensive holding.
Under the hook & restrict category of holding, in order to hook a defensive player, a blocker must allow his hands to get outside the frame of his body. For a foul to occur, that act must result in a restriction that affects the play. If the defender immediately blows through the blocker’s extended arm, no holding has occurred.
On this play, an interception return, holding (hook & restrict) is called on #5 in white at 41-yard line. The contact is clearly a material restriction at the point of attack. The penalty is enforced 10 yards from the spot of the foul.
In order decide that a contact results in a foul for offensive holding, the official or officials who observe the contact need to consider several things: (1) there must be a violation of the rules; (2) the official must see the entire contact – from engagement to disengagement; (3) if the blocker is simply overpowering the defender, it is not offensive holding; (4) the violation must be at the point of attack; (5) the violation must result in a material restriction; (6) the defender must make an attempt to get off the block; and (7)the calling official needs to fit the contact under one of the recognized categories of offensive holding: hook & restrict, grab & restrict, jerk & restrict, takedown, tackle, and reverse pull-over.
Under the grab & restrict category of offensive holding, if the blocker is clearly beat, he may grab whatever part of the defender he can get his hands on. If he grabs the defender as he is moving away, but that grabbing does not result in the defender being turned or spun, or the defender’s path to the ball carrier has not changed, then an offensive holding call should not be made. A grab & restrict might not be as obvious to a wing official because of the position of the blocker’s hands. Likewise, for an umpire, the grab & restrict might be difficult to see because it appears to be a normal engagement.
On this play, OH (grab & restrict) is called on #62 in purple at Team A’s 18-yard line. Because the foul by Team A is behind the LOS on loose ball play, the penalty would be enforced from previous spot. Because the result of the play is 4th down, the penalty was declined.
On this play, OH (hook & restrict) is called on #62 in white (LT) at Team B’s 40-yard line. The blocker’s actions took away the defender’s legs. Because the foul by Team A is behind the LOS, the penalty is enforced from the previous spot.
On this play, OH (grab & restrict/shirt stretch) is called on #62 in white at Team A’s 45-yard line. The blocker is beat, so he grabs the defender’s shirt, which creates a material restriction. Also, there is a good “no call” downfield for a potential DPI. The penalty is declined as the result of the play was 4th down.
On this play, OH is called on the LG (#54 in orange) for a grab & restrict at Team A’s 29-yard line. The hold creates a material restriction at the point of attack. The foul by Team A is behind the LOS, so the penalty is enforced from the previous spot.
Under the takedown category of holding, the blocker’s feet get beat. The defensive player gets around the blocker, so the blocker grabs the defender and takes him to the ground. Many times, the takedown occurs in the direction the defensive player already wanted to go. At first glance, it may even appear to be legitimate block.
During this KO return there is a suspect hold (takedown) by #14 in white at 20-yard line. This play is right at the point of attack, and is clearly a material restriction. There is no flag. Who should have seen this?
On this play, OH is called on #6 in white at Team A’s 44-yard line, for a grab & restrict/shirt stretch. In this case, the defender breaks through the hold and makes the tackle behind the LOS. There is little or no restriction. By philosophy, there should not have been a OH called. Be patient on these plays. Make sure you see the whole play – from beginning to end – before making the call.
On this play, OH is called at the 14-yard line against #6 in blue on sweep. It looks like the blocker was pushing the defender the direction he was already going. Is there enough of a restriction to warrant a flag for OH?
On this play, OH for a takedown was called on #58 in white (snapper) @ B’s 47-yard line. This was a broken play, with an unexpected snap. The block was 10 yards ahead of where the runner was tackled. There were 4 other defenders in on the tackle. The penalty is declined – Team A lost 15 yards on 3rd and 17 play.
This was clearly a takedown hold. Does this hold involve a material restriction at the point of attack? Considering OH philosophy, should this foul be called? I’ve heard that there is a corollary to the OH philosophy that suggests that any take down needs to be called, even if the hold is not a material restriction at the point of attack.
On this play, OH (hook & restrict) is called on #58 in white at the 37-yard line. The blocker’s hands were outside the frame, but that did not look like it caused a restriction that affected the play. Again, it just looks like the defender was pushed the way he was already going. Was there enough restriction to support a flag for OH?
Defensive pass interference is a live-ball foul. The penalty for defensive pass interference is 15 yards, and replay the down. Because the foul occurs during a pass play, which is a loose-ball play for penalty enforcement purposes, the basic spot is the previous spot, whether or not the pass is caught (Rule 7-5-10 PENALTY and Rule 10-4-2b).
As an aid to help officials discern what acts constitute defensive pass interference, several recognized categories of defensive pass interference have been developed. When watching action on a play, if you can fit the action within one of these categories, your odds of making a correct call are greatly increased. Funky is not a foul; make sure you can categorize the action you see into one of the recognized categories before making the call.
The six categories of defensive pass interference are: not playing the ball with contact; playing through the back; hook & twist; grab & restrict; cut off; and arm bar.
This clip deals specifically with the “not playing the ball with contact” category. Under this category, the defender is not making an effort to reach the pass. The defender is not looking back at the ball and makes contact with the receiver. The contact restricts the receiver so that he cannot go where he wants to go, and knocks the receiver off of his path to the ball. If the defender makes contact with the receiver before the ball arrives, and that contact restricts the receiver, it is a foul.
Once the ball is thrown, all eligible players on both teams have equal territorial rights to move toward, catch or deflect the pass. It is not interference if unavoidable contact occurs when two or more eligible players are making a simultaneous bona fide attempt to move toward, catch or bat the pass. One example of incidental contact that does not rise to the level of DPI is when two opponents are running side-by-side before and/or after the pass is released. There is no foul if the receiver and defender get tangled feet and both hit the ground, as long as both of them are looking for the ball. If one is playing the opponent and not the ball, there is interference.
Pass interference restrictions on a legal forward pass begin for Team A with the snap, and are in effect until the ball is touched, or the pass is incomplete (Rule 7-5-7 & Rule 7-5-8).
Offensive pass interference is a live ball foul. The penalty for offensive pass interference is 15 yards, and replay the down. Because offensive pass interference occurs during a pass, which is a loose-ball play for penalty enforcement purposes, the basic spot is the previous spot (Rule 10-4-2b).
As an aid to help officials discern what acts constitute offensive pass interference, several specific acts have been identified as offensive pass interference. The four categories of offensive pass interference are: downfield blocking; playing through the back; creating separation; and the pick play, which is a specialized version of downfield blocking.
This clip involves an OPI call under the playing through the back category. When a receiver contacts a defender through the back, restricting his ability to make a play on the pass, even if both the receiver and the defender are playing the ball, if the contact is early, it is a foul for offensive pass interference. Defensive players are entitled to their territorial position on the field – the offensive player has the obligation to avoid contact.
Also, B should signal the result of the play (incomplete pass) as part of his post-play mechanics.
One of the DH categories is holding an eligible receiver. If a defender holds a receiver by grabbing onto the receiver’s arms or body, and restrains him to the point where the receiver is unable to make a catch, and that holding is before the ball is thrown, instead of defensive pass interference, you would have a foul for defensive holding.
If the restriction by the defender starts before the pass is thrown and continues after the ball is thrown, by philosophy, defensive pass interference should be called, rather than defensive holding.
It is illegal use of hands for a defensive player to contact an eligible receiver who is no longer a potential blocker. This rule is sometimes called the potential blocker rule. The 10-yard penalty is enforced from the previous spot if there is a pass or if the quarterback is tackled behind the line of scrimmage. Otherwise, enforcement is from the end of the run, and the down is replayed (Rule 9-2-3d; Rule 9-2-3d PENALTY; Rule 10-4-2b; Rule 10-4-6).
The ‘potential blocker’ rule allows the defender to treat the receiver as a potential blocker and use unlocked arms to ward him off before a pass is thrown. If the receiver is not attempting to block, by going past or moving away from the defender, the defender may not make contact with the receiver.
On this play from the 2023 championships, the receiver is contacted as he is running his route by 3 different defenders, eventually being knocked to the ground. You can see that the QB is looking right at this receiver as a target on this play, and ends up scrambling as the receiver is being contacted. No foul is called. Who should see this contact? Is it a foul?
Rule 7-5-2d Exception 2 provides that if a player wants to avoid a loss of yardage he can intentionally throw an incomplete pass, if certain criteria are met: (a) the passer has possessed the ball beyond the lateral boundary of the free blocking zone as established at the snap; (b) the pass must reach the neutral zone, including the extension beyond the sideline; and (c) the passer is the only player to possess the ball after the snap ends. This exception does not require an eligible receiver to be in the area of the incomplete pass.
On this play, the pass was legally thrown intentionally incomplete – there was an eligible Team A receiver in the area – #9 in white. Even if that eligible Team A receiver had not been in the area, this pass would have still been legally thrown intentionally incomplete because the quarterback had possessed the ball beyond the lateral boundary of the free blocking zone, the pass went beyond line of scrimmage, and the passer was the only player to possess the ball after the snap.
This is ruled an incomplete pass – no ING. On this broken play, the pass does not reach LOS. There is, however, an eligible Team A receiver (#13 in white) in the area. It is important for wing officials to help on whether there is an eligible receiver in the area.
Rule 7-5-2d EXCEPTION 1 makes it legal for the passer to spike the ball under certain circumstances. A player positioned directly behind the snapper may throw the ball forward and directly into the ground after receiving a snap that has been neither muffed nor touched the ground. The passer may spike the ball after receiving either a direct hand-to-hand snap or a snap in shotgun formation.
A receiver attempting to catch a pass (Rule 2-32-16c), or one who has completed the catch and has not had time to protect himself, will remain defenseless until he becomes a runner (Rule 2-32-16).
On this play, the receiver is still defenseless when he is contacted by the defender. Does this contact fall under the allowable contact set out in Rule 9-4-3p? Here, the forceful contact was an attempt by the defender to make a tackle by wrapping his arms around the receiver. Thus, the forceful contact on this defenseless receiver is legal.
On this play, the receiver catches the ball, turns, and takes a step before he is contacted by the defender. He has completed the catch, and has had time to protect himself. Thus, he is not a defenseless receiver, and the contact is legal.
Has there been a catch? If the receiver establishes control of the ball, and has a body part down inbounds, usually a foot, the receiver needs to finish the process in order to complete the catch. To finish the process to complete the catch, a receiver needs to “demonstrate complete control of the ball,” which is sometimes referred to as “completing an act common to the game.” Complete control is indicated by taking a step, tucking the ball away, reaching or lunging for a 1st down or to gain more yardage, or some other act ordinarily associated with running with the ball. By doing that, the receiver shows that he has controlled the ball long enough to demonstrate that a catch has been made. The fact that the receiver may have a firm grasp of the ball while airborne is not a factor in determining whether the pass is complete. Here, it does not appear that the receiver demonstrates complete control of the ball before the ball comes out after contact. This play was ruled a completed pass for a score.
If a receiver is not able to demonstrate complete control of the ball, and is going to the ground, with or without contact by a defender, the receiver must maintain control of the ball throughout that part of the process. The process is completed once the player has made it to the ground, and has maintained control of the ball. If the receiver loses control of the ball when he hits the ground, through being tackled, being knocked down, or falling on his own, there is no catch. The ground can cause an incompletion.
Here, the defender who is attempting to intercept a pass is not able to demonstrate complete control of the ball by finishing the process of a catch before he hits the ground. When he hits the ground, he did not maintain control of the ball throughout the process of the catch. Therefore, this is an incomplete pass – no interception.
The referee is the sole guardian and protector of the passer. He cannot watch the ball after it is released by the passer, but must continue to focus on the passer until he is no longer threatened. This clip from the 2020 championships is a great example of the referee focusing on the passer until the end of the threat.
After the snap, the referee is keying on action in front of the quarterback, scanning for possible illegal blocks and threats to the passer. Once the defender has broken free, the referee needs to transition his focus to that player – he is the most likely to foul or to be fouled. It is better to miss a possible hold by a beaten offensive lineman than to miss a possible illegal hit on a defenseless quarterback.
The referee maintains his focus on the threatened quarterback after the pass. Had the referee been ball-watching, after the end of the play, when he turned back to look at the quarterback, he would have had no idea how the quarterback and the linebacker got to the ground.
When a quarterback is under pressure, and the ball pops out, it should be ruled a fumble when it is obvious the quarterback’s arm is moving backward, or is cocked but not yet moving forward. If the ball leaves the passer’s hand while the arm is moving backward during the “wind-up” motion, it is a fumble. If a passer’s arm starts forward without the ball, with an empty hand, and the ball comes out either backward or sideways, it is a fumble. If the passer’s arm moves forward voluntarily, but the ball is released on a faulty trajectory because of contact by the defense, it is an incomplete forward pass.
On this play, the ball is still under control by the quarterback, and his arm is starting to move forward to pass the ball as he is being tackled from behind. The referee is in a good position to see all the action on the quarterback, and rules incomplete pass. Also note that L waits to signal until he sees R signal that the pass is incomplete.
After an interception, the movements by all members of the crew need to be reversed. There are no specific reverse mechanics procedures regarding coverage of an interception set out in the Official’s Manual. There are, however, a few actions that the crew must take under these circumstances: (1) make sure someone (usually R) is keeping an eye on any action against the QB after he throws the ball; (2) R needs to react to the play so that he can be at the goal line, ready to rule if there is a score; and (3) ensure that the play is boxed in – good officiating starts with being in the right place with all crew members taking care to keep proper angles and distances.
On this play, although the QB is not really threatened after the pass, R stays with him until any threat is gone. R then starts moving downfield is order the be ready to rule on any potential score. L lets the play move by him, and then follows the returner down field. On this play, H, U and B would be following the play, watching action behind the runner.
In order to avoid potential problems, it is suggested that L keep his whistle out of his mouth as he is moving downfield behind the returner, only putting his whistle in his mouth when he needs to use it at the end of the play. He should also try to stay in the white as he moves downfield after the interception.
When wing officials read pass, do not be too quick to release downfield – be patient. Read your keys. The covering wing official should be prepared to determine whether a quick pass thrown TOWARD him is forward or backward. Remember that when in question, it is a forward pass. If the quick pass is a backward pass, the covering wing official should punch his arm toward the offensive backfield to alert the other officials that the pass is backward. If the backward pass goes out of bounds, stop the clock and move to the spot where the pass crossed the sideline.
On this play, the pass is clearly backward. H recognizes the backward pass that goes OOB, and lets the play continue. H should have punched his arm back to indicate that it was a backward pass, and then he should have stopped the clock when the pass went OOB.
LBPF called on #5 in white that was announced as helmet-to-helmet contact. There is no high school foul called “helmet-to-helmet contact.” There are three kinds of illegal helmet contact that do not involve contact to the head of the opponent (Rule 2-20-1). There is also targeting, which “is an act by any player who initiates contact against an opponent above the shoulders with the helmet, forearm, hand, fist, elbow or shoulders.” (Rule 2-20-2). This contact falls under the definition of targeting.
The calling official needs to make sure that R and H are made aware that there is a foul as soon as possible after the play ends – R so he can prepare to deal with the foul, and H so that he can make sure that the chains and down marker are not moved. After the end of this play, U, as the calling official, should use his whistle to alert the rest of the crew that there is a foul, and also stop the clock.
In high school, a player may be disqualified/ejected for any personal foul or unsportsmanlike conduct foul that is deemed to be flagrant. A flagrant foul is a foul so severe or extreme that it places an opponent in danger of serious injury. (Rule 2-16-2).
Officials have broad discretion in determining what constitutes a flagrant foul. To elevate a personal foul to a flagrant foul, there should be at least one aggravating circumstance. Some aggravating circumstances are: extensive time and yardage covered before the contact; intentionally accelerating during the approach to contact; launching into the opponent; and leading with the helmet.
Targeting was called on this play from the 2024 season. Should there be a disqualification for a flagrant foul?
The decision on whether any type of illegal personal contact foul is a flagrant foul is a decision that should be discussed by all of the officials who had a view of the illegal contact. Make sure that any official who has something to add to the discussion gets a chance to be heard. Don’t be in a position where the first time an issue is raised is in the locker room at half time or after the game.
In this play from the 2023 season, TGT is called and the player is disqualified.
There are several indicators an official can use to help recognize a targeting foul situation: (1) is there a launch, that is, attacking an opponent with an upward and forward thrust of the body with the defender leaving his feet in order to make contact with an opponent in the head or neck area; (2) a type of launch that involves a crouch followed by an upward and forward thrust to make forcible contact at the head or neck area of the opponent, even though one or both feet are still on the ground; (3) a player lowering his head before initiating contact to the head or neck area of an opponent; or (4) whether the player being contacted is a defenseless player.
No part of the high school targeting rule requires there to be a launch. It is not required that the player being contacted is defenseless in order for there to be a targeting foul. A targeting foul does not result in an automatic disqualification.
On this play, the receiver catches the ball, and is being held up by a defender when #5 in white comes in and uses his helmet to hit the receiver in his helmet. Does this contact fall under the targeting rule? If not targeting, might the contact be illegal helmet contact under Rule 2-20-1c, or UNR for illegal contact on a defenseless runner under Rule 2-32-16d?
The runner is being tackled by 3 defenders when another defender, #20 in white, hits the runner in the head with his helmet or shoulder. Is the runner defenseless under Rule 2-32-16d? Does this contact fall under the targeting rule?
Circumstances to consider in determining whether contact OOB merits a flag for a DBPF: (1) the initial contact by the defender inbounds is legal, but a renewed effort (second act) by the defender once the runner is OOB takes the runner to the ground; (2) the defender makes contact when the runner is giving himself up; (3) the contact was avoidable, which is usually the case when the defender uses his arms or shoulder to deliver a blow when the runner is OOB; and (4) the contact by the defender is forcible contact, which is usually the case if the runner goes to the ground after the hit.
In this play from the 2023 championships, DBPF called for a late hit OOB.
After the QB scrambles towards H’s side of the field, he gives himself up and runs OOB after about a 14-yard gain. One foot has touched down in the white when he is contacted by #26 in black. That contact continues when the runner is well into the white. Although there was no flag, does that contact rise to the level of a DBPF for a late hit OOB?
During a running play, foul by Team A beyond the LOS, and the play ends behind the LOS. Under Rule 10-4-2f, the penalty is to be enforced from the previous spot. Here, the LOS is Team B’s 47-yard line, OH is called on #6 in white at Team B’s 44-yard line, and the end of the run is Team B’s 49-yard line. Previous spot enforcement means both the yard line and the lateral position of the ball on that yard line. After enforcement, the ball should be on Team A’s 43-yard line at position 5.
During running play, foul by Team A behind the LOS, and the play ends beyond the LOS. Under Rule 10-4-2e, the penalty is to be enforced from the previous spot. Here, the LOS is Team B’s 38-yard line, OH is called on #62 in white at Team B’s 40-yard line, and the end of the run is Team B’s 34-yard line. After enforcement, the ball is correctly placed at Team B’s 48-yard line at position 5.
During running play, foul by Team A beyond the LOS, with the play ending beyond the LOS and the foul is behind the end of the run. Under Rule 10-4-4f, the penalty is to be enforced from the spot of the foul. Here, the LOS is at Team B’s 38-yard line, IBB is called on #4 in white at Team B’s 32-yard line, and the end of the run is Team B’s 24-yard line. After enforcement, the ball is correctly spotted on Team B’s 42-yard line at position 5.
During run after a completed pass (running play), foul by Team A beyond the LOS, with the play ending beyond the LOS and the foul is behind the end of the run. Under Rule 10-4-4e, the penalty is to be enforced from the spot of the foul. Here, the LOS is Team B’s 11-yard line, OH is called on #15 in white at Team B’s 2-yard line, and the end of the run is the goal line (touchdown). Originally, this was incorrectly enforced from the previous spot (to Team B’s 21-yard line), but corrected with enforcement from the spot of the foul (to Team B’s 12-yard line). Note the correct lateral ball placement for both enforcements – position 1 when the enforcement was from the previous spot, and position 5 when the enforcement spot was corrected to the spot of the foul.
During a running play, foul by Team B behind the LOS, and the play ends behind the LOS. Under Rule 10-4-2d, the penalty is to be enforced from the previous spot. Here, the LOS is Team B’s 37-yard line, FMM is called on #9 in white at Team B’s 43-yard line, which is also the end of the run. The penalty was incorrectly enforced from the spot of the foul, so the ball was placed at Team B’s 28-yard line. The correct enforcement from the LOS would have placed the ball at Team B’s 22-yard line. The incorrect enforcement here would have been the correct enforcement under the old all-but-one principle. Although not part of the discussion here, from this camera angle, it looks like the defender grabbed the jersey, not the face mask.
During a running play, foul by Team B behind the LOS, and the play ends beyond the LOS. Under Rule 10-4-6a, the penalty is to be enforced from the end of the run. The LOS is Team A’s 31-yard line, the foul was at Team A’s 30-yard line, and the end of the run is Team A’s 35-yard line.
The foul was announced as ‘illegal hands to the face’ on #54 in orange, and the penalty was enforced 5 yards from the end of the run. When you watch the play, the foul does not look like it could be on #54 in orange as he barely made contact with his opponent, and certainly not in the face. You can see, however, on the low-angle replay that #6 in orange has incidental contact to the runner’s face mask at the point of contact during the tackle. If this is the contact noted by U when he threw his flag, it is a FM5; therefore, the enforcement of the 5-yard penalty from the end of the run is correct.
Note that this foul was announced as ‘hands to the face.’ ‘Hands to the face’ is not a foul found in the high school football rulebook. When you watch games from other levels of football, often ‘hands to the face’ is called when
either offensive or defensive lineman, through the course of normal close line play, force hands up to the face or neck of their opponent. That is not what happened here – this was contact on the face mask of the runner by a potential tackler.
The penalty for the contact on this play was enforced as an incidental contact with the face mask. The rules prohibit incidental grasping of an opponent’s face mask, chin strap or edge of the helmet opening (Rule 9-4-3h). What is meant by incidentally grasping? The NFHS football casebook suggests that the length of the grasping is the major factor to consider. If the grasping is “momentary,” or the defender “immediately releases” his grasp of the runner’s face mask, the foul called should be the 5-yard incidental face mask foul rather than the 15-yard personal foul face mask. see, Case Plays 9.4.3 SITUATION H and 9.4.3 SITUATION I.
During a running play, foul by Team B beyond the LOS, and play ends beyond LOS. Under Rule 10-4-6a, the penalty is to be enforced from the end of the run. FM5 called on Team B, and is enforced half the distance. The LOS is Team B’s 20-yard line, the foul is at the 8-yard line, and the end of the run is at the 6-yard line. From this video angle, it looked like more than an incidental face mask. It looks like the defender grasped the runner’s face mask, and twisted, turned or pulled the face mask – which would be an FMM. Regardless, because of the location on the field, the enforcement is exactly the same.
During a loose ball play, foul by Team A behind the LOS. Under Rule 10-4-2b, the penalty is to be enforced from the previous spot. The LOS is Team B’s 32-yard line, OH is called on #24 in black at the 35-yard line. The foul is behind LOS on loose-ball play, and is correctly enforced from previous spot. A loose-ball play includes action during a legal forward pass, and during the run or runs that precede a legal forward pass (Rule 2-33-1b & d).
During a loose-ball play, foul by Team B. Under Rule 10-4-2b, the penalty is to be enforced from the previous spot. The LOS is at Team B’s 24-yard line. DPI is called on an incomplete pass, and was enforced half the distance from the previous spot. Remember that DPI does NOT result in an automatic 1st down. Be aware of the lateral placement of the ball on previous spot enforcement, especially as the play gets closer to the goal line, where incorrect lateral placement can cause quite a change in the angle of a possible scoring kick. Here, the original snap is at position 4; after enforcement, the ball is placed at position 3.
L is the calling official. After throwing his flag, he should give a signal with the result of the play (incomplete pass).
Running into the kicker called. Under Rule 9-4-5 PENALTY, the penalty is to be enforced from the previous spot. The LOS was the Team K’s 30-yard line, and it is 4th & 23. Team K downs the kick at Team R’s 34-yard line. Running into the kicker, roughing the kicker, roughing the holder and roughing the snapper are all enforced from the previous spot. Here, the penalty was enforced 5 yards from the previous spot and the 4th down was replayed.
Anytime a kicker is contacted by the defense, there are three possible calls – roughing the kicker, running into the kicker, or a no call for incidental contact, such as a defender being blocked into the kicker. On this play, there is a rush on the punter, and one of the defenders makes contact with the kicker after the kick. The punter was displaced by the contact. The referee decided that this was running into the kicker and not roughing the kicker – it was clearly not a situation where the defender blocks, tackles or charges into the kicker, which is required for roughing the kicker.
The rule specifically states that enforcement of this foul is from the previous spot, so do not be tempted to consider a different enforcement spot (Rule 9-4-5 PENALTY). These fouls do not involve post scrimmage kick enforcement. For PSK enforcement to come into play, the foul on Team R must be beyond the expanded neutral zone (Rule 2-16-2h(3)). These fouls also do not involve potential tack-on enforcement because tack-on enforcement only applies to fouls by Team K (Rule 10-4-2 EXCEPTION).
FK OOB at Team R’s 47-yard line on H’s side of the field. Under Rule 6-1-9, Team R has 4 penalty enforcement options when a free kick is kicked OOB between the goal lines untouched inbounds by Team R. Team R can elect only one of these options. Here, Team R elected to have the penalty enforced from the OOB spot plus 5 yards. After enforcement, the ball is placed on Team K’s 48-yard line on the hash mark on H’s side of the field.
Team R’s four penalty enforcement options are: (1) accept a 5-yard penalty from the previous spot and have Team K re-kick the ball (Rule 6-1-9a); (2) accept a 5-yard penalty from the succeeding spot, which is where the ball went out of bounds. This would be the obvious choice if the ball goes out of bounds before it gets to Team R’s 31-yard line, such as what happened here (Rule 6-1-9b); (3) putting the ball in play at the inbounds spot 25 yards beyond the previous spot. Under this option, when the kick is from Team K’s 40-yard line, the next snap is from the inbounds spot at Team R’s 35-yard line (Rule 6-1-9c). The inbounds spot is the hashmark nearest the sideline where the ball went out of bounds (Rule 2-41-4); or (4) decline the penalty and put the ball in play at the inbounds spot (Rule 6-1-9d).
FK OOB at Team R’s 18-yard line on H’s side of the field. Team R elected to have the penalty enforced by taking the ball at the 35-yard line (at the inbounds spot 25 yards beyond the previous spot). After enforcement, the ball is placed on Team R’s 35-yard line on the hash mark on H’s side of the field.
Foul by the team in possession that occurs behind the end of the run following a change of possession. Under Rule 10-4-4c, the penalty is to be enforced from the spot of the foul. The pass is intercepted at Team B’s 38-yard line, holding is called on #5 in white at B’s 41-yard line during the return, and the play ends at Team A’s 2-yard line. The foul is enforced 10 yards from the spot of the foul.
Foul by the team not in possession that occurs behind the end of the run following a change of possession. Under Rule 10-4-9, the penalty is to be enforced from the end of the run. The pass is intercepted at Team B’s 11-yard line, BBW is called on Team B (#2 in white) at Team B’s 35-yard line, and the play ends at Team B’s 42-yard line. The foul is enforced 15 yards from the end of the run.
Dead-ball foul on either team. Under Rule 10-4-5b, the penalty is to be enforced from the succeeding spot. It is 1st & 15. The LOS is at Team B’s 24-yard line, and the end of the run (succeeding spot) is at Team B’s 21-yard line. After the play, a DBPF is called on Team B (#54 in orange) for action away from the play. The penalty is enforced half the distance from the succeeding spot to Team B’s 10 1/2-yard line. Remember, a DBPF does not result in an automatic 1st down. Also remember that when there is a dead-ball foul, the down counts. The next snap is 2nd & 1 1/2 at Team B’s 10 1/2-yard line.
Foul on Team A that occurs simultaneously with the snap. Under Rule 10-4-2a, the penalty is to be enforced from the previous spot. Illegal shift is called when, before the snap, a lineman goes into 3-point stance while a back is in motion. The LOS is Team B’s 32-yard line. The end of the run is at Team B’s 27-yard line. The 5-yard penalty is enforced from the previous spot, so the next play is 1st & 15 at Team B’s 37-yard line.
Three fouls by Team A that are live-ball fouls that occur simultaneously with the snap are illegal shift, illegal formation and illegal motion. Illegal Shift, Illegal formation and illegal motion are all situations that can be corrected by Team A before the snap. Therefore, they are not a foul until the ball is snapped. If you observe one of these fouls, do not stop the play, like you would a false start. Instead, throw a flag and let the play continue. Depending on the result of the play, the offended team could get a chance to decline the penalty.
Remember that the signal for illegal shift (signal #20 on page 41 of the 2024-25 Game Officials Manual) uses a chest-high outward swipe with both hands.
Team R commits a post-scrimmage kick foul. Under Rule 2-16-2h and Rule 10-4-3, the penalty is to be enforced from the spot where the kick ends or from the spot of the foul, depending on the location of the foul in relation to the end of the kick. Team R commits a holding at about Team K’s 30-yard line during the punt, and the kick ends at Team R’s 41-yard line. On this play from the 2021 championships, because the foul occurred ahead of the PSK spot, the ten-yard penalty is enforced from the PSK spot (the end of the kick) at Team R’s 41-yard line. The next snap is 1st & 10 for Team R at their 31-yard line.
By rule, a post-scrimmage kick foul is a foul by Team R which occurs: (1) during a scrimmage kick play other than a try or a successful field goal; (2) during a scrimmage kick play in which the ball crosses the expanded neutral zone; (3) beyond the expanded neutral zone; (4) before the end of the kick; and (5) Team K will not be next to put the ball in play.
The basic spot for PSK penalty enforcement is called the post scrimmage kick spot. It is the spot where the kick ends. If Team R commits a PSK foul in front where the kick ends, the end of the kick will be the enforcement spot. If Team R’s PSK foul is committed behind the spot where the kick ends, the spot of the foul be the enforcement spot.
Proper scrimmage kick mechanics has the covering official, usually the back judge, marking the PSK spot by dropping a beanbag. The beanbag should be dropped on the yard line where the kick ends. Make sure the kick has ended before marking a spot.
By rule, a kick ends when a player gains possession or when the ball becomes dead not in player possession, for example, when a kick goes out of bounds. Further, the rules provide that the touching of a loose ball by a player in an unsuccessful attempt to secure possession is called a muff. Thus, if a punt receiver muffs the kick, the status of the ball does not change — the ball remains a kick until a player gains possession or when the ball becomes dead not in player possession.
Foul by Team K during a scrimmage kick. Enforcement options for Team R: (1) As a foul during a loose-ball play, the penalty could be enforced from the previous spot and replay the down (Rule 10-4-2b); or (2) As a foul by Team K during a scrimmage kick down prior to the end of the kick when Team K will not be next to put the ball in play, the penalty could be enforced from the succeeding spot (Rule 10-4-2 EXCEPTION). Holding is called on Team K (the left guard – #5 in blue) during the kick.
The option for succeeding spot enforcement applies regardless of whether the foul by Team K takes place before the ball is kicked or during the kick. If the foul occurs after the end of the kick, the rules dealing with penalty enforcement during a running play would apply.
On this play from the 2022 championships, the holding call on Team K during the scrimmage kick gives Team R two penalty enforcement options. One option is to enforce the foul from the previous spot, which would result in a 10-yard penalty from Team K’s 30-yard line and replay the down – 4th & 29 from Team K’s 20-yard line. The other option is succeeding spot enforcement under Rule 10-4-2 EXCEPTION, which would result in the 10-yard penalty being enforced from the end of the play at Team R’s 45-yard line. Team R elected to have the penalty enforced from the succeeding spot, giving them 1st & 10 at Team K’s 45-yard line.
Despite R’s announcement that the penalty would be enforced “from the end of the kick,” the penalty was correctly enforced from the end of the run (succeeding spot).
This play involves an interesting twist on the “clean hands rule.” During the return of a free kick, both teams commit live-ball fouls. A facemask foul is called on Team K (white #32) at Team R’s 30-yard line. Holding is called on Team R (black #44) at Team R’s 36-yard line. The fouls occurred after the change of possession; therefore, Team R gained possession with “clean hands.” Rule 10-2-2 provides that if both teams’ fouls occur after the change of possession, and the team last in possession (Team R on this play) gained possession before they committed a foul, Team R has the option of keeping the ball if it declines the foul by Team K. The foul by Team R would then be enforced. Team R can also create offsetting fouls and have the down replayed by accepting the penalty by Team K.
Usually, we see these plays where there is a foul by one team, then there is a change of possession, then there is a foul by the other team, and the team that ends up with possession got the ball with clean hands. It turns out that the clean hands rule also applies when there is a change of possession, then live-ball fouls by each team, with the team that ends up with possession getting the ball with clean hands.
Based on the lack of discussion with Team R’s coach before the referee’s announcement, it appears that this option was not given to Team R. Instead, the ball was re-kicked because of the offsetting penalties. That could have been the result, but Team R could have also kept possession and, after enforcement of the holding, would have had the ball 1st and 10 at their 26-yard line.