JOURNALISM

2023 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION

Vermillion - USD October 16, 2023

The 2023 High School Press Convention was held at the USD Campus in Vermillion on October 16th. Nearly 200 high school journalists and advisors from 21 schools attended the convention. Work- shops included Digital Storytelling, Newswriting, Design Trends, Photojournalism, and a Young Professional Journalist Panel Discussion.

Advisors were able to meet during the convention to discuss questions and concerns relating to high school journalism. The Convention concluded with an awards presentation. Awards are listed below.

2023-2024 ALL-STATE ANNUAL PUBLICATIONS CONTEST AWARDS Awards for high school publications for the 2023-24 school year.

Submitted publications are judged and given Superior, Excellent, and Honorable Mention ratings. Each school receiving Superior honors received a plaque. The Team Sweepstakes winner was Sturgis Brown High School. The Superior award-winning publications in the various classifications are as follows:

Yearbook	School	Score out of 80	Award	Class	Advisor
The Declaration	Sioux Falls Jefferson	74	Superior	AA	Mary Gail Monahan
The Pheasant	Redfield	68	Superior	Α	Kaylin Frost
The Warrior	SF Washington	67	Superior	AA	Cindy Heckenlaible
Lance	Aberden Roncalli	65	Superior	Α	Stephanie Litzen
Comet	Clark	64	Excellent	В	Kristin Janisch
Charger	Hamlin	59	Excellent	Α	Abigail Schultz
Arickara	Yankton	58	Excellent	AA	Jill Mikkelsen
Maize	Mitchell	58	Excellent	AA	Gretchen Smith
Mato Paha	Sturgis Brown	55	Excellent	AA	Tere Froelich

The Arrow - Refresh	Watertown		50	Excellent	AA	Madeline	Scarlet
A Year Worth Watching	Edgemont		49	Excellent	В	Samantha	a Miller
The Wildcat	Northweste	rn	47	Excellent	В	Nora Gro	ft
Cougars Unite	McCook Cei	ntral	47	Excellent	Α	Shelley W	/eber
Knight Legend	O'Gorman		47	Excellent	AA	Carly Mye Bork	ers & Skye
100% Homegrown	Florence		47	Excellent Score	В	Katrina B	oyum
Newspaper		Scho	ol	out of 90	Award	Class	Advisor
		Sioux					
Statesman		Linco	ln	88	Superior	AA	Katie Kroeze
Knight Scroll		O'Go	rman	85	Superior	AA	Skye Bork
Roncalli Cavalca	de	Abero Ronc		82	Superior	Α	Stephanie Litzen
Blue Ink		Garre	etson	77	Superior	Α	Kelsey Buchholz
Bear Butte Bree	zes	Sturg	is Brown	75	Superior	AA	Tere Froelich
Tiger Stripes		Huro	n	70	Excellent	AA	Sarah Rubish
Woksape		Yank	ton	68	Excellent	AA	Kaiti Ladwig
Panther Pride		Dako	ta Valley	67	Excellent	Α	Anna Michaelson
The Pheasant		Redfi	eld	59	Excellent	Α	Kaylin Frost

Journalistic Photography

Category	Name	School	SCORE OUT OF 40	Award
Sports	Autumn Genzler	Garretson	36	Superior
Sports	Addisyn Evans	Redfield	35	Superior
Sports	Nora Bonte	Garretson	35	Superior
Sports	Lily Witte	SF Washington	35	Superior
Sports	Brycen Top	SF Washington	35	Superior
School Activity	Bianca Lewis	SF Washington	35	Superior
Sports	Brooklyn Rieche	Redfield	34	Superior
Sports	Peyton Abraham	Garretson	34	Superior
School Activity	Kagomae Saliphiou	SF Washington	34	Superior
School Activity	Trinity Kull	Dakota Valley	33	Superior
Non-School Activity	Trinity Kull	Dakota Valley	33	Superior
Sports	J.J. Ostenson	Edgemont	33	Superior
School Activity	Brooklyn Rieche	Redfield	33	Superior
School Activity	Jadie Turner	Redfield	33	Superior
Non-School Activity	Raegan Altman	Garretson	33	Superior
School Activity	Cash Daigle	Sturgis Brown	33	Superior
Non-School Activity	Kiara Kinzler	Sturgis Brown	33	Superior
Non-School Activity	Jess Teigen	Sturgis Brown	33	Superior

Newswriting	Ct. L.	C-11	C	A 1
Sub Category	Student	School	Score	Award
Feature	JJ Luken	Dakota Valley	49	Superior
Sports	Raina Marty & Caroline Hughes	SF Lincoln	49	Superior
Sports	Josie Tollinger	SF Lincoln	49	Superior
General	Keira Muchow & Jess Teigen	Sturgis Brown	49	Superior
General	Zoe Larson	SF Lincoln	48	Superior
General	Josh Mchan	Dakota Valley	47	Superior
Editorial	Katya Surendran	SF Lincoln	47	Superior
General	Chase Struck	Brookings	47	Superior
General	Grace Davis	Brookings	47	Superior
Editorial	Lizzie Heismeyer & Nicholas Schran	Brookings	47	Superior
Feature	Ellen Merkley	SF Lincoln	46	Superior
Feature	Arya Peterson	Sturgis Brown	46	Superior
Editorial	Laura Heckenlaible	SF Lincoln	45	Superior
Editorial	Noah Beck	Huron	45	Superior
Feature	Jake Holforty	Huron	45	Superior
Editorial	Grace Davis	Brookings	45	Superior
Editorial	Jaixai Reineke	Brookings	45	Superior
General	Aneesa Yussef	Dakota Valley	44	Superior

Feature	Raegen Altman	Garretson	44	Superior
Sports	Alexander Enget	SF Washington	44	Superior
Editorial	Chloe Kizer	Sturgis Brown	44	Superior
Feature	Kate Matthes	SF Lincoln	43	Superior
Editorial	Leila Pritts	Sturgis Brown	43	Superior
Sports	Trinity Kull	Dakota Valley	42	Superior
General	Paige Schmidt	Aberdeen Roncalli	42	Superior
Sports	Dillon Pence	Dakota Valley	41	Superior
Editorial	Danica Euliss	Dakota Valley	41	Superior
Feature	Aurora Armstrong	Dakota Valley	41	Superior
Feature	Sarah Schmidt	Aberdeen Roncalli	41	Superior
General	Kadence Dean	SF Lincoln	41	Superior
General	Tyson Ruth	Huron	41	Superior
Editorial	Aleah Wagner	Garretson	41	Superior
Sports	Hannah Heismeyer	Brookings	41	Superior
Feature	Alexander Enget	SF Washington	41	Superior
General	Samantha Teigen	Sturgis Brown	41	Superior