JOURNALISM

2021 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION

Virtual October 18, 2021

The 2021 High School Press Convention was held virtually October 18th. Workshops included statistics in journalism, print design, "fake news", and multiple keynotes.

2021-2022 ALL-STATE ANNUAL PUBLICATIONS CONTEST AWARDS Awards for high school publications that were published during the 2021 school year.

Submitted publications are judged and given Superior, Excellent, and Honorable Mention ratings. Each school receiving Superior honors received a plaque. The Superior award winning publications in the various classifications are as follows:

YEARBOOK

NEWSPAPER

1 11	III O O II	1,2	WOITH BIL
McCook Central	Chelsea Anderson, Advisor	Sturgis Brown	Teresa Froelich, Advisor
Garretson	Kelsey Buchholz, Advisor	SF Lincoln	Katie Kroeze, Advisor
SF Washington	Cindy Heckenlaible, Advisor	SF Washington	Cindy Heckenlaible, Advisor
Aberdeen Roncalli	Stephanie Litzen, Advisor	Huron	SarahbRubish, Advisor
Redfield	Kaylin Frost, Advisor		
Mitchell	Gretchen Smith, Advisor		

SUPERIOR JOURNALISTIC PHOTOGRAPHY

Samantha Teigen Sturgis Brown Rian Vollmer Sturgis Brown Ella Peterson O'Gorman Morgan Pierret Garretson Halle Johnson SF Washington Jordyn Rath Sturgis Brown Elk Point-Jefferson Carly Welch SF Washington Angel Hernan Ryleigh Tupper O'Gorman Chloe Schleuter Garretson Logan Reyes Dakota Valley Lily Smith Dakota Valley Heather Stark Elk Point-Jefferson Rylyn Fink SF Washington Ryleigh Richter Sturgis Brown

NEWSWRITING

Yankton Carter Demaray Daniel Bethke SF Lincoln Jada Sandrall SF Lincoln Anna Engels SF Lincoln Logan Reyes Dakota Valley Veronica Iseminger SF Lincoln Lily Smith Dakota Valley Advson Sand SF Lincoln Chloe Houwman SF Lincoln Calen Hiatt SF Lincoln Rebekah Roth Garretson