ALL-STATE JAZZ BAND

The All-State Jazz Band Festival features South Dakota's most talented high school jazz musicians divided into equal All-State Jazz Ensembles. Membership in a Jazz Ensemble is based on a recorded audition. Each applicant is judged for musicality, style, technique, and jazz improvisation by a group of adjudicators who are specialists in the field of jazz education.

For the first six years of its existence the All-State Jazz Band was sponsored solely by the South Dakota Bandmasters Association. Beginning with the 1995 All-State Jazz Band and Festival, the South Dakota Chapter of International Association of Jazz Ensembles joined the Bandmasters in sponsoring the event for the next ten years. The 2006 All-State Jazz Band marked the addition of the South Dakota High School Activities Association as a co-sponsor of the All-State Jazz Band Festival. In 2014, the South Dakota High School Activities Association became the sole sponsor.

2021 All-State Jazz Band

The 2021 All-State Jazz Band Festival took place on May 6-8, 2021 at the Mitchell High School Performing Arts Center. A total of 47 students were selected for membership in the two big bands and one combo. Guest conductors were Adam Larson (combo), Kris Berg (big band 1), and Matt Niess (big band 2).

SOUTH DAKOTA ALL-STATE JAZZ BAND Listing of concert sites and guest clinicians

DATE	CITY	GUEST CLINICIANS
1989	Vermillion	Unknown
1990	Vermillion	Fred Sturm, Lawrence University, Appleton, WI
1991	Brookings	Dr. Robert Washut, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA
1992	Brookings	Dr. Don Owens, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
1993	Aberdeen	Scott Prebys, University of Mary, Bismarck, ND
		Tim Daugherty, Bill Davis & Dennis McPartland Cedar Rapids, IA
1994	Aberdeen	Willie Thomas, Austin, TX
		Scott Prebys, Chris Brucker & Ryan Brucker, University of Mary, Bismarck, ND
1995	Aberdeen	Steve Wiest, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater, WI
		Jim Mair, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Kansas City, KS
		Willie Thomas, Austin, TX
1996	Aberdeen	Steve Wiest, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater, WI
		Denis DiBlasio, Rowan University, Camden, NJ
100-		Willie Thomas, Austin, TX
1997	Aberdeen	Willie Thomas, Austin, TX
		Denis DiBlasio, Rowan University, Camden, NJ
1000	A 1 1	Frank Mantooth, DePaul University, Chicago, IL
1998	Aberdeen	Matt Harris, California State University, Northridge, CA
		Jeff Jarvis, California State University, Long Beach, CA
1999	Aberdeen	Scott Prebys, University of Mary, Bismarck, ND Steve Wiest, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater, WI
1999	Aberdeen	Glenn Kostur, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
		Pat Harbison, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
2000	Aberdeen	Tom Brantley, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
2000	Aberdeen	Mike Hackett, New York, NY
		Jim Mair, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Kansas City, KS
2001	Aberdeen	Robert Baca, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, WI
2001	110010011	Jack Wilkins, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
		Grant Manhart, Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD,
		Fred Elwein, SD School of Mines, Rapid City, SD
2002	Aberdeen	Jay Coble, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
		Matt Harris, California State University, Northridge, CA
		Bob Pestke, University of Mary, Bismarck ND
2003	Aberdeen	Chuck Owen, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
		Dean Sorenson, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
		Rodney Lancaster, Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD
2004	Aberdeen	Chris Vadala, University of Maryland, College Park, MD
		Phil Ostrander, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, WI
• • • •		Fred Hemke, Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD
2005	Aberdeen	Fred Sturm, Lawrence University Conservatory of Music, Appleton, WI
		Ron Keezer, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, WI
2006	A 1 1	Robert Lark, DePaul University, Chicago, IL
2006	Aberdeen	Dave Hagedorn, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN
		Reggie Thomas, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, IL
2007	Aberdeen	Matt Wallace, Omaha, NE Matt Harris, California State Universtiy, Northridge, CA
2007	Abelucell	
		Scott Prebys, University of Mary, Bismarck, ND Michael B. Nelson, Minneapolis, MN
2008	Aberdeen	Chris Vadala, University of Maryland, College Park, MD
2000	Auctuccii	Pat Harbison, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
		Laura Caviani, Carleton College, St Olaf College, Minneapolis, MN
		Zanta cartain, carroton contege, of oldi contege, friningapone, frin

SOUTH DAKOTA ALL-STATE JAZZ BAND Listing of concert sites and guest clinicians (continued)

DATE	CITY	GUEST CLINICIANS
2009	Aberdeen	Fred Sturm, Lawrence Conservatory of Music, Appleton, WI Patty Darling, Lawrence Conservatory of Music, Appleton, WI
2010	Aberdeen	Mike Tomaro, Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA Eric Richards, University of Nebraska at Lincoln, Lincoln, NE Matthew Patnode North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND
2011	Aberdeen	Ellen Rowe, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI Jeff Rupert – University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL Sean Parsons – Marshall University, Huntington, WV
2012	Aberdeen	Scott Prebys – Bismarck, ND Michael Philip Mossman – NYC Aaron Copland School of Music, New York, NY Dean Sorenson – University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
2013	Aberdeen	Dave Stanoch – McNally Smith College of Music – Minneapolis, MN Dennis McDermott – Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD Matt Niess – Levittown, PA
2014	Aberdeen	Karyn Quinn – University of Wisconsin, La Crosse Dr. Steve Wright – Minnetonka, MN Tom Brantley – University of South Florida, Tampa, FL Laura Cavaini – Carleton College & St. Olaf College – Northfield, MN Rex Richardson – Virginia Commonwealth University – Richmond, VA
2015	Rapid City	Gary Smulyan – Amherst College – Amherst, MA Alan Baylock— Centreville, VA Jay Young— McNally Smith College of Music—Minneapolis, MN Doug Woolverton—Newport, RI
2016	Aberdeen	Harry Allen—New York, NY William Flynn—Wichita, KS Adam Meckler—Minneapolis, MN
2017	Aberdeen	Bob Reynolds—Los Angeles, CA Dan Miller—Estero, Florida Matt Otto—Kansas City, MO
2018	Aberdeen	Steve Wiest—Denver, CO John Kizilarmut—Kansas City, MO Grant Manhart—Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD
2019	Brandon	Tommy Poole—Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK Doug Woolverton—Los Angeles, CA Matt Wilson—New York, NY
2020	CANCELLER	Tracy Heavner—University of South Alabama, Mobile, AL
2020 2021	Mitchell	O DUE TO COVID-19 Adam Larson—University of Missouri, Kansas City Conservatory Kris Berg—Collin County Community College, Texas Matt Niess—Levittown, PA