## MUSIC

## ALL-STATE CHORUS AND ORCHESTRA

The 68th All-State Chorus and Orchestra concert was held at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls on April 20, 2021. Dr. Peter Folliard (Augustana University) was the guest conductor of the orchestra. Due to COVID restrictions, the All-State Chorus portion of the event was cancelled. Only the orchestra performed. Students who auditioned and were accepted into the All-State Chorus were still recognized as members of the group. The statistics for the largest high school musical event in South Dakota were:

Chorus Personnel	
Schools represented in the Chorus	139
Orchestra Personnel	
Schools represented in the Orchestra	

Competition at the local level determines which students will attend All-State Chorus. Each school may send one or more quartets based on the enrollment of the school. The members of the All-State Orchestra were selected from the statewide competitive auditions which were held virtually. The auditions included a recorded performance and an online terms test.

The number of All-State Orchestra students from each school is as follows:

Aberdeen Central 4 Brandon Valley 1 Brookings 2 Chamberlain 1 Chester Area 1 Custer 1 Elk Point-Jefferson 2 Freeman Academy 1 Huron 2 Lead-Deadwood 1 Lennox 2 Mitchell 4 Milbank 4 O'Gorman 5 Pierre T.F. Riggs 1 RC Central 23 RC Christian 1 RC Stevens 45 SF Christian 4 SF Lincoln 28 SF Roosevelt 14 SF Washington 4 Spearfish 1 St. Thomas More 2 Vermillion 1 West Central 2 Yankton 3

## SOUTH DAKOTA ALL-STATE CHORUS & ORCHESTRA A Chronological Listing of Location and Conductors

(The All-State Chorus has been held since 1952. The All-State Orchestra has been held since 1953.)

DATE	CITY	CHORUS CONDUCTOR	ORCHESTRA CONDUCTOR
1952		David Foltz	
1953	Huron	Robert McCowan	Emmanuel Wishnow
1954	Huron	Clayton Hathaway	Harvey Waugh
1955	Aberdeen	Dr. David Foltz	Gilbert Waller
1956	Mitchell	Weston Noble	Richard Duncan
1957	Huron	Warner Imig	Bernard Goodman
1958	Aberdeen	Leland B. Sateren	Walter Charles
1959	Mitchell	Harold A. Decker	Walter Charles
1960	Huron	Clayton Hathaway	Harvey Waugh
1961	Huron	Gerhard Schroth	Marvin Rabin
1962	Huron	Joseph Mussulman	Leo Kucinski
1963	Aberdeen	Weston Noble	Howard Leyton-Brown
1964	Watertown	Edward Anderson	Marvin Rabin
1965	Sioux Falls	Dr. Douglas McEwen	Joseph Levine
1966	Watertown	Dr. Robert Berglund	Dr. James Neilson
1967	Huron	Robert E. Page	Dr. Leo Kucinski
1968	Aberdeen	Dr. Elaine Brown	Gerhard Paul Schroth
1969	Sioux Falls	Dr. Lloyd Pfautsch	Joseph DelliCarri
1970	Rapid City	Dr. Daniel Moe	Dr. Marvin Rabin
1971	Watertown	Dr. Jester Hairston	Dr. Samuel Adler
1972	Huron	Don Craig	Joseph DelliCarri
1973	Sioux Falls	Dr. Joseph Mussulman	David Holland
1974	Rapid City	Dr. Leonard Van Camp	A. Clyde Roller
1975	Watertown	Dr. Don V. Moses	Harry Lantz
1976	Huron	Rodney Eichenberger	Richard Anshutz
1977	Sioux Falls	Dr. B. R. Henson	Dr. Marvin J. Rabin
1978	Rapid City	Bruce L. Lunkley	Dr. William L. Jones
1979	Watertown	Dr. Eph Ehly	Thomas Lewis
1980	Huron	Dr. Karle Erickson	Abraham Chavez Jr.
1981	Sioux Falls	Dr. Richard B. Rosewall	Joseph Giunta
1982	Rapid City	Dr. Lee Kjelson	Pamela Gearhart
1983	Aberdeen	Richard Edstrom	Dr. Marvin J. Rabin
1984	Watertown	Paul Ritter	Dr. George Trautwein
1985	Huron	Rodney Eichenberger	Stephen G. Hobson
1986	Sioux Falls	Dr. Eph Ehly	Robert Culver
1987	Rapid City	Dr. Douglas McEwen	Betty Suber Whiton
1988	Aberdeen	Stirling A. Culp	Dr. Carolann Martin
1989	Watertown	Byron McGilvary	Daniel Culver
1990	Huron	Dr. Paul Torkelson	Steven Amundson
1991	Sioux Falls	Weston Noble	Henry Charles Smith
1992	Rapid City	Dr. David Greenlee	Timothy Durbin
1993 1994	Aberdeen Banid City	Dr. James F. Rodde	Dr. Christopher Bonds
1994 1995	Rapid City	Dr. Andrè J. Thomas	Michael A. Palumbo
	Aberdeen	Dr. Edith A. Copley	Dr. Dale J. Lonis
1996	Sioux Falls	Dr. John Yarrington	John Giordano Stavan Amundaan
1997 1998	Rapid City Aberdeen	Dr. Anton Armstrong Dr. Charles R. Robinson	Steven Amundson Robert Culver
1998	Aberdeen	Dr. Charles K. Kodinson	Robert Culver

## **SOUTH DAKOTA ALL-STATE CHORUS & ORCHESTRA** A Chronological Listing of Location and Conductors (continued)

(The All-State Chorus has been held since 1952. The All-State Orchestra has been held since 1953.)

DATE	CITY	CHORUS CONDUCTOR	ORCHESTRA CONDUCTOR
1999	Rapid City	Dr. Dennis K. Cox	Henry Charles Smith
2000	Sioux Falls	Dr. Russell L. Robinson	J. Robert Hanson
2001	Aberdeen	Dr. Lynda Hasseler	Susan Haig
2002	Sioux Falls	Dr. Paul A. Torkelson	James A. Biddlecome
2003	Rapid City	Dr. Z. Randall Stroope	Robert Gillespie
2004	Aberdeen	Tim Peter	Dr. Tyler White
2005	Sioux Falls	Dr. Peter Eklund	Dr. Germán Guitiérrez
2006	Rapid City	Dr. Galen Darrough	Jung-Ho Pak
2007	Rapid City	Dr. Timothy Seelig	Robert Culver
2008	Sioux Falls	Dr. Christopher Aspaas	Michael Gelfand
2009	Rapid City	Dr. Kevin Meidl	Dr. Juan Tony Guzmán
2010	Aberdeen	Dr. Craig S. Arnold	Jungho Kim
2011	Sioux Falls	Vijay Singh	Henry Charles Smith
2012	Rapid City	Dr. Anna Hamre	Brian Cole
2013	Sioux Falls	Dr. Joe Miller	David Barg
2014	Sioux Falls	Dr. Andre Thomas	Jane Linde Capistran
2015	Rapid City	Dr. Peter Eklund	Dr. David MacKenzie
2016	Sioux Falls	Dr. Jerry Blackstone	Dr. Ruth Lin
2017	Sioux Falls	Dr. Tim Seelig	Michael Gerdes
2018	Rapid City	Dr. Phillip Swan	Dr. Anthony Elliott
2019	Sioux Falls	Dr. Andrew Last	Dr. Timothy Dixon
2020	Sioux Falls	none	Dr. Peter Folliard