JOURNALISM

2019 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION

Vermillion October 21, 2019

The 2019 High School Press Convention was held at the USD Campus in Vermillion on October 21st. Over 254 high school journalists and 28 advisors from 20 schools attended the convention. Workshops included photography, yearbook, interviewing, and fresh ideas for photos and stories.

Advisors were able to meet during the convention to discuss questions and concerns relating to high school journalism. The Convention concluded with an awards presentation. Awards are listed below.

2019-2020 ALL-STATE ANNUAL PUBLICATIONS CONTEST AWARDS

Awards for high school publications that were published during the 2019 school year.

Submitted publications are judged and given Superior, Excellent, and Honorable Mention ratings. Each school receiving Superior honors received a plaque. The Superior award winning publications in the various classifications are as follows:

YEARBOOK	NEWSPAPER

ILANDOON		NEWSIAI EK	
Class AA		Class AA	
SF Lincoln	Janet Kolb, Advisor	SF Lincoln	Katie Kroeze, Advisor
Mitchell	Gretchen Smith, Advisor	Sturgis Brown	Tere Froelich, Advisor
SF Washington	Cindy Heckenlaible, Advisor		
~		Class A	
Class A		Aberdeen Roncalli	Stephanie Litzen, Advisor
Redfield	Kaylin Frost, Advisor	1 10 01 00 01 110 110 110 110 110 110 1	210pmmi 2102411, 114 + 1541

JOURNALISTIC PHOTOGRAPHY

Sports	Olivia Warren	Elk-Point Jefferson
Sports	Veronica Knippling	Highmore-Harrold
Non-School Activity	Jaida Sorensen	SF Lincoln
Sports	Presley Schneider	Sturgis Brown
Sports	Noel Johnson	Garretson
Non-School Activity	Alex Pannone	Sturgis Brown
School Activity	Hannah Wilson	Sturgis Brown
Sports	Mya Long	Garretson
Non-School Activity	Blake Duncan-Rose	Dakota Valley

Contest awards continued on next page...

JOURNALISTIC PHOTOGRAPHY CONTINUED...

School Activity	Malia Johnson	Garretson
School Activity	Christyn Howard	Dakota Valley
Sports	Marissa Makor	Sturgis Brown
School Activity	Veronica Knippling	Highmore
School Activity	Slater Dixon	Sioux Falls Lincoln
School Activity	Genna Sheriff	Sioux Falls Lincoln
School Activity	Mason Hofer	Garretson
Sports	Blake Duncan-Rose	Dakota Valley
School Activity	Megan Abbott	Dell Rapids
Non-School Activity	Shelby Roberts	Sturgis Brown
Non-School Activity	Ryleigh Richter	Sturgis Brown
Non-School Activity	Nobel Nothstine	Garretson
Sports	Nadalie Johnson	Garretson
Sports	Hannah Runyon	Dakota Valley
School Activity	Sean Power	Dakota Valley
School Activity	Lexi Byrne	Dakota Valley
Sports	Hannah Wilson	Sturgis Brown
School Activity	Presley Schneider	Sturgis Brown
School Activity	Lena Curtis	Sturgis Brown
School Activity	Nadalie Johnson	Garretson

NEWSWRITING

Feature Story	Kyleigh O'Daniel	Redfield
General	Cathleen Weng	Sioux Falls Lincoln
General	Delainey Kronmiller	Sturgis Brown
General	Hannah Nelson	Yankton
Feature Story	Chloe Denney	Yankton
Sports	Delainey Kronmiller	Sturgis Brown
Feature Story	Abby Evans	Redfield
Sports	Sydney Smith	Redfield
General	Sara Carr	Yankton
Editorial	Jayden Clark	Garretson
General	Kylie Uhl	Garretson
General	Lauren Teller & Slater Dixon	Sioux Falls Lincoln
General	Carlyn Oster	Sturgis Brown

NEWSWRITING CONTINUED...

Sports Jade Breidenbach Sturgis Brown Redfield Trista Frost Feature Story **Shane Mooring** Feature Story Huron **Sports** Jasmine Snow Huron Editorial Carly Wheeler Sioux Falls Lincoln Sioux Falls Lincoln **Editorial** Timothy Stolp Sioux Falls Lincoln Feature Story **Taylor Ericson** Genna Sheriff Sioux Falls Lincoln Feature Story Feature Story Ryleigh Richter Sturgis Brown Editorial Kiah Holmstrom & Carter Demaray Yankton General Marissa Makor Sturgis Brown Editorial **Delainey Kronmiller** Sturgis Brown Editorial Veronica Knippling Highmore **Sports** Sean Power Dakota Valley Sean Power **Editorial** Dakota Valley Sioux Falls Lincoln **Sports** Landon DeBoer **Shelby Roberts** Sturgis Brown **Editorial** Erica Zell Huron **Sports Sports** Caroline Sudbeck Sioux Falls Lincoln Jack Kluth Huron General General Sean Power Dakota Valley Sioux Falls Lincoln **Sports** Molly Wetsch Kiara O'Daniel Redfield General **Editorial** Velvet Jessen Highmore Avery Bourk Highmore General Hannah Nelson Yankton Feature Story Editorial Nobel Nothstine Garretson **Editorial** Sam Gonzalez Garretson Feature Story Ireland Anderson Sturgis Brown **Sports** Mason Hofer Garretson Dakota Valley General Dylan Ferner Abby Evans Redfield **Sports** Garretson Jayden Clark General Eli Werden **Sports** Dakota Valley **Editorial** Kiara Vetter Sturgis Brown