DEBATE AND INDIVIDUAL EVENTS

Schools participating in the Debate and Individual Events program are divided into two classes. Class "AA" represents the SDHSAA member schools with an A.D.M. enrollment of 450 and above while Class "A" involves all other schools. Any member school wishing to participate can directly enter the State Tournament in any of the debate or individual events without the necessity of participating in a regional tournament.

The 2020 State Tournament crowned the 106th State Policy Debate Champions for South Dakota. The Tournament also marked over 90 years for Extemporaneous speaking competition, the 86th year of competition in Original Oratory, the 40th year of Lincoln-Douglas Debate competition, and 18th year of Public Forum Debate Competition.

STATE DEBATE & INDIVIDUAL EVENTS TOURNAMENT RESULTS Huron High School March 6-7, 2020

STATE TOURNAMENT SWEEPSTAKES TEAM CHAMPIONS

(Based upon the total accumulated points earned by a school in each of the individual events and each of the debate divisions.)

CLASS "AA"	Champion Team	-	Aberdeen Central Kerry Konda, Coach
	Runner-Up Team	-	Sioux Falls Washington Travis Dahle, Coach
	Third Place Team	-	O'Gorman Bob Stevens, Coach
CLASS "A"	Champion Team	-	Spearfish Bob Speirs, Coach
	Runner-Up Team	-	Sturgis Brown Eric Johnson, Coach
	Third Place Team	-	Lennox Mike Larson, Coach



State Class "AA" Sweepstakes Team Champions Aberdeen Central High School (Courtesy of SDPB)



State Class "A" Sweepstakes Team Champions Spearfish High School (Courtesy of SDPB)

STATE "AA" INDIVIDUAL EVENTS CONTESTS RESULTS

ORIGINAL ORATORY

CLASS "AA"	Champion	-	Mariah William, Aberdeen Central Coach: Kerry Konda
	Runner-up	-	Blake Anderson, SF Washington Coach: Travis Dahle
	3rd place	-	Grace Ann Lamberty, Brandon Valley Coach: Gina Koehn
	Finalists	-	McCabe Wenande, O'Gorman Jordan Phillips, Aberdeen Central Allison Pommer, O'Gorman
	UNITED STAT	FES EX	TEMPORANEOUS SPEAKING

CLASS "AA"	Champion	-	Nancy Flaherty, Watertown
			Coach: Scott Walker
	Runner-up	-	Riley James Nold, SF Washington
	-		Coach: Travis Dahle
	3rd place	-	Catherine Liu, SF Washington
	-		Coach: Travis Dahle
	Finalists	-	Lauren Rhodes, Aberdeen Central
			Noah Greble, SF O'Gorman
			Kara Vetch, Aberdeen Central
			,

INTERNATIONAL EXTEMPORANEOUS SPEAKING

CLASS "AA"	Champion	-	Lyla Mattu, O'Gorman Coach: Bob Stevens
	Runner-up	-	Miles Pastian, Aberdeen Central Coach: Kerry Konda
	3rd place	-	Walker Haber, O'Gorman Coach: Bob Stevens
	Finalists	-	Drake VanSteenwyk, Aberdeen Central Prasoon Kharel, Brookings Abbie DeKramer, SF Lincoln

STATE "A" INDIVIDUAL EVENTS CONTESTS RESULTS

ORIGINAL ORATORY

CLASS "A"	Champion	-	Xavier W Larson, Lennox
	Runner-up	-	Coach: Mike Larson Brooklyn Pater, SF Christian
	3rd place	_	Coach: Jeff Clapper Paige Hoffman, SF Christian
	•		Coach: Jeff Clapper
	Finalists	-	Xuan Do, Spearfish Samantha Walters, Spearfish
			Taylor Tobias, Sturgis Brown

UNITED STATES EXTEMPORANEOUS SPEAKING

CLASS "A"	Champion	-	Baxter Meyer, St. Thomas More
	Runner-up	-	Coach: Anthony Flores Caleb Weiland, Beresford
	3rd place	-	Coach: Kelly Josko Samantha Pappas, Groton Area Coach: Kristen Gonsoir
	Finalists	-	Wyatt Trohkimoinen, Sturgis Brown Colter Huseby, Spearfish Charle Waugh, Spearfish
			Charle Waugh, Spearfish

INTERNATIONAL EXTEMPORANEOUS SPEAKING

			ATEMI ORANEOUS STEARIN
CLASS "A"	Champion	-	Ella Murray, Spearfish
	D		Coach: Bob Speirs
	Runner-up	-	Andrew L Calhoon, Lennox
			Coach: Mike Larson
	3rd place	-	Christopher Shuman, Sturgis Brown
	-		Coach: Eric Johnson
	Finalists	-	Gavin David Bautista, Beresford
			Amara Termes, Spearfish
			Destiny J Christopherson, Lennox

STATE CLASS "AA" LINCOLN-DOUGLAS DEBATE RESULTS

Champion: Catherine Liu, SF Washington Runner-up: Rachel Beare, Aberdeen Central Semi-Finals: Walker Haber, O'Gorman Areej Nazir, SF Lincoln Quarter-Finals: Prasoon Kharel, Brookings Lyla Mattu, O'Gorman Mariah William, Aberdeen Central Rachel Overstreet, SF Lincoln



Catherine Liu SF Washington (Courtesy of SDPB)



Xuan Do Spearfish (Courtesy of SDPB)

STATE CLASS "A" LINCOLN-DOUGLAS DEBATE RESULTS

Champion: Xuan Do, Spearfish Runner-up: Marion Mischel, Milbank Semi-Finals: Gunner Geiken, Lennox Baxter Meyer, St. Thomas More Quarter-Finals: Adam Wood, Sturgis Brown

STATE CLASS "AA" PUBLIC FORUM DEBATE RESULTS

Champion Team: Aberdeen Central: Kara Vetch Lauren Rhodes **Runner-up Team:** Yankton: Tye Briggs Leven McNatt Semi-Finals Teams: Brookings: Uriah Koch Jonathon Sundet Watertown: Nancy Flaherty Rylea Anne Klatt **Quarter-Final Teams:** Aberdeen Central: Casanova - VanSteenwyk Harrisburg: Anderson - O'Connor Yankton: Demaray - Gillis SF Lincoln: Gillespie - DeKramer



Kara Vetch & Lauren Rhodes Aberdeen Central (Courtesy of SDPB)

STATE CLASS "A" PUBLIC FORUM DEBATE RESULTS



Micah Wimmer & Grace Leonard Sioux Falls Christian (Courtesy of SDPB) **Champion Team:** SF Christian: Micah Wimmer Grace Leonard **Runner-up Team:** SF Christian: Owen Lubben Riley VanDenTop Semi-Final Team: Spearfish: Ella Murray Samantha Walters Sturgis Brown: Lexi McKee Jillian Sutton **Quarter-Final Teams:** Sturgis Brown: Shuman - Trohkimoinen Lennox: Bosma - Calhoon Spearfish: Becker - Ensor Dakota Valley: Zhou - Messersith

STATE POLICY DEBATE RESULTS

Champion Team: SF Washington: Riley Nold Trenity Rosenberg Runner Up Team: Aberdeen Central: Miles Pastian Olivia Johnson Semi-Finals: Aberdeen Central: Drew Comstock Grant Aberle SF Washington: Ryan M. Downing Suzie Esquivel



State Policy Debate Champions: SF Washington Riley Nold & Trenity Rosenberg (Courtesy of SDPB)