# JOURNALISM 2018 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION Brookings October 15, 2018

The 2018 High School Press Convention was held at the SDSU Campus in Brookings on October 15th. Over 295 high school journalists and 35 advisors from 26 schools attended the convention. Workshops included photography, yearbook, interviewing, and fresh ideas for photos and stories.

Advisors were able to meet during the convention to discuss questions and concerns relating to high school journalism. The Convention concluded with an awards presentation. Awards are listed below.

#### 2018-2019 ALL-STATE ANNUAL PUBLICATIONS CONTEST AWARDS Awards for high school publications that were published during the 2018 school year.

Submitted publications are judged and given Superior, Excellent, and Honorable Mention ratings. Each school receiving Superior honors received a plaque. The Superior award winning publications in the various classifications are as follows:

## YEARBOOK

### **NEWSPAPER**

Class AA		Class AA	
SF Lincoln	Katie Kroeze, Advisor	SF Lincoln	Katie Kroeze, Advisor
Mitchell	Gretchen Smith, Advisor		
SF Washington	Cindy Heckenlaible, Advisor	Class A	
Yankton	Jill Mikkelsen, Advisor	Aberdeen Roncalli	Stephanie Litzen, Advisor
		Dakota Valley	Anna Michaelson, Advisor
Class A			

Dakota Valley Anna Michaelson, Advisor

### JOURNALISTIC PHOTOGRAPHY

Non-School Activity	Beylee Bezdichek	Sioux Valley
Sports	Kassidy Dyer	Highmore-Harrold
Sports	Trista Frost	Redfield
Sports	Payton Hedderman	Sturgis Brown
Sports	Riley Rasmussen	SF Lincoln

Contest awards continued on next page ...

## NEWSWRITING

Editorial	Cathleen Weng	SF Lincoln
Editorial	Timothy Stolp	SF Lincoln
Editorial	Gage Gramlick	SF Lincoln
Editorial	Sophia Stueven	Pierre T.F. Riggs
Editorial	Adam Hyke	Redfield
Editorial	Zebadiah Johnson	Garretson
Editorial	Isaiah Miles Mader	Garretson
Feature Story	Delainey Kronmiller	Sturgis Brown
Feature Story	Hannah Hansen	SF Lincoln
Feature Story	Will Howes	SF Lincoln
Feature Story	Shelby Roberts	Sturgis Brown
Feature Story	Jillian Sutton	Sturgis Brown
General	Shelby Roberts	Sturgis Brown
General	Alexis Byrne	Dakota Valley
General	Eve Millar	Redfield
General	Danika Gordon	Sturgis Brown
General	Niya Broveak	Dakota Valley
General	Trista Frost	Redfield
Sports	Trista Frost	Redfield
Sports	Phillip Adam	Pierre T.F. Riggs
Sports	Somer Luitjens	SF Lincoln
Sports	Taylor Ericson	SF Lincoln