JOURNALISM

2018 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION

Brookings March 28, 2018

The 2018 High School Press Convention was held at the SDSU Campus in Brookings on March 28th. Over 215 high school journalists and 26 advisors from 18 schools attended the convention. Workshops included photography, yearbook, interviewing, and fresh ideas for photos and stories.

Advisors were able to meet during the convention to discuss questions and concerns relating to high school journalism. The Convention concluded with an awards presentation. Awards are listed below.

2017-2018 ALL-STATE ANNUAL PUBLICATIONS CONTEST AWARDS

Awards for high school publications that were published during the 2017-2018 school year.

Submitted publications are judged and given Superior, Excellent, and Honorable Mention ratings. Each school receiving Superior honors received a plaque. The Superior award winning publications in the various classifications are as follows:

YEARBOOK

Class AA Delainey Kronmiller Sturgis Brown Non-School Activity SF Lincoln Katie Kroeze, Advisor Elise Hemmingsen Dakota Valley Non-School Activity Baylea Lucas Sioux Valley Non-School Activity Class A Non-School Activity Lexi McKee-Hemmenway Sturgis Brown Redfield Kaylin Frost, Advisor Eric Brown Dakota Valley Non-School Activity Staysha Mumby Sioux Valley School Activity Jacob Clark Redfield School Activity Class B Hayli Martinex Dakota Valley School Activity Clark Kristin Janisch, Advisor School Activity Eve Millar Redfield School Activity Elizabeth Parks Dakota Valley Kylie Sheels Sioux Valley Sports **NEWSPAPER** Sylvia Larson Garretson Sports Sports Luan Minner Redfield Class AA Sports Evan Schmidt Dell Rapids SF Lincoln Katie Kroeze, Advisor Sports Trista Frost Redfield Class A Sports Cody Cline Sturgis Brown Sturgis Brown Sports Madison Pankratz Aberdeen Roncalli Stephanie Litzen, Advisor

Contest awards continued on next page...

JOURNALISTIC PHOTOGRAPHY

NEWSWRITING

Editorial	Calvin Moehlman	Rapid City Central	Feature Story	Eve Millar	Redfield
Editorial	Gage Gramlick	Sioux Falls Lincoln	Feature Story	Regan Garcia	Rapid City Central
Editorial	Kailee Schultz	Pierre T.F. Riggs	Feature Story	Isaiah Mader	Garretson
Editorial	Cathleen Weng	Sioux Falls Lincoln	Feature Story	Peyton Sage	Garretson
Editorial	Cody Cline	Sturgis Brown	General News	Meaghan Keohane	Rapid City Central
Editorial	Chris Schilling	Rapid City Central	General News	Jillian Sutton	Sturgis Brown
Editorial	Jenna Becker	Sioux Falls Lincoln	General News	Zebodiah Johnson	Garretson
Editorial	Ali Weber	Rapid City Central	General News	Kailee Schultz	Pierre T.F. Riggs
Editorial	Peyton Sage/Isaiah Miles	Garretson	General News	Hattie Shaffer/Phillip Adam	Pierre T.F. Riggs
Editorial	Pierec Nichols	Dakota Valley	Sports	Shelly Roberts	Sturgis Brown
Editorial	Mason Hofer	Garretson	Sports	Greg Arana	Garretson
Editorial	Mallori Cambell	Redfield	Sports	Kylee Bennett	Sturgis Brown
Feature Story	Bridger Gordon	Sturgis Brown	Sports	Taylor Erickson	Sioux Falls Lincoln
Feature Story	Hannah Hansen	Sioux Falls Lincoln	Sports	Cody Cline	Sturgis Brown