# **JOURNALISM**

### **2017 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION**

Brookings April 5, 2017

The 2017 High School Press Convention was held at the Days Inn Convention Center in Brookings on April 5th. Over 200 high school journalists and 29 advisors from 22 schools attended the convention. Workshops included photography, yearbook, headline writing, and video.

Advisors were able to meet during the convention to discuss questions and concerns relating to high school journalism. The Convention concluded with an awards presentation. Awards are listed below.

#### 2016-2017 ALL-STATE ANNUAL PUBLICATIONS CONTEST AWARDS

Awards for high school publications that were published during the 2016-2017 school year.

Submitted publications are judged and given Superior, Excellent, and Honorable Mention ratings. Each school receiving Superior honors received a plaque. The Superior award winning publications in the various classifications are as follows:

ICHIDALALISTIC DUCTOCDADUV

VEADDOOK

YEARBOOK		JOURNALISTIC PHOTOGRAPHY		
Class AA		Non-School Activity	Gracie Nelson	Dakota Valley
Yankton	Jill Mikkelsen, Advisor	Non-School Activity	Ryan Parker	Dakota Valley
		Non-School Activity	Eve Millar	Redfield
Class A		School Activity	Brooke Harder	Dakota Valley
Britton-Hecla	Stephanie Symens, Advisor	School Activity	Abbie Lambert	Mitchell
Britton riceia		School Activity	Masey Lambert	Mitchell
Class D	Kristin Janisch, Advisor	School Activity	Carter Wegner	Redfield
Class B		School Activity	Hailey Wacholz	Redfield
Clark		School Activity	Kesha Arthurs	Redfield
		Sports	Brooke Harder	Dakota Valley
		Sports	Casey Power	Dakota Valley
NEWSPAPER		Sports	Sylvia Larson	Garretson
Class AA		Sports	Abbie Lambert	Mitchell
Class AA SF O'Gorman	Jason VanEngenman, Advisor	Sports	Masey Lambert	Mitchell
		Sports	Alexis Esser	Redfield
Class A		Sports	Sydney Smith	Redfield
	lli Stephanie Litzen, Advisor	Sports	Eve Millar	Redfield
Aberdeen Koncam	i Stephanie Litzen, Auvisoi	Sports	Baylie Embry	Sioux Falls Lincoln
		Sports	Karlie Soyland	Sioux Falls Lincoln
Contest awards continued on next			ntinued on next page	

#### **NEWSWRITING**

Editorial	Aidan Vick	Dakota Valley	Feature Story	Hanna Komraus	Redfield
Editorial	Sophie Leopold	Dakota Valley	Feature Story	Julia Breukelman	Sioux Falls Lincoln
Editorial	Peyton Sage	Garretson	Feature Story	Megan Landon	Sioux Falls Lincoln
Editorial	McKenna Dillabaugh	Gettysburg	General News	Sophie Leopold	Dakota Valley
Editorial	Sierra Wieseler	Gettysburg	General News	Abigail Steill	Dakota Valley
Editorial	Lexus Orozco	Rapid City Central	General News	Peyton Sage	Garretson
Editorial	Matthew Vidal	Rapid City Central	General News	Samantha Gonzalez	Garretson
Editorial	Olivia Rooker	Rapid City Stevens	General News	Maren Smith	Mitchell
Editorial	Hailey Wacholz	Redfield	General News	Abbie Lambert	Mitchell
Editorial	Trista Frost	Redfield	General News	Brooklyn DeVries	Rapid City Central
Editorial	Glory Yount	Sioux Falls Lincoln	General News	Charles Perry	Rapid City Central
Editorial	Summer Ericson	Sioux Falls Lincoln	General News	Olivia Rooker	Rapid City Stevens
Editorial	Lizette Wright	Sioux Falls Lincoln	General News	Trista Frost	Redfield
Feature Story	Ross Leopold	Dakota Valley	General News	Olivia Shantz	Redfield
Feature Story	Emily Malsom	Garretson	General News	Chris Shine	Redfield
Feature Story	McKenna Dillabaugh	Gettysburg	General News	Lucy Dekkenga	Sioux Falls Lincoln
Feature Story	Sierra Wieseler	Gettysburg	General News	Gage Gramlick	Sioux Falls Lincoln
Feature Story	Rachel Belau	Mitchell	Sports	Dillon Adams	Mitchell
Feature Story	Brooklyn DeVries/Matthew Vidal	Rapid City Central	Sports	Carter Wegner	Redfield
Feature Story	Alexis Esser	Redfield	Sports	Sydney Rosinsky	Sioux Falls Lincoln

## FOUNDER'S AWARD

Each year, during the Annual High School Press Convention, the Founder's Award is presented to an individual in recognition of outstanding service to high school journalism education through the teaching of the principles of good journalism in South Dakota. The recipient of the award is selected by the Journalism Advisory Committee of the South Dakota High School Activities Association.

# FORMER FOUNDER'S AWARD RECIPIENTS

1961 Dorothy Hanson 1962 E. L. Kaufman 1963 Dorothy Fosness 1964 Maxine Wiseman 1965 Nellie Moe 1966 Bernice Speh 1967 John Aldrich 1968 Iva C. Rames 1969 Ruth Morgan 1970 Russell Johnson 1971 Helen Morganti 1972 Merlin Hiaring 1973 Vincent Penning 1974 Elsie Haddock 1975 Lorraine Norman 1976 Bernice Schultz 1977 Mavis Haverly 1978 Hal Coleman 1979 Darell Pribyl 1980 Dorothea Edgington	1981 Kenneth Saeger 1982 Mary Jewel Ledbetter 1983 Jean Fylling 1984 David McFarland 1985 D.J. Cline 1986 Richard Anderson 1987 Carol Stobbs 1988 Janelle Klapperich & Ralph Wilkinson 1989 Margie Peters 1990 Eugene Borland 1991 Terry Peterson 1992 Jeanette Lusk 1993 Deb Merxbauer 1994 Rebecca Stapert 1995 Dr. Richard Lee 1996 Deb Rothenberger 1997 Julie George 1998 Becky Ekeland 1999 Judy Hamaker	2000 Lois Wells 2001 Carol Gaikowski 2002 Elizabeth Vogt 2003 Ken Steinken 2004 Jan Johnson 2005 Richard Anderson 2006 Ann Lundquist 2007 Sandy Gant 2008 David Bordewyk 2009 Robert Trewatha 2010 Kenneth Pickering 2011 Jerry Jorgensen 2012 Doris Giago, Lillian Hellickson, Gary Lundgren & Mary Perpich 2013 Mary Tranberg 2014 None Awarded 2015 Deb Rothenberger 2016 None Awarded
--	--	---