DEBATE AND INDIVIDUAL EVENTS

Schools participating in the Debate and Individual Events program are divided into two classes. Class "AA" represents the SDHSAA member schools with an A.D.M. enrollment of 450 and above while Class "A" involves all other schools. Any member school wishing to participate can directly enter the State Tournament in any of the debate or individual events without the necessity of participating in a regional tournament.

The 2017 State Tournament crowned the 103rd State Policy Debate Champions for South Dakota. The Tournament also marked the 91st year for Extemporaneous speaking competition, the 83rd year of competition in Original Oratory, the 37th year of Lincoln-Douglas Debate competition and 15th year of Public Forum Debate Competition.

STATE DEBATE & INDIVIDUAL EVENTS TOURNAMENT RESULTS Mitchell High School March 3-4, 2017

STATE TOURNAMENT SWEEPSTAKES TEAM CHAMPIONS

(Based upon the total accumulated points earned by a school in each of the individual events and each of the debate divisions.)

CLASS "AA"	Champion Team	-	Aberdeen Central (355 Points) Kerry Konda, Coach
	Runner-Up Team	-	Watertown (259 Points) Scott Walker, Coach
	Third Place Team	-	Sioux Falls Washington (243 Points) Travis Dahle, Coach
CLASS "A"	Champion Team	-	Spearfish (293 Points) Bob Speirs, Coach
	Runner-Up Team	-	Lennox (220 Points) Mike Larson, Coach
	Third Place Team	-	Milbank (145 Points) Caitlyn Oien, Coach



State Class "AA" Sweepstakes Team Champions Aberdeen High School (Courtesy of SDPB)



State Class "A" Sweepstakes Team Champions Spearfish High School (Courtesy of SDPB)

STATE "AA" INDIVIDUAL EVENTS CONTESTS RESULTS



Class "AA" State Original Oratory Champion Hamza Jamal, Aberdeen Central Coach: Aberdeen Central *(Courtesy of SDPB)*



Class "AA" State U.S. Extemp Champion Alexander King, SF O'Gorman Coach: Bob Stevens (Courtesy of SDPB)



Class "AA" State International Extemp Champion Matt Cooke, Aberdeen Central Coach: Kerry Konda (Courtesy of SDPB)

ORIGINAL ORATORY

CLASS "AA"	Champion	-	Hamza Jamal, Aberdeen Central Coach: Kerry Konda
	Runner-up	-	Raina Grimsley, Mitchell
			Coach: Melanie Jacobson
	3rd place	-	Grace Douglas, Aberdeen Central
			Coach: Kerry Konda
	Finalists	-	Kashfia Rahman, Brookings
			Ruhama Tereda, SF Washington
			Brian Gutierrez, SF Roosevelt

UNITED STATES EXTEMPORANEOUS SPEAKING

CLASS "AA"	Champion	-	Alexander King, SF O'Gorman
	Runner-up	-	Coach: Bob Stevens Isabella Osorio, SF Washington
			Coach: Travis Dahle
	3rd place	-	John Prosper, Aberdeen Central
			Coach: Kerry Konda
	Finalists	-	Maggie Fouberg, Aberdeen Central
			Madison Hetland, Mitchell
			Hayden Cole, Harrisburg

INTERNATIONAL EXTEMPORANEOUS SPEAKING

CLASS "AA"	Champion	-	Matt Cooke, Aberdeen Central
			Coach: Kerry Konda
	Runner-up	-	Matthew Beynon, Mitchell
			Coach: Melanie Jacobson
	3rd place	-	Emmett Simmons, SF Washington
	-		Coach: Travis Dahle
	Finalists	-	Michael Linngren, Watertown
			Hunter Ringgenberg, Aberdeen Central
			Benjamin Menke, Harrisburg

STATE "A" INDIVIDUAL EVENTS CONTESTS RESULTS



Class "A" State Original Oratory Champion Griffin Smith, Spearfish Coach: Bob Speirs (Courtesy of SDPB)

CLASS "A"



Class "A" State U.S. Extemp Champion Nathan Waltjer, Lennox Coach: Mike Larson (Courtesy of SDPB)



Class "A" State International Extemp Champion Maxwell Bultena, Lennox Coach: Mike Larson (Courtesy of SDPB)

ORIGINAL ORATORY

CLASS "A"	Champion	-	Griffin Smith, Spearfish
	Dunnon un		Coach: Bob Speirs Keri Pappas, Groton Area
	Runner-up	-	Coach: Kristen Gonsoir
	3rd place	-	Jacksyn Bakeberg, Spearfish
			Coach: Bob Speirs
	Finalists	-	Jaelyn Morehead, Tea Area
			Sarah Logan, Lennox
			Amber Kelly, Tea Area

UNITED STATES EXTEMPORANEOUS SPEAKING

-	Nathan Waltjer, Lennox
	Coach: Mike Larson
-	Jacob Schlinkert, Spearfish
	Coach: Bob Speirs
-	Morgan Roberts, Spearfish
	Coach: Bob Speirs
-	Connor Lightfield, Milbank
	Keri Pappas, Groton Area
	Nathan Loutsch, Milbank
	-

INTERNATIONAL EXTEMPORANEOUS SPEAKING

CLASS "A"	Champion	-	Maxwell Bultena, Lennox
	Runner-up	-	Coach: Mike Larson Carli Johnke, Beresford
	•		Coach: Thomas Merriman
	3rd place	-	Taylor Hersch, Spearfish
			Coach: Bob Speirs
	Finalists	-	Logan Smith, Spearfish
			Faith Weiland, Beresford
			Jaelyn Morehead, Tea Area

STATE CLASS "AA" LINCOLN-DOUGLAS DEBATE RESULTS

Champion: Isabella Osoria, SF Washington Runner-up: Leah Waid, Yankton Semi-Finals: Matt Cooke, Aberdeen Central Dhwani Kharel, Brookings Quarter-Finals: Sophie Holtz, SF O'Gorman Amy Pham, SF Roosevelt Nathaniel Pekas, SF O'Gorman Rebecca Roy, Watertown



Isabella Osoria SF Washington (Courtesy of SDPB)

STATE CLASS "A" LINCOLN-DOUGLAS DEBATE RESULTS



Coach Caitlyn Oien, Connor Lightfield, Milbank (Courtesy of SDPB)

Champion:

Connor Lightfield, Milbank **Runner-up:** Jaelyn Morehead, Tea **Semi-Finals:** Maxwell Bultena, Lennox Claire Mischel, Milbank **Quarter-Finals:** Nathan Waltjer, Lennox Tanner Hanson, Spearfish

STATE CLASS "AA" PUBLIC FORUM DEBATE RESULTS

Champion Team: Watertown: Michael Linngren Brandon Maag **Runner-up Team:** SF O'Gorman: Alexander King Samuel Diedrich **Semi-Finals Teams:** Aberdeen Central: Sophie Wieland Maggie Fouberg Harrisburg: Marisa Morris Claire Tufty **Quarter-Final Teams**: Aberdeen Central: Muldoon—Geffree Rapid City Central: Grundstrom—Dam Watertown: Mitchell-Vlasman Mitchell: Grimsley-Patrick



Michael Linngren, Coach Scott Walker, Brandon Maag Watertown (Courtesy of SDPB)

STATE CLASS "A" PUBLIC FORUM DEBATE RESULTS



Kassidy Van Surksum, Coach Bob Stevens, Logan Dean Aukes Sioux Falls Christian (Courtesy of SDPB)

Champion Team: SF Christian: Kassidy Van Surksum Logan Dean Aukes **Runner-up Team:** Spearfish: **Connor Blair Speirs** Hannah Neumiller Semi-Final Team: Sioux Falls Christian: Lauren Lavin Elise Ackerman Spearfish: Gretchen Blain Tessa Sleep **Quarter-Final Teams:** Groton Area: Pappas—Pappas Madison: Buskness-Shan Lennox: Meyer-Metivier Madison: Knuths-Bloom

STATE POLICY DEBATE RESULTS

Champion Team: SF Roosevelt: Gabe Josko Shikhar Kumar Runner Up Team: Aberdeen Central: Hamza Jamal John Prosper Semi-Finals: Aberdeen Central: Lucas Fredrick Tallon Everson SF Roosevelt: Caroline Moriarty Carla Graciano

Quarter-Finalist Teams:

Watertown: Carlson—Walker Yankton: Marlow—Bray Washington: Decker—Curry Washington: Schumacher—Rosenberg



State Policy Debate Champions: Sioux Falls Roosevelt Shikhar Kumar, Coach Luke Cumbee, Gabe Josko (Courtesy of SDPB)