JOURNALISM

2016 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION

South Dakota State University, Brookings April 13, 2016

The 2016 High School Press Convention was held on the SDSU campus in Brookings on April 13th. Nearly 200 high school journalists, and 24 advisors from 20 schools attended the convention.

The keynote speaker for the convention was Mr. J.J. Perry, Editor of the Aberdeen American News. Students and advisors also attended sessions presented by students from the SDSU Journalism and Mass Communication Department. Workshops included newswriting, journalistic photography, and an "On-The-Spot" contest. Advisors were able to meet during the convention to discuss questions and concerns relating to high school journalism as well.

The Convention concluded with the awards presentation in the afternoon. The awards are listed below.

2015-2016 ALL-STATE ANNUAL PUBLICATIONS CONTEST AWARDS

Awards for high school publications that were published during the 2015-2016 school year.

Submitted publications are judged and given Superior, Excellent, and Honorable Mention ratings. Each school receiving Superior honors received a plaque. The Superior award winning publications in the various classifications are as follows:

	YEARBOOK		NEWSWRITING	
Class AA		Editorial	Alison Simon	Gettysburg
Brookings	Kathy Gross, Advisor	Editorial	Austin Lammers	Rapid City Central
Mitchell	Gretchen Smith, Advisor	Editorial	Camerson Decker	Gettysburg
Yankton	Jill Mikkelsen, Advisor	Editorial	Megan Schrempp	Gettysburg
~		Editorial	Paige Cordell	Gettysburg
Class A		Editorial	Peyton Groft	Northwestern
Britton-Hecla	Stephanie Symens, Advisor	Editorial	Sydnee Conroy	Rapid City Central
Hamlin	Abigail Schultz, Advisor	Editorial	Sylvia Larson	Garretson
Redfield	Kaylyn Frost, Advisor	General News	Cameron Decker	Gettysburg
		General News	Destiny Pinder-Buckley	Mitchell
Roncalli	Stephanie Litzen, Advisor	General News	Erin Daugherty	Sioux Falls Lincoln
Class B		General News	Masey Lambert	Mitchell
		General News	Megan Schrempp	Gettysburg
Menno	Cindy Heckenlaible	General News	Paige Cordell	Gettysburg
Northwestern	Nora Groft	General News	Swetha Saravanan	Sioux Falls Lincoln
		General News	Sydney Sweeter	Sioux Falls Lincoln
	NEWSPAPER	Sports	Alex Uhl	Garretson
Class AA		Sports	Austin Lammers	Rapid City Central
Mitchell	Brooke DeJong, Advisor	Sports	Isaac Groft	Northwestern
S.F. Lincoln	Katie Kroeze, Advisor	Sports	Sam Helleloid	Mitchell
S.F. O'Gorman	Jason VanEngenman, Advisor			
Class B				
Northwestern	Nora Groft, Advisor			
			Contact awards continued on	nevt noge

JOURNALISTIC PHOTOGRAPHY

Non-School Activity	Abbigail Patton	Mitchell
Non-School Activity	Destiny Pinder-Buckley	Mitchell
Non-School Activity	Hannah Juracek	Gregory
Non-School Activity	Kelsie Mastel	Mitchell
Non-School Activity	Masey Lambert	Mitchell
School Activity	Destiny Pinder-Buckley	Mitchell
School Activity	Kelsie Mastel	Mitchell
School Activity	Manny Valadez	Yankton
School Activity	Nicole Koertner	Dakota Valley
School Activity	Reggie Van Driel	Mitchell
Sports	Brooke Harder	Dakota Valley
Sports	Destiny Pinder-Buckley	Mitchell
Sports	Jacey Feyereisen	Gregory
Sports	Jocelyn McCormick	Mitchell
Sports	John Stirling	Sioux Valley
Sports	Katie Giesler	Garretson
Sports	Nicole Koertner	Dakota Valley
		•

FOUNDER'S AWARD

Each year, during the Annual High School Press Convention, the Founder's award is presented to an individual in recognition of outstanding service to high school journalism education through the teaching of the principles of good journalism in South Dakota. The recipient of the award is selected by the Journalism Advisory Committee of the South Dakota High School Activities Association.

FORMER FOUNDER'S AWARD RECIPIENTS

1961 Dorothy Hanson	1981 Kenneth Saeger	2000 Lois Wells
1962 E. L. Kaufman	1982 Mary Jewel Ledbetter	2001 Carol Gaikowski
1963 Dorothy Fosness	1983 Jean Fylling	2002 Elizabeth Vogt
1964 Maxine Wiseman	1984 David McFarland	2003 Ken Steinken
1965 Nellie Moe	1985 D.J. Cline	2004 Jan Johnson
1966 Bernice Speh	1986 Richard Anderson	2005 Richard Anderson
1967 John Aldrich	1987 Carol Stobbs	2006 Ann Lundquist
1968 Iva C. Rames	1988 Janelle Klapperich &	2007 Sandy Gant
1969 Ruth Morgan	Ralph Wilkinson	2008 David Bordewyk
1970 Russell Johnson	1989 Margie Peters	2009 Robert Trewatha
1971 Helen Morganti	1990 Eugene Borland	2010 Kenneth Pickering
1972 Merlin Hiaring	1991 Terry Peterson	2011 Jerry Jorgensen
1973 Vincent Penning	1992 Jeanette Lusk	2012 Doris Giago, Lillian Hellickson,
1974 Elsie Haddock	1993 Deb Merxbauer	Gary Lundgren & Mary Perpich
1975 Lorraine Norman	1994 Rebecca Stapert	2013 Mary Tranberg
1976 Bernice Schultz	1995 Dr. Richard Lee	2014 None Awarded
1977 Mavis Haverly	1996 Deb Rothenberger	2015 Deb Rothenberger
1978 Hal Coleman	1997 Julie George	2016 None Awarded
1979 Darell Pribyl	1998 Becky Ekeland	
1980 Dorothea Edgington	1999 Judy Hamaker	