# **JOURNALISM**

## 2014 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION

# South Dakota State University, Brookings

April 1, 2014

The 2015 High School Press Convention was held on the SDSU campus in Brookings on April 1st. Nearly 200 high school journalists, and 20 advisors from 17 schools attended the convention.

The keynote speaker for the convention was Mr. Larry Rohrer, Content Director for South Dakota Public Broadcasting. Students and advisors also attended sessions presented by students from the SDSU Journalism and Mass Communication Department. Workshops included newspaper and yearbook design, newswriting, and photography. Advisors were able to meet during the convention to discuss questions and concerns relating to high school journalism as well.

The Convention concluded with the awards presentation in the afternoon. The awards are listed below.

## 2014-2015 ALL-STATE ANNUAL PUBLICATIONS CONTEST AWARDS Awards for high school publications that were published during the 2014-2015 school year.

**NEWSPAPERS** 

Submitted publications are judged and given Superior, Excellent, and Honorable Mention ratings. Each school receiving Superior honors received a plaque. The Superior award winning publications in the various classifications are as follows:

	IEARDOORS				
Class AA	Debra Rothenberger, Advisor Kathy Gross, Advisor Deb Everson, Advisor	Brandon Valley		Debra Rothenberger, Advisor	
Brandon Valley Brookings		Mitchell		Brooke DeJong, Advisor	
Mitchell		Sioux Falls Lincoln		Katie Kroeze, Advisor	
Pierre T.F. Riggs Watertown Yankton	Charis Blanchette, Advisor Shanon Manley, Advisor Jill Mikkelsen, Advisor	Sioux Falls O'C	Gorman J	Jason Van Engen, Advisor	
Class A			NEWSWRITING		
	Stephanie Litzen, Advisor	Editorial	Becca G	oth	Brandon Valley
Britton-Hecla	Stephanie Symens, Advisor	Editorial	Jacob Bo	oomsma	Brandon Valley
Dakota Valley	Anna Michaelson, Advisor	Editorial	Sylvia L	arson	Garretson
Deubrook Area	Mary Trewatha, Kat McVey, Advisors Abigail Schultz, Advisor Kaylin Frost, Advisor	Editorial	Zebadiah Johnson		Garretson
Hamlin Redfield		Editorial	Leslie Alarcon		Yankton
Vermillion	Cindy Heckenlaible, Advisor	General News	Becca Goth		Brandon Valley
		General News	Brandon Valley		Kristen Paulsen
<b>Class B</b> Clark	Tammy Sprouse, Melissa Nesheim Margie Peters, Advisor Nora Groft, Advisor	General News	Garretson		Sylvia Larson
Jones County		General News	SF Lincoln		Allison Metzger
Northwestern Area		General News	SF Lincoln		Sara Jane Teal
		General News	Mitchell		Destiny Pinder-Buckley

### PHOTOGRAPHY

**VEARBOOKS** 

Non-School Activity	Haley Hoeke	Brandon Valley		
School Activity	Jessica Andreasen	Brandon Valley		
School Activity	Destiny Pinder-Buckley	Mitchell		
Sports	Umaima Koch	Brandon Valley		
Sports	Brock Brown	Hamlin 5		

General News

General News

Sports

Sports

Yankton

Yankton

Mitchell

Brandon Valley

Johanna Lippert

Madison Dangler

Umaima Koch

Tatum Dean

## FOUNDER'S AWARD

Each year, during the Annual High School Press Convention, the Founder's award is presented to an individual in recognition of outstanding service to high school journalism education through the teaching of the principles of good journalism in South Dakota. The recipient of the award is selected by the Journalism Advisory Committee of the South Dakota High School Activities Association.

#### The 2015 Founder's Award was presented to Deb Rothenberger, Brandon Valley Journalism Advisor, after 36 years of working with student journalists.

### FORMER FOUNDER'S AWARD RECIPIENTS

1961 Dorothy Hanson 1962 E. L. Kaufman 1963 Dorothy Fosness 1964 Maxine Wiseman 1965 Nellie Moe 1966 Bernice Speh 1967 John Aldrich 1968 Iva C. Rames 1969 Ruth Morgan 1970 Russell Johnson 1971 Helen Morganti 1972 Merlin Hiaring 1973 Vincent Penning 1974 Elsie Haddock 1975 Lorraine Norman 1976 Bernice Schultz 1977 Mavis Haverly 1978 Hal Coleman 1979 Darell Pribyl

1980 Dorothea Edgington 1981 Kenneth Saeger 1982 Mary Jewel Ledbetter 1983 Jean Fylling 1984 David McFarland 1985 D.J. Cline 1986 Richard Anderson 1987 Carol Stobbs 1988 Janelle Klapperich & Ralph Wilkinson 1989 Margie Peters 1990 Eugene Borland 1991 Terry Peterson 1992 Jeanette Lusk 1993 Deb Merxbauer 1994 Rebecca Stapert 1995 Dr. Richard Lee 1996 Deb Rothenberger 1997 Julie George

1998 Becky Ekeland 1999 Judy Hamaker 2000 Lois Wells 2001 Carol Gaikowski 2002 Elizabeth Vogt 2003 Ken Steinken 2004 Jan Johnson 2005 Richard Anderson 2006 Ann Lundquist 2007 Sandy Gant 2008 David Bordewyk 2009 Robert Trewatha 2010 Kenneth Pickering 2011 Jerry Jorgensen 2012 Doris Giago, Lillian Hellickson, Gary Lundgren & Mary Perpich 2013 Mary Tranberg 2014 Not given 2015 Deb Rothenberger