# **JOURNALISM**

# 2013 HIGH SCHOOL PRESS CONVENTION

South Dakota State University, Brookings April 30, 2013

The 2013 High School Press Convention was held on the SDSU campus in Brookings on April 30th. Nearly 200 high school journalists, and 23 advisors from 19 schools attended the convention.

The keynote speaker for the convention was Mr. Kevin Slimp, Journalist and Columnist from Knoxville, TN. Students and advisors also attended sessions presented by students from the SDSU Journalism and Mass Communication Department. Workshops included newspaper and yearbook design, writing, and photography. Advisors were able to meet during the convention to discuss questions and concerns relating to high school journalism as well.

The Convention concluded with the awards presentation in the afternoon. The awards are listed below.

# **2013-2014 ALL-STATE ANNUAL PUBLICATIONS CONTEST AWARDS** Awards for high school publications that were published during the 2013-2014 school year.

Submitted publications are judged and given All-State, First Class, Second Class or Third Class ratings. Each school receiving All-State honors received a plaque. The All-State award winning publications in the various classifications are as follows:

#### A. ALL-STATE YEARBOOKS

# Class 1 (Enrollment: 425 & above)

Brandon Valley Debra Rothenberger, Advisor

Brookings Kathy Gross, Advisor Lincoln Julie Fettes, Advisor

Deb Everson, Advisor

Tiffany Roderick & Charis
Pierre TF Riggs Blachette, Advisors

Washington Alison Halgerson, Advisor
Watertown Shanon Manley, Advisor
Yankton Jill Mikkelsen, Advisor

Class 2 (Enrollment 140 to 425)

Vermillion Cindy Heckenlaible, Advisor

Class 3 (Enrollment 75 to 140)

Deubrook Mary Trewatha & Kat McVey, Advisors

Northwestern Nora Groft, Advisor

Class 4 (Enrollment: 45 to 75)

None

Mitchell

Class 5 (Enrollment: under 45)

Jones County Margie Peters, Advisor

#### **B. ALL-STATE NEWSPAPERS**

# Class 1 (Offset, Enrollment: 300 & above)

Brandon Valley - ECHO

Debra Rothenberger, Advisor

Mitchell—THE KERNEL

Brooke Pejsa, Advisor

O'Gorman—KNIGHT SCROLL

Jason VanEngen, Advisor

Watertown—PURPLE AND GOLD

Shanon Maley, Advisor

Class 2 (Offset, Enrollment: 175-300)

None

Class 3 (Offset, Enrollment: under 175)

Aberdeen Roncalli—CABALCADE

Stephanie Litzen, Advisor

Northwestern—THE SCRATCHIN' POST

Nora Groft, Advisor

Class 4 & Class 5

None

### C. ALL-STATE LITERARY PUBLICATIONS

Yankton— CELLAR DOOR Sandy Hoffner, Advisor

## FOUNDER'S AWARD

Each year, during the Annual High School Press Convention, the Founder's award is presented to an individual in recognition of outstanding service to high school journalism education through the teaching of the principles of good journalism in South Dakota. The recipient of the award is selected by the Journalism Advisory Committee of the South Dakota High School Activities Association.

The 2013 Founder's Award was presented to Mary Tranberg, retired Sioux Falls Lincoln Yearbook Advisor, after 28 years of working with student journalists.

# FORMER FOUNDER'S AWARD RECIPIENTS

1961 Dorothy Hanson	1980 Dorothea Edgington	1998 Becky Ekeland
1962 E. L. Kaufman	1981 Kenneth Saeger	1999 Judy Hamaker
1963 Dorothy Fosness	1982 Mary Jewel Ledbetter	2000 Lois Wells
1964 Maxine Wiseman	1983 Jean Fylling	2001 Carol Gaikowski
1965 Nellie Moe	1984 David McFarland	2002 Elizabeth Vogt
1966 Bernice Speh	1985 D.J. Cline	2003 Ken Steinken
1967 John Aldrich	1986 Richard Anderson	2004 Jan Johnson
1968 Iva C. Rames	1987 Carol Stobbs	2005 Richard Anderson
1969 Ruth Morgan	1988 Janelle Klapperich &	2006 Ann Lundquist
1970 Russell Johnson	Ralph Wilkinson	2007 Sandy Gant
1971 Helen Morganti	1989 Margie Peters	2008 David Bordewyk
1972 Merlin Hiaring	1990 Eugene Borland	2009 Robert Trewatha
1973 Vincent Penning	1991 Terry Peterson	2010 Kenneth Pickering
1974 Elsie Haddock	1992 Jeanette Lusk	2011 Jerry Jorgensen
1975 Lorraine Norman	1993 Deb Merxbauer	2012 Doris Giago, Lillian Hellickson,
1976 Bernice Schultz	1994 Rebecca Stapert	Gary Lundgren & Mary Perpich
1977 Mavis Haverly	1995 Dr. Richard Lee	2013 Mary Tranberg
1978 Hal Coleman	1996 Deb Rothenberger	

1997 Julie George

1979 Darell Pribyl