STUDENT COUNCIL

SDHSAA REGIONAL STUDENT COUNCIL LEADERSHIP WORKSHOPS & SDSCA MEETINGS

The 2007-08 SDHSAA Regional Student Council Workshops were scheduled in eight sites during October 2007.

The Workshops were designed to give students and advisors instruction in leadership techniques. The 2007-08 Workshops were organized around the theme "Just For The Health Of It". The Workshops also provided an opportunity for students to meet other student leaders from area schools to exchange leadership ideas and share information about student council operation and projects. The schedule for each Workshop also included time to up-date the schools about region activities in the South Dakota Student Council Association (SDSCA) Region in which the workshop was held.

2007-08 REGIONAL STUDENT COUNCIL WORKSHOPS

Capitol Region Workshop (Pierre) October 18, 2007 # of Students - 121 # of Advisors - 9 # of Schools Represented - 7 Schools Included – Jones County, Kadoka, Lyman, Pierre T.F. Riggs, Stanley County, White River, Winner

Gavins Point Region Workshop (Lennox)

October 10, 2007 # of Students - 107 # of Advisors - 7 # of Schools Represented - 7 Schools Included – Beresford, Canton, Dakota Valley, Irene-Wakonda, Lennox, Vermillion, Yankton

James River Region Workshop (Mitchell)

October 30, 2008 # of Students - 118 # of Advisors - 9 # of Schools Represented - 9 Schools Included – Bon Homme, Ethan, Huron, Kimball, McCook Central, Menno, Mitchell, Plankinton, Wagner

Lakes Region Workshop (Brookings)

October 3, 2007 # of Students - 81 # of Advisors - 7 # of Schools Represented - 5 Schools Included - Brookings, Deuel, Estelline, Milbank, Watertown

Northern Hills Region Workshop (Webster) October 16, 2007 # of Students - 128 # of Advisors - 10 # of Schools Represented - 9 Schools Included – Aberdeen Central, Britton-Hecla, Conde, Groton Area, Hamlin, Langford, Roslyn, Sisseton, Webster

Rushmore Region Workshop (Sturgis) October 25, 2007 # of Students - 118 # of Advisors - 10 # of Schools Represented - 10 Schools Included – Custer, Douglas, Edgemont, Hill City, Lead-Deadwood, Philip, Pine Ridge, Rapid City Central, Rapid City Stevens, Sturgis

Spirit Falls Region Workshop (Sioux Falls)

October 22, 2007 # of Students - 155 # of Advisors - 10 # of Schools Represented – 9 Schools Included – Harrisburg, Madison, Sioux Falls Christian, Sioux Falls Lincoln, Sioux Falls O'Gorman, Sioux Falls Roosevelt, Sioux Falls Washington, Tea Area, Tri-Valley

Upper Missouri Region Workshop (Mobridge)

October 17, 2007 # of Students - 96 # of Advisors - 12 # of Schools Represented - 11 Schools Included – Bowdle, Faith, Gettysburg, Herreid, Hoven, Lemmon, Leola, McLaughlin, Mobridge, Sully Buttes, Timber Lake

OUTSTANDING STUDENT COUNCIL RECOGNITION AWARDS

The SDHSAA "Outstanding Student Council Recognition Program" was created during the 1990-91 school year as a means of recognizing those student councils that meet the program's specified criteria. Those schools receiving the "Outstanding Student Council" designation have met standards of having well rounded programs that benefit their school, their community and the state. The "Outstanding" program consists of a self-evaluation of the activities and involvement by each participating student council. The 2007-08 school year was the seventeenth year of providing recognition to those student councils deemed to be "Outstanding" in the State.

2007-08 OUTSTANDING STUDENT COUNCILS

Aberdeen Central High School Advisor: Kevin Rook

Britton-Hecla High School Advisor: Marcia Forrester

Conde High School Advisor: Tina Klapperrich

Custer High School Advisor: Lisa Pingrey

Dell Rapids St. Mary High School Advisor: Tom Jastram

Estelline High School Advisor: Julie Rieckman

Faith High School Advisor: Nancy Reimer

Harrisburg High School Advisor: Renee Rebnord

Herreid High School Advisors: Janelle Rossow

Hurley High School Advisor: Seth Walter

Lead-Deadwood High School Advisor: Gary Linn Lemmon High School Advisor: Linda O'Donnell

Lennox High School, Presho Advisor: Mary Stack

Lyman High School Advisor: Tom Authier

McCook Central High School Advisor: Tracy Chase

Mitchell High School Advisor: Judy Thiesse

Philip Hihg School Advisor: Pam DeJong

Pierre Riggs High School Advisors: Darlene Neiles & Jay Mickelson

Sully Buttes High School, Onida Advisor: Wanda Meyer

Wagner High School Advisor: Laurel Valentine

Yankton High School Advisor: Paul Harens

OUSTANDING STUDENT COUNCILS: 1991 – PRESENT

The following is a listing of the schools that have received the "Outstanding Student Council" Award and the years the school received the award.

- Aberdeen Central 2000, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 Belle Fourche - 1994 Britton-Hecla - 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008 Brookings - 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 Conde - 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007.2008 Corsica - 1991, 1992, 1993 Custer - 1994, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 Dakota Valley - 2006 Dell Rapids St. Mary - 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 Edgemont - 1991, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 Estelline - 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 Faith - 2008
- Harrisburg 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 Herreid - 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 Hurley - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 Huron - 1993, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 Jones County - 1997, 2000, 2002 Lead-Deadwood - 1993, 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008 Lemmon - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 Lennox - 2007, 2008 Lyman - 1991, 1993, 1995, 1996, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008

Madison - 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007
McCook Central - 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008
Mitchell - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
Philip – 1995, 2001, 2005, 2008
Pierre – 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
Rapid City Central - 1991, 1998, 1999 Rapid City Stevens - 1996 Rosholt - 1991 Sturgis – 1994, 2001 Sully Buttes – 1993, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 Tri-Valley - 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002 Vermillion – 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 Wagner – 2006, 2007, 2008 Watertown - 1995, 1997, 1998 Yankton – 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008

"SOUTH DAKOTA WARREN E. SHULL STUDENT COUNCIL ADVISOR OF THE YEAR"

The "Warren E. Shull Student Council Advisor Of The Year Award" is named after Warren E. Shull, who founded the National Association of Student Councils (NASC) while he was a high school student council president. NASC is the nation's only national organization providing leadership development training for high school and middle level students and activity advisors.

The following is the honor roll of South Dakota Warren E. Shull Advisors of the Year:

1988-89 - Ivan Dixon, Lyman
1989-90 - Marcia West, Philip
1990-91 - Doug Hoisington, Bon Homme
1991-92 - Sherry Ellwanger, Edgemont
1992-93 - Karen Odenbach, Lemmon
1993-94 - Gene Brownell, Aberdeen Central
1994-95 - Bette Gerberding, Brookings
1995-96 - None Awarded
1996-97 - Lorretta Trenerry, Hurley
1997-98 - Marta Hoffman, Tri-Valley

1998-88 - Renee Rebnord, Harrisburg 1999-00 - Gary Linn, Lead-Deadwood 2000-01 – Susan Lee, Sioux Falls Washington 2001-02 – Marcia West, Philip 2002-03 – Tom Authier, Lyman 2003-04 – Marcia Forrester, Britton-Hecla 2004-05 – Judy Thiesse, Mitchell 2005-06 – Carol Gaikowski, Roslyn 2006-07 – Chad Schiernbeck, Deuel 2007-08 - Barb Goodfellow, Brookings