#### STUDENT COUNCIL

# SDHSAA REGIONAL STUDENT COUNCIL LEADERSHIP WORKSHOPS & SDSCA MEETINGS

The 2006-07 SDHSAA Regional Student Council Workshops were scheduled in eight sites during September & October 2006.

The Workshops were designed to give students and advisors instruction in leadership techniques. The 2006-07 Workshops were organized around the theme "Take Me To Your Leader". The Workshops also provided an opportunity for students to meet other student leaders from area schools to exchange leadership ideas and share information about student council operation and projects. The schedule for each Workshop also included a Region Meeting for the South Dakota Student Council Association (SDSCA) Region in which the workshop was held.

#### 2006-07 REGIONAL STUDENT COUNCIL WORKSHOPS

## Capitol Region Workshop (Pierre)

October 19, 2006 # of Students - 104 # of Advisors - 7

# of Schools Represented - 7
Schools Included – Jones County, Kadoka, Lyman,
Pierre T.F. Riggs, Pierre Middle School, Stanley
County, Winner

### Gavins Point Region Workshop (Lennox)

October 11, 2006 # of Students - 112 # of Advisors - 9 # of Schools Represented - 9

Schools Included – Beresford, Dakota Valley, Hurley, Irene, Lennox, Marion, Vermillion, Viborg, Yankton

#### James River Region Workshop (Mitchell)

September 21, 2006

# of Students - 92 # of Advisors - 7

# of Schools Represented - 8

Schools Included – Bon Homme, Ethan, Huron,
Kimball, McCook Central, Menno, Mitchell, Wagner

#### Lakes Region Workshop (Milbank)

October 4, 2006

# of Students - 127 # of Advisors - 7

# of Schools Represented - 7

Schools Included - Brookings, Deuel, Estelline,
Grant-Deuel, Milbank, Watertown, Waverly

#### Northern Hills Region Workshop (Webster)

October 16, 2006

# of Students - 111 # of Advisors - 10 # of Schools Represented - 9 Schools Included – Aberdeen Central, Britton-Hecla, Conde, Groton Area, Hamlin, Langford, Roslyn, Sisseton, Webster

### Rushmore Region Workshop (Sturgis)

October 26, 2006

# of Students - 147 # of Advisors - 17 # of Schools Represented - 12

Schools Included – Custer, Douglas, Edgemont, Hill City, Lead-Deadwood, Little Wound, Philip, Pine Ridge, Rapid City Central, Rapid City Stevens, Sturgis, Takini

### Spirit Falls Region Workshop (Sioux Falls)

October 23, 2006

# of Students - 134 # of Advisors - 10 # of Schools Represented - 8 Schools Included - Harrisburg, Madison, Sioux Falls Lincoln, Sioux Falls O'Gorman, Sioux Falls Roosevelt, Sioux Falls Washington, Tea Area, Tri-Valley

# Upper Missouri Region Workshop (Mobridge)

October 17, 2006

# of Students - 86 # of Advisors - 9 # of Schools Represented - 9

Schools Included – Eureka, Faith, Herreid, Leola, Lemmon, McLaughlin, Mobridge, Selby Area, Sully Buttes

#### **OUTSTANDING STUDENT COUNCIL RECOGNITION AWARDS**

The SDHSAA "Outstanding Student Council Recognition Program" was created during the 1990-91 school year as a means of recognizing those student councils that meet the program's specified criteria. Those schools receiving the "Outstanding Student Council" designation have met standards of having well rounded programs that benefit their school, their community and the state. The "Outstanding" program consists of a self-evaluation of the activities and involvement by each participating student council. The 2006-07 school year was the seventeenth year of providing recognition to those student councils deemed to be "Outstanding" in the State.

#### 2006-07 OUTSTANDING STUDENT COUNCILS

**Aberdeen Central High School** 

Advisor: Kevin Rook

**Britton-Hecla High School** 

Advisor: Marcia Forrester

**Conde High School** 

Advisor: Tina Klapperrich

**Custer High School** 

Advisor: Lisa Pingrey

Dell Rapids St. Mary High School

Advisor: Tom Jastram

**Estelline High School** 

Advisor: Julie Rieckman

**Harrisburg High School** 

Advisor: Renee Rebnord

**Herreid High School** 

Advisors: Janelle Rossow

**Hurley High School** 

Advisor: Amy Smith

**Lead-Deadwood High School** 

Advisor: Gary Linn

High School

The following is a listing of the schools that have received the "Outstanding Student Council" Award and the years the school received the award.

Aberdeen Central – 2000, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

Belle Fourche - 1994

Britton-Hecla – 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007

Brookings - 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006

Conde - 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

Corsica - 1991, 1992, 1993

Custer - 1994, 2005, 2006, 2007

Dakota Valley - 2006

Dell Rapids St. Mary – 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007

Edgemont - 1991, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

2003, 2004, 2005

Estelline – 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005,

2006, 2007

Harrisburg - 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002,

2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

Herreid – 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

**Lemmon High School** 

Advisor: Linda O'Donnell

Lennox High School, Presho

Advisor: Mary Stack

**Madison High School** 

Advisor: Kelly Tepe

McCook Central High School

Advisor: Amanda Thronson

**Mitchell High School** 

Advisor: Judy Thiesse

Pierre Riggs High School

Advisors: Darlene Neiles & Jay Mickelson

Sully Buttes High School, Onida

Advisor: Wanda Meyer

Wagner High School

Advisor: Laurel Valentine

Yankton High School

Advisor: Paul Harens

OUSTANDING STUDENT COUNCILS: 1991 – PRESENT

Hurley - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996,

 $1997,\,1998,\,1999,\,2000,\,2001,\,2002,\,2003,$ 

2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

Huron - 1993, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005,

2006

Jones County - 1997, 2000, 2002

Lead-Deadwood - 1993, 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999,

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007

Lemmon - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996,

1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003,

2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

Lennox - 2007

Lyman - 1991, 1993, 1995, 1996, 2003, 2004,

2005, 2006

Madison - 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999,

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007

McCook Central - 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999,

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007

Mitchell - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996,

1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003,

2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

Philip – 1995, 2001, 2005 Pierre – 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 Rapid City Central - 1991, 1998, 1999 Rapid City Stevens - 1996 Rosholt - 1991 Sturgis – 1994, 2001 Sully Buttes – 1993, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

Tri-Valley - 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002

Vermillion – 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

Wagner – 2006, 2007

Watertown - 1995, 1997, 1998

Yankton – 2004, 2006, 2007

### "SOUTH DAKOTA WARREN E. SHULL STUDENT COUNCIL ADVISOR OF THE YEAR"

The "Warren E. Shull Student Council Advisor Of The Year Award" is named after Warren E. Shull, who founded the National Association of Student Councils (NASC) while he was a high school student council president. NASC is the nation's only national organization providing leadership development training for high school and middle level students and activity advisors.

The following is the honor roll of South Dakota Warren E. Shull Advisors of the Year:

1988-89 - Ivan Dixon, Lyman 1998-88 - Renee Rebnord, Harrisburg 1989-90 - Marcia West, Philip 1999-00 - Gary Linn, Lead-Deadwood 1990-91 - Doug Hoisington, Bon Homme 2000-01 – Susan Lee, Sioux Falls Washington 1991-92 - Sherry Ellwanger, Edgemont 2001-02 - Marcia West, Philip 1992-93 - Karen Odenbach, Lemmon 2002-03 - Tom Authier, Lyman 1993-94 - Gene Brownell, Aberdeen Central 2003-04 - Marcia Forrester, Britton-Hecla 1994-95 - Bette Gerberding, Brookings 2004-05 - Judy Thiesse, Mitchell 1995-96 - None Awarded 2005-06 – Carol Gaikowski, Roslyn 1996-97 - Lorretta Trenerry, Hurley 2006-07 - Chad Schiernbeck, Deuel 1997-98 - Marta Hoffman, Tri-Valley