STUDENT COUNCIL

SDHSAA REGIONAL STUDENT COUNCIL LEADERSHIP WORKSHOPS & SDSCA MEETINGS

The 2005-06 SDHSAA Regional Student Council Workshops were scheduled in eight sites during October 2005.

The Workshops were designed to give students and advisors instruction in leadership techniques. The 2005-06 Workshops were organized around the theme "Can You See Me Now?". The Workshops also provided an opportunity for students to meet other student leaders from area schools to exchange leadership ideas and share information about student council operation and projects. The schedule for each Workshop also included a Region Meeting for the South Dakota Student Council Association (SDSCA) Region in which the workshop was held.

2005-06 REGIONAL STUDENT COUNCIL WORKSHOPS

Capitol Region Workshop (Pierre) October 20, 2005

of Students - 72 # of Advisors - 8 # of Schools Represented - 7 Schools Included – Harrold, Jones County, Kadoka, Lyman, Pierre T.F. Riggs, Stanley County, Winner

Gavins Point Region Workshop (Hurley) October 11, 2005

of Students - 132 # of Advisors - 10 # of Schools Represented - 9 Schools Included – Beresford, Centerville, Dakota Valley, Hurley, Irene, Lennox, Vermillion, Viborg, Yankton

James River Region Workshop (Mitchell)

October 19, 2005

of Students - 113 # of Advisors - 12

of Schools Represented - 10

Schools Included – Bon Homme, Ethan, Freeman,
Huron, Kimball, McCook Central, Menno, Mitchell,
Plankinton, Wagner

Lakes Region Workshop (Clear Lake)

October 12, 2005

of Students - 105 # of Advisors - 9

of Schools Represented - 7

Schools Included - Brookings, Deuel, Estelline,
Madison, Milbank, Sioux Valley, Watertown

Northern Hills Region Workshop (Webster)

October 17, 2005

of Students - 123 # of Advisors - 11

of Schools Represented - 9

Schools Included — Aberdeen Central, Britton-Hecla,
Conde, Groton Area, Hamlin, Roslyn, Sisseton,
Tiospa Zina, Webster

Rushmore Region Workshop (Rapid City)

October 18, 2005

of Students - 99 # of Advisors - 9

of Schools Represented - 9

Schools Included – Custer, Douglas, Edgemont, Hill
City, Lead-Deadwoor, Philip, Rapid City Stevens,
Sturgis, Takini

Spirit Falls Region Workshop (Sioux Falls)

October 27, 2005

of Students - 93 # of Advisors - 8

of Schools Represented - 7

Schools Included - Dell Rapids St. Mary, Sioux Falls
Lincoln, Sioux Falls O'Gorman, Sioux Falls
Roosevelt, Sioux Falls Washington, Tea Area, Tri-Valley

Upper Missouri Region Workshop (Mobridge)

October 24, 2005

of Students - 79 # of Advisors - 11

of Schools Represented - 9

Schools Included – Eureka, Herreid, Lemmon,
McLaughlin, Mobridge, Pollock, Sully Buttes,
Timber Lake, Tiospaye Topa

OUTSTANDING STUDENT COUNCIL RECOGNITION AWARDS

The SDHSAA "Outstanding Student Council Recognition Program" was created during the 1990-91 school year as a means of recognizing those student councils that meet the program's specified criteria. Those schools receiving the "Outstanding Student Council" designation have met standards of having well rounded programs that benefit their school, their community and the state. The "Outstanding" program consists of a self-evaluation of the activities and involvement by each participating student council. The 2005-06 school year was the sixteenth year of providing recognition to those student councils deemed to be "Outstanding" in the State.

2005-06 OUTSTANDING STUDENT COUNCILS

Aberdeen Central High School

Advisor: Kevin Rook

Britton-Hecla High School

Advisor: Marcia Forrester

Brookings High School

Advisor: Barb Goodfellow

Conde High School

Advisor: Tina Klapperrich

Custer High School

Advisor: Lisa Pingrey

Dakota Valley High School

Advisor: Kari Rustand

Dell Rapids St. Mary High School

Advisor: Fran Ruesink

Estelline High School

Advisor: Julie Rieckman

Harrisburg High School

Advisor: Renee Rebnord

Herreid High School

Advisors: April Madden & Colette Pudwill

Hurley High School

Advisor: Peter Books

Huron High School

Advisor: Angie Klein

Lemmon High School

Advisor: Linda O'Donnell

Lyman High School, Presho

Advisor: Tom Authier

McCook Central High School

Advisor: Amanda Thronson

Mitchell High School

Advisor: Judy Thiesse

Pierre Riggs High School

Advisors: Darlene Neiles & Jay Mickelson

Sully Buttes High School, Onida

Advisor: Wanda Meyer

Wagner High School

Advisor: Laurel Valentine

Yankton High School

Advisor: Paul Harens

OUSTANDING STUDENT COUNCILS: 1991 – PRESENT

The following is a listing of the schools that have received the "Outstanding Student Council" Award and the years the school received the award.

Aberdeen Central - 2000, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006

Belle Fourche - 1994

Britton-Hecla - 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004,

2006

Brookings - 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001,

2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006

Conde - 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006

Corsica - 1991, 1992, 1993

Custer - 1994, 2005, 2006

Dakota Valley - 2006

Dell Rapids St. Mary - 2003, 2005, 2006

Edgemont - 1991, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002,

2003, 2004, 2005

Estelline – 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006

Harrisburg - 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006

Herreid - 2004, 2005, 2006

Hurley - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003,

2004, 2005, 2006

Huron - 1993, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006

Jones County - 1997, 2000, 2002

Lead-Deadwood - 1993, 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999,

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

Lemmon - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996,

1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003,

2004, 2005, 2006

Lyman - 1991, 1993, 1995, 1996, 2003, 2004,

2005, 2006

Madison - 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999,

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

McCook Central - 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999,

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2006

Mitchell - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996,

1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003,

2004, 2005, 2006

Philip - 1995, 2001, 2005

Pierre – 2004, 2005, 2006

Rapid City Central - 1991, 1998, 1999

Rapid City Stevens - 1996

Rosholt - 1991

Sturgis – 1994, 2001 Sully Buttes – 1993, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 Tri-Valley - 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002 Vermillion – 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 Wagner – 2006 Watertown - 1995, 1997, 1998 Yankton – 2004, 2006

"SOUTH DAKOTA WARREN E. SHULL STUDENT COUNCIL ADVISOR OF THE YEAR"

The "Warren E. Shull Student Council Advisor Of The Year Award" is named after Warren E. Shull, who founded the National Association of Student Councils (NASC) while he was a high school student council president. NASC is the nation's only national organization providing leadership development training for high school and middle level students and activity advisors.

The following is the honor roll of South Dakota Warren E. Shull Advisors of the Year:

1988-89 - Ivan Dixon, Lyman
1997-98 - Marta Hoffman, Tri-Valley
1989-90 - Marcia West, Philip
1998-88 - Renee Rebnord, Harrisburg
1990-91 - Doug Hoisington, Bon Homme
1999-00 - Gary Linn, Lead-Deadwood
1991-92 - Sherry Ellwanger, Edgemont
2000-01 - Susan Lee, Sioux Falls Washington
1992-93 - Karen Odenbach, Lemmon
2001-02 - Marcia West, Philip
1993-94 - Gene Brownell, Aberdeen Central
2002-03 - Tom Authier, Lyman
1994-95 - Bette Gerberding, Brookings
2003-04 - Marcia Forrester, Britton-Hecla

1995-96 - None Awarded 2004-05 – Judy Thiesse, Mitchell 1996-97 - Lorretta Trenerry, Hurley 2005-06 – Carol Gaikowski, Roslyn