STUDENT COUNCIL

SDHSAA REGIONAL STUDENT COUNCIL LEADERSHIP WORKSHOPS & SDSCA MEETINGS

The 2004-05 SDHSAA Regional Student Council Workshops were scheduled in seven sites during September - October 2004.

The Workshops were primarily designed to give students and advisors instruction in leadership techniques. The 2004-05 Workshops were organized around the theme "Can You Hear Me Now?". The Workshops provided an opportunity for students to meet other student leaders from area schools to exchange leadership ideas and share information about student council operation and projects. The schedule for each Workshop also included a Region Meeting for the South Dakota Student Council Association (SDSCA) Region in which the workshop was held.

2004-05 REGIONAL STUDENT COUNCIL WORKSHOPS

Capitol Region Workshop (Presho)

September 28, 2004

of Students - 55 # of Advisors - 6

of Schools Represented - 5

Schools Included - Kadoka, Lower Brule, Lyman,
Pierre T.F. Riggs, Stanley County

James River Region Workshop (Mitchell)

September 29, 2004

of Students - 131 # of Advisors - 12

of Schools Represented - 11

Schools Included - Bon Homme, Ethan, Huron,
Kimball, McCook Central, Menno, Mitchell, TrippDelmont, Tri-Valley, Wagner, Yankton

Lakes Region Workshop (Estelline)

October 19, 2004

of Students - 117 # of Advisors - 10

of Schools Represented - 8

Schools Included - Brookings, Deuel, Estelline,
Hamlin, Madison, Milbank, Sioux Valley, Watertown

Northern Hills Region Workshop (Aberdeen)

October 13, 2004

of Students - 86 # of Advisors - 8

of Schools Represented - 8

Schools Included - Aberdeen Central, Aberdeen Roncalli, Britton-Hecla, Conde, Groton Area, Roslyn, Sisseton, Webster

Rushmore Region Workshop (Rapid City)

October 6, 2004

of Students - 132 # of Advisors - 14

of Schools Represented - 10

Schools Included - Custer, Douglas, Edgemont,
Faith, Hill City, Little Wound, Oelrichs, Philip,
Rapid City Stevens, Sturgis

Spirit Falls Region Workshop (Sioux Falls) October 18, 2004

of Students - 180 # of Advisors - 18 # of Schools Represented - 13 Schools Included - Dakota Valley, Dell Rapids, Dell Rapids St. Mary, Harrisburg, Hurley, Irene, Lennox, Sioux Falls Lincoln, Sioux Falls O'Gorman, Sioux Falls Roosevelt, Sioux Falls Washington, Tea Area, Vermillion

Upper Missouri Region Workshop (Mobridge)

October 20, 2004

of Students - 87 # of Advisors - 11

of Schools Represented - 11

Schools Included – Eureka, Gettysburg, Herreid,
Ipswich, Isabel, Lemmon, McLaughlin, Mobridge,
Pollock, Sully Buttes, Timber Lake

OUTSTANDING STUDENT COUNCIL RECOGNITION AWARDS

The SDHSAA "Outstanding Student Council Recognition Program" was created during the 1990-91 school year as a means of recognizing those student councils that meet the program's specified criteria. Those schools receiving the "Outstanding Student Council" designation have met standards of having well rounded programs that benefit their school, their community and the state. The "Outstanding" program consists of a self-evaluation of the activities and involvement by each participating student council. The 2004-05 school year was the fifteenth year of providing recognition to those student councils deemed to be "Outstanding" in the State.

2004-05 OUTSTANDING STUDENT COUNCILS

Aberdeen Central High School

Advisor: Kevin Rook

Brookings High School

Advisor: Barb Goodfellow

Conde High School

Advisor: Tina Klapperrich

Custer High School

Advisor: Lisa Pingrey

Dell Rapids St. Mary High School

Advisor: Roxie Harms

Edgemont High School

Advisor: Mark Brown

Estelline High School

Advisor: Julie Rieckman

Harrisburg High School

Advisor: Renee Rebnord

Herreid High School

Advisors: April Madden & Colette Pudwill

Hurley High School

Advisor: Peter Brooks

Huron High School

Advisor: Judith Ross

Lead-Deadwood High School

Advisor: Gary Linn

Lemmon High School

Advisor: Nancy Reimer

Lyman High School, Presho

Advisor: Tom Authier

Madison High School

Advisor: Craig Peterson

Mitchell High School

Advisor: Judy Thiesse

Philip High School

Advisor: Marcia West

Pierre Riggs High School

Advisors: Darlene Neiles & Jay Mickelson

Sully Buttes High School, Onida

Advisor: Wanda Meyer

Vermillion High School

Advisors: Shari Kolbeck & Carisa Dobrinski

OUSTANDING STUDENT COUNCILS: 1991 - PRESENT

Aberdeen Central – 2000, 2003, 2004, 2005

Belle Fourche - 1994

Britton-Hecla - 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004

Brookings - 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001,

2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

Conde - 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005

Corsica - 1991, 1992, 1993

Custer - 1994, 2005

Dell Rapids St. Mary - 2003, 2005

Edgemont - 1991, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002,

2003, 2004, 2005

Estelline – 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

Harrisburg - 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002,

2003, 2004, 2005

Herreid - 2004, 2005

Hurley - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996,

1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003,

2004, 2005

Huron - 1993, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

Jones County - 1997, 2000, 2002

Lead-Deadwood - 1993, 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999,

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

Lemmon - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996,

1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003,

2004, 2005

Lyman - 1991, 1993, 1995, 1996, 2003, 2004, 2005

Madison - 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999,

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

McCook Central - 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999,

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003

Mitchell - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996,

 $1997,\,1998,\,1999,\,2000,\,2001,\,2002,\,2003,$

2004, 2005

Philip – 1995, 2001, 2005

Pierre – 2004, 2005

Rapid City Central - 1991, 1998, 1999

Rapid City Stevens - 1996

Rosholt - 1991

Sturgis – 1994, 2001

Sully Buttes – 1993, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

Tri-Valley - 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002

Vermillion – 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

Watertown - 1995, 1997, 1998

Yankton - 2004

"SOUTH DAKOTA WARREN E. SHULL STUDENT COUNCIL ADVISOR OF THE YEAR"

The "Warren E. Shull Student Council Advisor Of The Year Award" is named after Warren E. Shull, who founded the National Association of Student Councils (NASC) while he was a high school student council president. NASC is the nation's only national organization providing leadership development training for high school and middle level students and activity advisors.

The following is the honor roll of South Dakota Warren E. Shull Advisors of the Year:

1988-89 - Ivan Dixon, Lyman	1997-98 - Marta Hoffman, Tri-Valley
1989-90 - Marcia West, Philip	1998-88 - Renee Rebnord, Harrisburg

1990-91 - Doug Hoisington, Bon Homme 1991-92 - Sherry Ellwanger, Edgemont 1991-92 - Susan Lee, Sioux Falls Washington

1992-93 - Karen Odenbach, Lemmon 2001-02 - Marcia West, Philip 1993-94 - Gene Brownell, Aberdeen Central 2002-03 - Tom Authier, Lyman

1994-95 - Bette Gerberding, Brookings 2003-04 – Marcia Forrester, Britton-Hecla

1995-96 - None Awarded 2004-05 – Judy Thiesse, Mitchell 1996-97 - Lorretta Trenerry, Hurley

3