

Fellow Volleyball Officials,

It seems like the season just started and here we are nearing the end of another volleyball season. Whether this is your very first year or your fortieth year, I hope everyone had a fun and successful season.

I hope this season you were able to learn some new things along the way as well as help some of our newer officials learn and grow as a volleyball official. As the activities association continues their efforts to recruit and retain new officials, start to think about who you know who may be interested in becoming an official and how you can help them get them started.

During officials appreciation week this season it was nice to see schools showing their appreciation for volleyball officials and recognizing the time and effort spent in the sport of volleyball. Our student athletes are able to compete because of you being an official. We as the SDVBOA thank you and appreciate you.

Once again there will be open positions on the board and I encourage you to check them out and reach out if you are interested in filling any of the positions. Post season is right around the corner and before you know it, the state tournament will commence. I look forward to seeing many of you at this years state tournament to be held in Rapid City. When I started reffing 17 years ago, at that time I never imagined the amount of friendships I would create along the way. Hopefully you have experienced the same.

Once again, thank you for all of your time and energy spent helping volleyball become an even better sport in South Dakota. Good luck the remainder of your season.

Brian Ries SDVBOA President

MENTORING PROGRAM VOUCHERS DUE!!

If you participated in the mentoring program and have not turned in your vouchers please do so no later than Friday, November 3rd! If you have submitted your forms and have not received payment, please resubmit. I have turned in all vouchers that I have received to date.

Vouchers received after November 3rd will not be accepted!!

Mail to: Sandy Neugebauer 1204 N. Foster St Mitchell, SD 57301 or email to: sneuge13@hotmail.com



Congrats! Official of the Year! Shawn Hansen

Official of the year for 2023 is Shawn Hansen of Watertown, SD. Shawn has been officiating VB for almost 30 years. In that time, she has officiated numerous district, region, and state tournaments.

Shawn's professionalism, game management, knowledge of the rules and court protocols and positive attitude make her a great volleyball official. She also puts in extra work behind the scenes by helping with jamborees as a participant, an evaluator, a clinician, and mentoring new officials.

What is most enjoyable for Shawn, beyond watching the student athletes compete, is making relationships with coaches and fellow volleyball Volleyball has given her the opportunity to meet lots of great people whose friendships extend beyond the volleyball season.



Shawn works full time as the Purchasing Manager at Pivotal Health Solutions. She enjoys spending time with her husband, Ryan, and their three children, Shelby, Maddi, and Luke. In Shawn's spare time, you might find her attending a sporting event, spending time with friends, or aetting in a round of golf.



FALL BOARD MEETING November 19, 2023 9:00 a.m.

Rushmore Plaza—Holiday Inn Rapid City, SD



Nominations needed for Official of the Year!

You can nominate yourself or another official. Please click on the nomination form, complete and email to sneuge13@hotmail.com.

The deadline for nominations is prior to the summer board meeting to be held in July 2024

SDVBOA AWARDS

The SDVBOA recognizes officials that have officiated volleyball in South Dakota for 10, 20, 30, 35 and 45 years. These awards were presented at the region meetings. There were no 30, 35 and 45 year recipients.

SDHSAA YEARS OF SERVICE YEARS OF SERVICE **AWARDS**

The SDHSAA recognizes officials that have officiated volleyball in South Dakota for 15, 25, 40 and 50 years. There were no 40 and 50 year recipients.

10 year award recipients



Jim Aberle



Jenny Beckman



Linda Dahlgren



Jennifer Fuchs



Nancy Keppen



Jessica Waltner

15 year award recipients:



Char Carda



Stephanie Hein



Gwendi Krause



Angela Ostrander

20 year award recipients:



Laurie Adkins-Heydon Lynne Calmus



Laurie Durr



Janna Nolmans



Jesse Stricherz

25 year award recipients:



Jo Auch



Curt Lauinger



Dan Nikolas



Deb Sternhagen

Open board positions for 2024!!

Region Reps: (3 year terms)

There are 5 Region rep positions open. Terms ending this year:

North East (Cassi Kottke)
East Central (Char Carda)
Southeast (Eric Gerlach)
South Central (Angie Kingsley)
Central (Sharon Ferry)

The duties of the region representative include: attending the summer and fall board meetings, be responsible for clinics and jamborees in their area and finding presenters and evaluators, setting up and administering region meetings and being the contact person for any concerns of officials in their area.

President Elect: (2 year term)

This is a two-year position and then will move to the President position for two years.

All Sports Advisory Council Rep:

This is a 3 year term. Attend All Sports Advisory Council Meetings and present report at SDVBOA Board meetings.

Anyone interested in any of these positions should send an email of interest along with your volleyball experience to the Executive Secretary (sneuge13@hotmail.com). Outgoing reps are also eligible for another term and should send in an email if interested in being considered.

This email must be received before the fall meeting scheduled on November 19, 2023





Officers:

Brian Ries, President (2023) Janelle Vis, Pres. Elect (2023)

Sandy Neugebauer, Exec. Secretary

Jo Auch, Asst. Exec. Director of SDHSAA

Kelley Devine, All Sports Advisory Council Rep (5/24)

Region Representatives:

East Central:

Char Carda (2023)

Tami Hosman (2024)

Central:

Sharon Ferry (2023)

Stephanie Kjetland (2024)

Northeast:

Ertin Schroeder (2025)

Cassi Kottke (2023)

South Central:

Angie Kinsley (2023)

Lynell Martin (2024)

Southeast:

Matt Sisk (2025)

Eric Gerlach (2023)

Laurie Thompson (2024)

West:

Tanya Nelsen (2025)

Laurie Durr (2024)

Northwest:

Linda Dahlgren(2025)



Any feedback, suggestions for improvement or future topics for the newsletter is appreciated! Send your ideas to sneuge13@hotmail.com