About Us



The members from interested Student Councils in South Dakota gathered on the campus of the University of South Dakota in August of 1988. The purpose of the gathering was to organize a state organization that would unite high school student councils and serve all the students of the State of South Dakota. The August 10-11 gathering became the first convention of the South Dakota Student Council Association. Beginning with the 1988 convention through the 1999 convention, the SDSCA State Conventions were held during the late summer. Beginning with the 2000 State Convention, the conventions were moved into the school year following the completion of the state athletics Winter seasons.


Organizational Structure

The SDSCA is co-sponsored by the South Dakota High School Activities Association (SDHSAA) and the South Dakota Association of Secondary School Principals (SDASSP).  The SDSCA State Executive Board is composed of six statewide elected officers (President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Reporter, Parliamentarian/Sergeant at Arms), a Middle School Representative representing the middle school students in attendance at the State Convention, and a Region Representative from each of the seven SDSCA Regions. All of these offices are held by students. The SDSCA State Executive Board includes four adult advisors: a Representative from the SDASSP, a Representative from the Student Council Advisors, a Representative from the SDHSAA, and the SDSCA State Executive Director.



In addition to the SDSCA State Executive Board, the State of South Dakota is divided into seven regions: Big Sioux, Capitol, James River, Northern Lakes, Rushmore, Spirit Point, and Upper Missouri. Each region elects its own Region Board. The specific student offices comprising each Region Board varies from region to region. Each region has the option of electing as many of the following offices as the members of the region feel are warranted: President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Reporter, Parliamentarian, Sergeant at Arms, and Region Representative to the State Board. All SDSCA member schools in a region are entitled to select a school representative to the Region Board.


Each Region Board works under the guidance of a Region Advisor who is chosen from the student council advisors in the region. The regional officers and School Representatives to the Region Board are encouraged to meet as a Region Board and to hold regional meetings during the year to share ideas and to organize for the state convention held in the spring of each year. A complete listing of Region Alignments can be found on the SDSCA page of the SDHSAA website.



Any public, private, or parochial school in South Dakota that belongs to the SDHSAA shall be eligible to be a member of the SDSCA. Any public, private, or parochial organized Junior High or Middle School shall be eligible to be a member of the SDSCA.


Each member school is entitled to one vote at the annual state convention. Any high school student is welcome to attend the state convention. The SDSCA considers all students in high school to be members of their respective student councils. Therefore, the student need not be an officer in their school’s student council to attend the convention or to hold a Regional or State Office. Also, a special invitation is extended to all students to attend the Executive Board meetings scheduled throughout the year.



The following is a chronological listing of the year, site, and principal consultant for each of the SDSCA State Conventions.






1st 1987-88 USD Vermillion None
  Aug. 10-11 Theme: "Active Student Councils Make a Difference"
2nd 1988-89 USD Vermillion Rex Giesler
  Aug. 6-8 Theme: None
3rd 1989-90 USD Vermillion Mr. Phil (Phil Gugliuzza)
  Aug. 5-7 Theme: “Tomorrow‟s Needs Today”
4th 1990-91 USD Vermillion Craig Hillier
  Aug. 4-6 Theme: “Leadership For The New Century...Building Bridges To Understanding”
5th 1991-92 USD Vermillion Lori Kiblinger
  Aug. 2-4 Theme: “Leadership, You Gotta Have It - - Uh-huh!!”
6th 1992-93 USD Vermillion Dr. Earl Reum
  Aug. 1-3 Theme: “Step Toward The Future”
7th 1993-94 DWU Mitchell Dr. Earl Reum
  Aug. 2-4 Theme: “Living On The Edge & Taking You To New Heights”
8th 1994-95 DWU Mitchell Mr. Phil (Phil Gugliuzza)
  July 31-Aug 2 Theme: “A Candle Losses Nothing Of Its Light By Lighting Another Candle”
9th 1995-96 DWU Mitchell Mr. Phil (Phil Gugliuzza)
  Aug. 5-7 Theme: “A Leader Sees The Invisible, Feels The Intangible And Achieves The Impossible”
10th 1996-97 DWU Mitchell Dr. Earl Reum
  Aug. 4-6 Theme: “Leadership Is Everybody‟s Business!”
11th 1997-98 DWU Mitchell Susie Vanderlip
  Aug. 3-5 Theme: “Go M.A.D. – Make A Difference!”
12th 1998-99 Crossroads Hotel Huron Eric Chester
  Aug. 2-4 Theme: “Take Me To Your Leaders!”
13th 1999-2000 Crossroads Hotel Huron Mitch Anthony
  Mar. 26-28 Theme: “Born To Lead”
14th 2000-01 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Jeff Yalden
  Mar. 25-27 Theme: “M*A*S*H (Making All Students Heroes)”
15th 2001-02 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Ed Gerety
  Mar. 24-26 Theme: “Time To Unite With TLC (Today‟s Leaders Care)”
16th 2002-03 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Mark Scharenbroich
  Mar. 23-25 Theme: “Leadership – It‟s Cool In A Far Out Way”
17th 2003-04 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Philly D (Phil Doucette)
  Mar. 21-23 Theme: “Mission Impossible”
18th 2004-05 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Bano (Dick Baniszewski), Terry Nebelsick
  Mar. 20-22 Theme: “Leadership Roundup”
19th 2005-06 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Eddie Slowikowski, Bill Zubke
  Mar. 21-23 Theme: “Leadership In Action”
20th 2006-07 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Deb Erickson, Ivan Dixon
  Mar. 25-27 Theme: Outstanding LeaderZ: Follow The Leadership Road”
21st 2007-08 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre John Beede
  Mar. 30-Apr. 1 Theme: “Discover The Treasure Of 'Leader' Ship"
22nd 2008-09 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Stephen Bargatze, Josh Sundquist
  Mar. 29-31 Theme: “M.A.G.I.C. (Make A Greater Individual Commitment)”
23rd 2009-10 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre V.J. Smith, Patrick Maurer
  Mar. 28-30 Theme: “Putting On The Cape…Of Leadership”
24th 2010-11 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Emily Firman-Pieper, Mark Scharenbroich
  Mar. 27-29 Theme: "Leadership Under Construction"
25th 2011-12 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Former Gov. Mike Rounds, Ed Gerety
  Mar. 25-27 Theme: "Lighting the Torch of Leadership"
26th 2012-13 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Rashaan Davis, Kyle Scheele
  Mar. 24-26 Theme: "Tune Into Leadership"
27th 2013-14 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Dusty Johnson, John Beede
  Mar. 30-Apr. 1 Theme: "E.S.P.N. - Fit for Life"
28th 2014-15 Ramkota RiverCentre Pierre Jeremy Brech, Mike Schlappi  
  Mar. 29-31 Theme: "Welcome to the Jungle"  
29th 2015-16 Denny Sanford PREMIER Center Sioux Falls Mike Heuther, Amy Galimore  
  Apr. 3-5 Theme: "Unlimited Student Achievement"  
30th 2016-17 Rushmore Plaza Civic Center Rapid City Billy Riggs  
  Apr. 9-11 Theme: "Lead Us West"  
31st 2017-18 Rushmore Plaza Civic Center Rapid City Mike Smith  
  Mar. 25-26 Theme: "Hometown Heroes"  
32nd 2018-19 Denny Sanford PREMIER Center Sioux Falls Matt Bellace  
  Apr. 7-8 Theme: "Lighting The Future"  
  2019-20 Canceled due to COVID-19 pandemic  
  Mar. 29-30    
33rd 2020-21 Rushmore Plaza Civic Center Rapid City    
  Apr. 11-12