

SOUTH DAKOTA HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS Monument Center Board Room- Rapid City, SD

November 3, 2021 9:30 AM MT Rapid City, South Dakota

The Board of Directors held a regular meeting on November 3, 2021, at the Monument Center Board Room in Rapid City, South Dakota with members present as follows:

Tom Culver Mark Murphy Barry Mann

Eric Denning Derek Barrios Marty Weismantel

Michael Talley Terry Rotert

Staff members present included Dr. Dan Swartos, Jo Auch, Randy Soma, Brooks Bowman (via Zoom), and Ryan Mikkelsen.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Tom Culver at 9:30 A.M., followed by the pledge of allegiance.

Item #1-Approval of Agenda

Motion by Marty Weismantel second by Derek Barrios, to approve the agenda as amended, adding item #10-5, approval of venue change for All-State Chorus and Orchestra.

Motion carried 8-0.

Item #2- Approve West River At-Large Ballot Results and Seat West-River At-Large Member

Motion by Eric Denning, second by Mark Murphy, to approve the West-River At-Large runoff ballot results as such:

- Kelly Messmer, Harding County- 57
- Todd Palmer, Sturgis Brown- 53

and to seat Kelly Messmer immediately. Motion carried 8-0.

Terry Rotert was appointed and took his seat immediately, beginning at 9:33 AM.

Item #3- Public Forum

Chairman Culver reviewed the SDHSAA Public Forum protocol. No individuals participated in the public forum.

<u>Item #4- Approval of the minutes from the Strategic Planning Meeting held August 11, 2021 and Regular</u> Meeting held August 12, 2021.

Motion by Michael Talley, second by Marty Weismantel, to approve the minutes as presented. *Motion carried 9-0.*

Item #5- Approval of Finance Reports

SDHSAA Executive Director Dr. Dan Swartos and SDHSAA Finance Director Ryan Mikkelsen reported on the income statements and balance sheets for August and September of 2021 and the cash flow report. Brad Reinke presented the report from Reinke Gray via Zoom.

Motion by Derek Barrios, second by Michael Talley, to approve the Finance Reports as presented. *Motion Carried 9-0.*

Item #6- Consent Agenda

The consent agenda contained the following items:

- A. Vouchers for July of 2021 in the amount of \$167,773.86 and September of 2021 in the amount of \$271,130.55.
- B. Approval of Journalism Advisory Committee Nominations
- C. Request from Custer and Hill City to form a wrestling practice cooperative.
- D. Penalty to Dakota Valley Soccer for violation of In-Season Rules.
- E. Pentaly to Rapid City Central Girls Basketball for violation of Out-of-Season Rules.
- F. Request from Viborg-Hurley and Irene-Wakonda to form a wrestling cooperative.
- G. Request from Madison, Oldham-Ramona, and Rutland to form a wrestling cooperative.

Motion by Marty Weismantel, second by Barry Mann, to approve the consent agenda as presented. *Motion carried 9-0.*

Item #7- Reports

The board heard reports on the following:

- State Golf, Soccer, and Cross Country from Randy Soma
- State Tennis and Cheer and Dance from Jo Auch
- State Journalism and All-State Chorus and Orchestra from Brooks Bowman
- Native American Advisory from Dan Swartos
- Cross Country/Track and Field Advisory from Randy Soma
- Journalism Advisory from Brooks Bowman
- Tennis Advisory from Jo Auch
- NFHS Section V, Section 7/8, SMAC, and NFHS Board of Directors Meetings from Dan Swartos
- E-Sports Steering Committee from Dan Swartos
- SDHSAA Foundation Report
- There was no report from SDSSA
- Report from SDIAAA from Jim Dorman and Joey Struwe, delivered by Dan Swartos
- 2021-22 Goal Report from Dan Swartos

Item #8- Consider Softball Steering Committee Report

Jo Auch and Dan Swartos delivered the softball steering committee report to the Board of Directors.

Motion by Kelly Messmer, second by Michael Talley, to approve sanctioning of Softball as a sport beginning in the 2022-23 school year, with season dates to be determined at the January 2022 Board meeting. *Motion Carried 8-1, with Weismantel dissenting.*

Item #9- Conduct first reading of staff submitted Constitution and By-Laws

Motion by Michael Talley, Second by Terry Rotert, to conduct a first reading of staff submitted Constitution and By-Laws changes. *Motion carried 9 -0.* Proposed changes can be found on the November 2021 Agenda, item #9.

Item #10- Consider ADM Counts for the 2022-23 and 2023-24 school years

No Action, as the counts were not yet ready. They will be considered at the January 2022 Board Meeting.

Item #10.5- Consider Venue Changes for 2023 and 2024 All-State Chorus and Orchestra

Motion by Marty Weismantel, second by Derek Barrios, to move 2023 All-State Chorus and Orchestra from Sioux Falls to Rapid City in 2023 and from Rapid City to Sioux Falls in 2024. *Motion carried 9-0.*

Item #11- Board Sharing

Mike Talley was excited to be in-person and for activities up and going this year.

Barry Mann was thankful to have state activities this fall. He noted thanks for the tour of the Summit Arena and noted the schedule for the upcoming Lakota Nation Invitational.

Marty Weismantel thanked the staff for their work and noted appreciation to Randy Soma for his work on football scheduling this fall and to Brooks Bowman for an excellent All-State Chorus and Orchestra event.

Kelly Messmer and Terry Rotert noted appreciation for the opportunity to be on the Board.

Eric Denning enjoyed coming to Rapid City for the Board meeting and was happy to have state events up and going this year.

Derek Barrios thanked the staff for their work, enjoyed the Summit Arena tour, and was thankful for the good conversation regarding softball.

Mark Murphy encouraged coaches to get involved in advisory meetings and thanked the staff.

Tom Culver complimented the state Cross Country meet and how smoothly it went.

Dan Swartos informed the Board of the Lakota Nation Invitational December 13-18 and encouraged the Board to attend.

Item #12- Adjourn

Motion by Eric Denning, second by Terry Rotert to adjourn. Chairman Culver declared the meeting adjourned at 11:54 AM Mountain Time.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Daniel Swartos

SDHSAA Executive Director