Team Sportsmanship Award


An annual sportsmanship award is given at the State Girls and Boys Tennis Tournaments.  The award is given to the team that best displays exemplary sportsmanship.  The purpose of the award is to promote integrity and sportsmanship in the game of tennis.  The award will be given to the team which, through actions both on and off the court, has demonstrated fairness, respect, honesty, unselfishness, and responsibility.

A former high school and collegiate tennis champion once said that she didn’t remember all the players she had played during her career, but she always remembered the players who played with class and the players who didn’t.  In years to come, we may not remember who won the state championship, but we will always remember the team that showed the best sportsmanship.

The team chosen by the coaches and umpires to receive the very first sportsmanship award was the Madison High School boys tennis team.  There is no pre-tournament application form.  This award is voted on by the tennis coaches and umpires at the tournament and is presented during the awards ceremony.

Previous Girls Winners

  2007 Sturgis Brown
  2008 Todd County
  2009 Watertown
  2010 Brandon Valley
  2011 Yankton
  2012 Aberdeen Roncalli
  2013 Aberdeen Central
  2014  Milbank
  2015 Huron
  2016 Pierre T.F. Riggs
  2017 Yankton
  2018 Rapid City Christian

Previous Boys Winners

  2007 Madison
  2008 Sioux Falls Washington
  2009 Sioux Falls Washington
  2010 Milbank
  2011 Mitchell
  2012 Rapid City Stevens
  2013 Mitchell
  2014 Madison
  2015 Aberdeen Central
  2016 Watertown
  2017 Rapid City Christian
  2018 Huron
  2019 Pierre T.F. Riggs