Spirit of Max Award


The Spirit of Max Award is presented by the South Dakota Tennis Hall of Fame and is dedicated in memory of Max Beeners.  Max was a courageous student and tennis player at Sioux Falls Roosevelt High School who passed away in June 1999 after a lengthy battle with cancer.  In addition to tennis, Max was a leader in school, the community, and in his church.  With a sense of humor and a million-dollar smile, Max kept his faith and met his goal of graduating from Roosevelt High shortly before passing away.  In honor of Max, the South Dakota Tennis Hall of Fame presents this award annually to a deserving senior boy and girl tennis player following their respective State High School Tennis Tournaments.

The award is based on the following criteria:

  1. The nominee must be a senior.
  2. Academic achievement as determined by class rank and a minimum of a 2.5 grade average on a 4.0 scale.
  3. Tennis achievement during their tennis career, including high school and non-high school participation.
  4. Sportsmanship - shows respect for all athletes, coaches, and officials on and off the court.
  5. Non-tennis extracurriculars.
  6. Character - able to interact in a positive fashion with students and adults, displaying self-discipline, high ethics, and respectful behavior and is a positive role model for young people.

To be eligible for the award, each player must be nominated by his or her high school coach using the form below.  Only one (1) player may be nominated from each school.  The nomination forms must be emailed to Jason Olson no later than MAY 6, 2019.

Jason Olson

Nomination Form

A selection committee made up of coaches shall review the top five (5) nominees and select the award recipient.  None of the coaches shall be a family member or coach of a nominee.  The award shall be announced during the awards presentation of the State Tournament.

Previous Girls Winners

  2000 Alisha Dahlsted, Brookings
  2001 Liz Donohue, SF O’Gorman
  2002 Katie Chiu, SF Lincoln
  2003 Kyna Williams, Yankton
  2004 Jill Suurmeyer, Aberdeen Central
  2005 Karmyn Hettinger, Mitchell
  2006 Whitney Paluch, RC Stevens
  2007 Lorena Reichert, RC Central
  2008 Gabbie Kachena, Yankton
  2009 Theresa Petrasko, SF O’Gorman
  2010 Shealyn Bakke, Watertown
  2011 Allie Lahren, SF Lincoln
  2012 Abby Seigenthaler, SF Roosevelt
Eileen Leong, Pierre T.F. Riggs
  2014 Kristen Hanson, Aberdeen Central 
  2015 Madison Fenske, St. Thomas More
  2016 Kara Brusven, Pierre T.F. Riggs
  2017 Meredith Benson, SF Lincoln
  2018 Katie Conrad, RC Stevens

Previous Boys Winners

  2001 Ryan Elwood, Yankton
  2002 Andrew Krueger, SF Lincoln
  2003 Pete Sveen, Aberdeen Central
  2004 Braden Bradfield, SF O’Gorman
  2005 Matt Townsend, SF O’Gorman
  2006 Ryan Barber, RC Central
  2007 Jerry Bollinger, Pierre T.F. Riggs
  2008 Luke Lynass, Sturgis Brown
  2009 JD Carrells, Aberdeen Roncalli
  2010 Kevin Rance, SF O’Gorman
  2011 Tyler Osterloo, Mitchell
  2012 Michael Nicholas, Huron
  2013 Jonah Snyder, SF Lincoln
  2014 Jacob Leighton, Madison
  2015 Billy Trevillyen, Brandon Valley
  2016 Alex Hegg, Mitchell
  2017 Mason Blue, Brandon Valley
  2018 Carter Cavanaugh, Mitchell
  2019 Matthew Schmitz, Brandon Valley