

South Dakota High School Activities Association

804 North Euclid, Suite 102 P.O. Box 1217 · Pierre, SD 57501 Phone: (605) 224-9261 · Fax: (605) 224-9262

SITE SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

March 20, 2023 SDHSAA Office (all attendees appeared via Zoom)

Committee Members Present:

Kelly Messmer, Harding County (Chair) Jared Vasquez, Rapid City Stevens

Dr. Jeff Danielsen, Watertown
Terry Rotert, Huron
Barry Mann, Wakpala
Dawn Seiler, Aberdeen

Committee Members unable to attend: Casey Meile, Mike Jewett

SDSHAA Staff Present: Dan Swartos, Randy Soma, and Jo Auch.

The meeting was called to order by Dan Swartos at 2:00 PM.

Approve the agenda

It was moved by Kelly Messmer, seconded by Jared Vasquez, to approve the agenda as presented. The motion passed 6-0.

Action Items

The committee agreed on:

- Proposed Sites for the 2026-27 school year (SEE APPENDIX A)
- Flipping sites in 2025 and 2026 One-Act Play to be in Brookings (SDSU) in 2025 and Rapid City Central in 2026.
- Setting the Class A Girls Basketball site as Watertown for the 2026 tournament.
- Setting State Softball as being in Aberdeen for the 2024 tournament.
- Proceeding with the Pentagon as the site for AA Girls Basketball for the 2024 tournament.
- Get membership feedback on state track meet location, the concept of keeping state track in Sioux Falls every year and state wrestling in Rapid City every year, and the concept of moving State A Boys Basketball to Aberdeen occasionally, with State B Boys going to Rapid City or Sioux Falls on those years.

Adjourn

Having no further items to discuss, Dan Swartos declared the meeting adjourned at 3:34 PM.

Respectfully submitted

Dan Swartos, Ed.D.

SDHSAA Executive Director

SDHSAA- Serving Students Since 1905

Board Chairperson – Mr. Mark Murphy Assistant Director – Ms. Jo Auch Assistant Director – Mr. Brooks Bowman Executive Director – Dr. Daniel Swartos Assistant Director – Mr. Randy Soma Finance Director – Mr. Ryan Mikkelsen

Site Selection Committee Recommendations for 2026-27

2022-23 Committee Members: Kelly Messmer-Harding County (Chair), Jared Vasquez-Rapid City Stevens, Dr. Jeff Danielsen- Watertown, Casey Meile- Sioux Falls Public Schools, Barry Mann- Wakpala, Terry Rotert- Huron, Dawn Seiler- Aberdeen, Mike Jewett- Brookings

Activity	Site	Dates
Boys A Golf	Mitchell	Oct. 5-6, 2026
Boys AA Golf	Aberdeen	Oct. 5-6, 2026
Girls Tennis	Rapid City	Oct. 5-6 and 8-9, 2026
Soccer	Watertown	Oct. 17, 2026
Journalism	Brookings (SDSU)	Oct. 19, 2026
Cheer & Dance	Rapid City	Oct. 23-24, 2026
Cross Country	Rapid City	Oct. 24, 2026
Chorus & Orchestra	Rapid City	Oct. 30-31, 2026
Football	Vermillion (USD)	Nov. 12-14, 2026
Combined Volleyball	Sioux Falls	Nov. 19-21, 2026
Oral Interp	Yankton	Dec. 4-5, 2026
One-Act Play	Aberdeen (NSU)	Feb. 4-6, 2027
Gymnastics	Aberdeen	Feb. 12-13, 2027
Combined Wrestling	Rapid City	Feb. 25-27, 2027
Debate & IE	Huron	Mar. 5-6, 2027
Girls B Basketball	Watertown/Huron	Mar. 11-13, 2027
Girls A Basketball	Huron/Frost Arena	Mar. 11-13, 2027
Girls AA Basketball	Frost Arena/Pentagon	Mar. 11-13, 2027
Boys B Basketball	Aberdeen	Mar. 18-20, 2027
Boys A Basketball	Rapid City (Summit Arena)	Mar. 18-20, 2027
Boys AA Basketball	Sioux Falls (Premier Center)	Mar. 18-20, 2027
Visual Arts	Rapid City	Mar. 18-20, 2027
All-State Band	Sioux Falls Jefferson HS	Mar. 25-27, 2027
SDSCA Student Council	Rapid City	TBD
AS Jazz Band/Show Choir	Brookings (SDSU)	May 6-8, 2027
Boys Tennis	Sioux Falls	May 17-18 and 20-21, 2027
Track & Field	Rapid City/West	May 27-29, 2027
Softball	TBD	June 3-5, 2027
Boys/Girls B Golf	Yankton	June 7-8, 2027
Girls A Golf	Hot Springs	June 7-8, 2027
Girls AA Golf	Spearfish(Spearfish Canyon)	June 7-8, 2027

Other Items:

- One Act Play- Host in Brookings (SDSU) in 2025 and Rapid City Central in 2026.
- Girls A Basketball- Host in Watertown for the 2026 tournament
- **Girls AA Basketball-** Host at the Pentagon in Sioux Falls for the 2024 tournament.
- **Softball-** Host in Aberdeen for the 2024 tournament