

South Dakota High School Activities Association

804 North Euclid, Suite 102 • P.O. Box 1217 • Pierre, South Dakota 57501 Phone: (605) 224-9261 • Fax: (605) 224-9262

NATIVE AMERICAN ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING

Meeting will be held via Zoom Tuesday, October 1, 2024 10:30 a.m. CT/9:30 AM MT (via Zoom)

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83499192205?pwd=bfGE2WLK1ophjuWk7qG9b8y8cCGxkD.1

1. Call meeting to order followed by roll call:

Coach	Troy Lunderman, St. Francis	2025 (1)
Coach	Casey Means, Pine Ridge	2027 (1)
Superintendent	Silas Blaine, Smee (Wakpala)	2026 (2)
AD/SDHSAA BOD	Chuck Wilson, Todd County	2029
Official	Genevieve Dement-Osborn, Rapid City	2025 (1)
Community Liaison	Tom Casey, Porcupine	2025 (1)
Legislative Liaison	Sen. Red Dawn Foster, Pine Ridge	
Ad-hoc NAAC	Bryan Brewer, Pine Ridge	
School Liaison	Dani Walking Eagle, St. Francis	2027 (1)

2. Approve agenda.

3. Discuss SDHSCA Board positions—

- a. Football— Lance Witte, Lower Brule
- b. Boys BB—Eldon Marshal, White River
- c. Wrestling—Clay Leonard, Red Cloud
- d. Boys Track and CC—Bob Kornely, Jr., Todd County
- e. AD-
- f. Girls BB—Laura Big Crow, Lakota Tech
- g. Girls Track and CC-Russ Cournoyer, Red Cloud
- h. Golf—Rich Crow Eagle, St. Francis
- i. Volleyball— Peri Strain, White River
- j. Spirit— Misty Mousseaux, Lakota Tech

4. SDHSAA Advisory Committee concerns/positions.

a.	Basketball—Christian McGhee, Red Cloud	2027 (2)
b.	Football — Lance Witte, Lower Brule	2024 (1)
c.	Golf—Rich Crow Eagle, St. Francis	2025 (1)
d.	Competitive Cheer and Dance—M. Mousseaux, Lakota Tech	2027 (2)
e.	Track/CC— Lema Leader Charge, Todd County	2026 (2)
f.	Volleyball—Nellie Long, Pine Ridge	2027 (2)
g.	Wrestling—Clay Leonard—Red Cloud	2025 (2)
h.	Sports Official Advisory—John Long, Pine Ridge	2024 (1)
i.	Softball- Nick Prado, Lakota Tech	2026 (1)
j.	Journalism- TBD	
k.	Visual Arts- TBD	
I.	Esports-Connie Kaltenbach, Lakota Tech	

SDHSAA- Serving Students Since 1905

- 5. **SD Basketball Hall of Fame.** Past nominee who have not yet being inducted are: Mary Tobacco, Marc Strain Marshall, Tiny DeCory, and Gideon Saul.
 - a. Bruce Bad Moccasin was inducted in 2010,
 - b. Terry Dupris was inducted in 2011,
 - c. Jesse Mendoza was inducted in 2012,
 - d. Marty Waukazoo was inducted in 2013,
 - e. Willie White was inducted in 2014,
 - f. Vince Whipple was inducted in 2015,
 - g. Lolly Steele was inducted in 2016,
 - h. SuAnne Big Crow was inducted in 2017,
 - i. Pine Ridge 1987 Boys Basketball was inducted as a team of excellence in 2017
 - j. Louis Tyon was inducted in 2018
 - k. Freddy Knife was inducted in 2019
 - I. Harley Zephier Jr was inducted in 2022
 - m. Louie Krogman, Derek Paulsen, and Paige Paulsen in 2023
 - n. Derrick McCauley and Dick Padrnos in 2024

Dave Wagner is now the Executive Director of the SDBBHOF and all of his contact information is available on the Hall of Fame website. To visit the Hall of Fame website, go to: www.sdbbhof.com.

- 6. Review and compile list of possible **Distinguished Service Award recipients**.
- 7. Other items:
 - A. Transfer Rule study group
 - C. All Nations Football Conference
 - D. LNI
 - H. Other items
- 8. Adjourn.