Questions on Relays

track and field

A relay team qualified during the season and is running at the Region Meet.  If one of the following situations occur at the Region Meet, will the relay team be allowed to participate in the State Meet?

  1. drop the baton and the wrong runner retrieves it;
  2. pass out of the exchange zone;
  3. throw the baton upon completion of the relay;
  4. false start;
  5. one of the runners cuts too soon;
  6. enter the event, but does not compete;

The team would not be eligible for any points/places at the Region Meet; however, in all six (6) cases, the team would be eligible to compete in the State Meet based on the fact that the team qualified during the season. 

** The only way the team would not be eligible to compete in the State Meet is if the team is not entered in the relay event at the Region Meet.


A relay runner at the Region Meet makes an obscene gesture to an opponent 1) during the race; or 2) immediately following the crossing of the finish line.

The relay team will be disqualified in both situations and the runner is denied further participation in the meet. If the relay had not qualified during the regular season, the relay would not be eligible for the State Meet.  If, however, the relay team had qualified by standard during the regular season, the relay would be allowed to participate in the State Meet.  The individual guilty of the unsportsmanlike conduct at the Region Meet is not eligible for the State Meet (in any event) and must be substituted for on the relay.
 


Can an athlete be scratched from an individual event to gain eligibility for a relay?

If an athlete has qualified for three (3) individual events at the Region Meet, they are eligible to run on one (1) relay at the State Meet.  They cannot be scratched from an individual event to gain eligibility for a second relay.


May the make-up of a relay change between the Region Meet and the State Meet?

Yes, the four (4) that ran at the Region Meet do not need to be the same four (4) running at the State Meet.  However, remember listing or running at the Region counts as an event, only actual participation counts as an event at the State Meet.
 


May a coach change the make-up of a relay team between prelims and finals during the State Meet?

Yes, as long as the four that run each day are listed on the original State meet relay entry card.

Situation:  A relay card has been turned into the starting clerk the first day of the State Meet.  Runners A B C D E F are listed on the card and runners A B C D run the prelims.  The team qualifies for the finals and on the second day, runners A B C E run.

Ruling:  This is permissible; however, it counts as one of the four (4) events for runners A B C D E, even though runner D did not participate in the finals the second day.  Since runner F did not participate in the relay either day, the event does not count as an event for runner F.  Reminder:  At the Region level, listing counts as an event.  At the State level, participation counts as an event, but listing does not.